2/11 Akane PMPS 385 - dosed 0.4s for one more cycle..

Status
Not open for further replies.

dosgatos

Member Since 2010
2/11 AM thread

I held the dose for one more cycle as I wanted to raise the dose after I understand the idea better. I will go ahead tomorrow morning! I will be home to monitor him.

dosgatos said:
Thank you, Jill! I have a question. Sorry I did not seem to understand the idea well... Since he did drop to 87 with the current dose and now he seems to be slightly coming down, why need to raise the dose..?

I am sorry if I missed the timing with my maybe too cautious attitude..but I wanted to know what I am doing. Thanks!

ETA
201 at +4. He ate about 10g (0.3oz) of low carb wet + raw at +3.5. Will check around +6 again.
 
Re: 2/11 Akane PMPS 385, +4 201, +7 180

I might have missed the nadir..? He was 180 at +7. The curve seems suddenly slow down.
I wonder if he is evening out with this dose.. Is it OK to stick the dose again the next shot and see..? Or is it better to go ahead and raise?

Hello, Michelle. Thank you for popping in! :-D
 
Re: 2/11 Akane PMPS 385, +4 201, +7 180

dosgatos said:
I might have missed the nadir..? He was 180 at +7. The curve seems suddenly slow down.
I wonder if he is evening out with this dose.. Is it OK to stick the dose again the next shot and see..? Or is it better to go ahead and raise?

Hello, Michelle. Thank you for popping in! :-D


Mami

Either is ok. It's slightly new territory for you... depending on the next ~PS, if it is ok, keep for one more cycle.. if it is too high, I would raise to .5 .. a skinny if you like -- just don't make the raise so tiny that it supports his slight insulin resistance.

Ilkka
 
Re: 2/11 Akane PMPS 385, +4 201, +7 180

Ilkka and Tom said:
Either is ok. It's slightly new territory for you... depending on the next ~PS, if it is ok, keep for one more cycle.. if it is too high, I would raise to .5 .. a skinny if you like -- just don't make the raise so tiny that it supports his slight insulin resistance.
Ilkka

Thank you, Ilkka. He was 264 at AMPS so I think I will keep the dose. (He could have been higher around +10 or +11..). But I need to ask you again. I understand about slight increase may support insulin resistance. But why need the increase now..? I thought we need to raise it depends on nadir.. :roll: Education please..
 
Let me try to explain and hope this makes sense. The longer your cat spends at a dose that is not bringing his numbers into a normal range, the harder it is to get those numbers to come down. Akane's body begins to treat those higher BG levels as "normal." As a result, when the insulin does bring the numbers down, the liver dumps a stored form of glucose, along with counterregulatory hormones, in to the blood stream. We refer to this spike in BG numbers as a bounce. As Akane spends more time in lower numbers, his liver will become more accustomed to those lower ranges and the bouncing will be reduced. The reason we're suggesting raising the dose is to lower the overall range of Akane's BG level and, hopefully, slow down or eliminate the bouncing.

If I could ask a huge favor. We are creatures of habit. All of us use the same color coding system on our spreadsheets: green = <99, blue = 100 to 199, yellow = 200 to 299, pink = 300 to 399, red = 400 to 499, black = >500. This will help those of us who read spreadsheets on a regular basis to not make an error when reading Akane's spreadsheet.
 
Hi Sienne. Thank you for checking in. Sorry, I will change the colour coding.

ETA
I wanted to alarm myself with those numbers above 350 with red. Can I leave that part as it is? I will change the rest.

And thank you for the explanation. He often drops to 30's or 20's too sharply before +6, his usual nadir, and will rebound severely afterwards with more than 0.4 so I have been a bit cautious.. If I need to raise the dose, I will go to 0.5 as Ilkka and Jill suggested, but I thought since he dropped to 80's around his nadir the other day and he came down to 100's (though upper) yesterday, it could be OK to hold the dose for a few more cycles..? Will I make a mistake here again..?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top