2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 +10.5 169

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi there, back to work today after the weekend off:S Kitty is wandering around pacing waiting for breakfast, seems to be happy and a bit impatient. But with her so low again I don't know what to do with the dose, and I have to leave for work soon, in 45 minutes:( I was thinking about doing 1 unit just to be safe or skipping?? I skipped the other night when it was 113 and it kept going down after that at +2 it was 88 after feeding. Can anyone help? I'll delay the shot for half an hour...

EDIT: she was 115, half an hour later she is now 90

Yesterdays link:

Chyna 2/10
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 115 reduce/skip dose have to leave??

i again can not help but i'll see if i can find someone. hang tight!!!
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 115 reduce/skip dose have to leave??

Thanks..she is now puking, 3 times clear liquid but she hasn't had a hairball in awhile so that may be it...
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 115 reduce/skip dose have to leave??

How long before you have to leave? Can you come home at lunch? Hopefully a dosing expert will be along.
Liz
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 reduce/skip dose have to leave??

I have to leave in 10 minutes, so I guess I will have to skip, as she is now down to 90:( I'm going to feed her breakfast now...
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 reduce/skip dose have to leave??

Yes, skipping seems like the best option. Especially if she was puking before. At least you won't have to worry today.
Liz
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 skipped dose/have to leave...

sending good vines to chyna. have faith in her lil system, it knew what to do before, it can do it again
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 skipped dose/have to leave...

Thanks...I hope so:) I have my mom driving over to check on her in an hour while I work to see if she looks ok/kept food down as I am a worry wart! Looks like the change to wet food only kicked in and I'm wondering if I should do 1.5 units tonight instead of 2 to be safe?
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 skipped dose/have to leave...

Normally, under SLGS, you would leave her at a dose for 1-2 weeks and if she is getting to 90, then reduce.

I would have expected her numbers the last several cycles to be a little more green if her 2.5u depot had been still part of the picture. Although those blue numbers could also be a bounce that she is just now clearing. Totally possible.

Why don't we see where she is when you get home tonight? Hopefully you can do a +10 or +11. My tendency is to let her stay at this dose because she could just be clearing a bounce (and they tend to go a little lower when they are bounce clearing). But if she's still in greens tonight with no insulin today, we might want to strongly consider reducing her dose.

I think the other thing that would be helpful is to look at your work schedule....do you get up early enough to be able to shoot and get a +2 before you leave? That would really be a great scenario so you could see where she might be headed before you go. I'm hoping you can get a replacement auto feeder soon so you can leave food for her when you have to work.

Hope she feels better today. Just post the +10/+11 when you get it. I'll be looking for it since I know you shoot the same time I do.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 skipped dose/reduce tonight?

I can do a between +10 and +11 after work. I work Mon-Fri 8am to 5pm and shoot at 7am/7pm so I'm not really able to do a +2 in the morning...and sometimes I don't get home from work till 6 if the traffic is bad so even if I change times it won't work for the 12 hour between shots. I'm planning on going to petsmart for a feeder today then running home at lunch but won't use it till I've cleaned it tonight and such, and of course test it before bed. She ate her breakfast and I did leave out ice cubes of food this morning...my mom just called and she said Chyna is purring and looking happy on the bed, and she didn't see any food puke anywhere. She'd already been at the ice cubes of food.

I didn't get a chance to read the protocols enough to decide, I'll probably go to TR but my vet isn't answering me and I wanted to discuss it with her. I wanted to have her all switched to wet food and adjusted to that first to see where she was as I read that can drastically alter the dose:) Also everyone keeps mentioning bouncing and I'm not sure what that all means I've been reading all these articles and may have missed that, I think I'm sort of understanding it. Thanks marje you are awesome :razz:
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 skipped dose/reduce tonight?

At +6 she is down to 72, even after two small meals this morning. I've given her another one of low carb but have to go back to work now:(
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

Great. Just post your +10 or +11. If you can't get on the board, go to the Facebook Feline Diabetes page ok? I will look for you there.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

I was on there a bit ago posting, and I will post later on there too if I can't get on here, thanks.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

Rachel

Decided to go ahead and post this now just in case but I will still be looking for you here or on FB at +10 which is 5pm your time and mine.

IF she is still green at +12 (PMPS), let's try an experiment, ok? Test, don't shoot, feed, and then test her in four hours and let's see if her pancreas is doing its job, ok? Let's just try this a cycle at a time.

IF she shoots up into blue, then today was probably her insulin depot. The depot from a dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles although for most kitties, it's less. ECID. But if she does shoot up, I'd recommend you shoot 2u. If that just makes you too nervous because of your work schedule, then you can shoot 1.75u.

I'll keep checking back here to see if you have any questions but will definitely find you at +10 and I'll be watching at her PMPS, too.

Good job!!
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

Thanks. I think that I am now currently looking for a new vet. Mine finally called me back today after several emails and a call last week, after I emailed the weekend results. She told me that Chyna should be in the "teens" range for most of the day for mmol/L (234-342) glucose since she has been hyperglycemic for so long that would be fine, that I need to give her dry food for fiber and her teeth, and suggested that we may have to change Lantus to once a day instead of twice? Which is opposite of everything I have read in all these vet articles and on here...I mentioned that I wanted to try tight regulation and got shut down. She also said that 1mg of methylcobalamin is too much since I just raised it and told me to go back to 0.5mg daily (I know that this is temporary to only give her while her neuropathy is bad but most places are saying 3-5mg a day for a few weeks once glucose is regulated). I'm so confused and tierd right now. Sorry for the big long rant...
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

A big :-Q to your vet.
Its difficult going it alone, ie. without the vet on board but I think a lot of people do it here.
I do - I sent Honey's ss over after a couple of months and that's the last and only time we've discussed her since dx.

Of course, you're never alone on this forum- there's always someone on to help and we can search for info, too - a great resource. I look up any meds before my cats go on them.
Taking the initiative with Honey made me realise that vets do not know it all and led me to make choices (against vet's advice) for my hyper-T cat - its very empowering.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

I'd definitely be looking for a new vet. It is not ok for Chyna to be in the 234-342 mg/dL range. And if she needs fiber for any reason, you can give her pumpkin or squash. Also....dry food does NOT clean teeth in cats.

We've had a few cats, who were on teeny tiny doses, that had to be dosed once a day but it's rare. We don't normally do it and we wouldn't suggest you do it with Chyna at this point. Vets just don't seem to understand how lantus works for most cats.

Alot of vets want caregivers to keep the BG higher because then the vet doesn't think he/she has to worry about the cat hypoing. They advise most clients to urine test the glucose and is long as it is +2 or +3, it's ok. But that isn't true. It takes a while for urine glucose to dissipate and your cat can be at 40 and still show +3 urine glucose (I've seen it happen with Gracie).

Try to not let her stress you and try to find a new vet that is open. Either that or, if you like your vet, just tell her you are managing Chyna's diabetes just fine and would like to use her for all other medical issues.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

I will be trying. I'm not sure how to go about finding a new one, if they do consults or answer a few questions no charge to see if they would be a good fit, I don't want to drag poor Chyna all around town, not to mention pay all that, lol. I've contacted my bosses vets office, who called him every day when his dog was sick to check in, it is a small animals clinic. He is on vacation but I'm hoping he is knowledgeable and open about Lantus but if not I will try others. Meantime, thank you all for being a lifeline:) I'd better do some work, since that is where I am, good thing it's a slow day! One more hour till hometime:)
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

Hi Rachel, not sure if I've posted before, but I have been following the adventures of a fellow westerner and her kitty. There have been a few people from Alberta using Lantus. You might want to do to the Health Forum and see if anyone has any recommendations near where you live. A subject line line "Looking for good vet in <your town> Alberta for Lantus?" might get you some recommendations. I've done the same thing as Denise in that I handle the diabetes without a lot of vet input. They started her on Caninsulin :shock: in spite of my saying that I'd heard it wasn't the best for cats. I got a knowledgeable locum vet one time who put me on Lantus and recommended FDMB. My vet is OK with the arrangement as is willing to learn.

Somewhere on this website there is a list of questions to ask vets. They should be willing to take a quick phone call to answer questions before hand, so you don't have to drag Chyna around to the interview.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

Woohoo!!! That 72 is beautiful. Paws crossed for Marje's experiment.

That's too bad about your vet but we see that a lot - their ego is more important than the cat. Our vet is great in that she recognizes that LL can give better FD advice than she can (especially dosing advice within a few minutes, this place is amazing) and that her role is the technical/medical view point of the whole cat (and she can write scripts :-D ). Good luck in finding a good one. Remember, you are paying and you and Chyna deserve excellent care.
Liz
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

Just checking in but I will keep spot checking until I see you post. So don't worry....we've got time.
 
Re: 2/11 Chyna AMPS 90 +6 72 skipped dose/reduce?

popping in to check on you guys,
your in great hands, marje is a gaurdian angel to our kitties.
i'm having high high hopes chyna's mr. p will get back on track, you can do it mr.p
again i'll be up for a bit if you need a support lifeline.
my vet kinda was the same way, very disappointing. also can't afford to test drive a bunch of other vets.
i think they simply don't understand the depth's that some people will go for their animals. (which i personally feel is not a choice, you do it cause there family)
keep up the good work and don't get discourage. :-D
 
Thanks for all the encouragement. We are up to 169 at +10.5 (just got home from work). She did have a lot more food than usual this afternoon from her panicky mommy. I will post a PMPS in another hour and a half:) Meantime I am going to re-read what everyone wrote again as I just skimmed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top