2/11/20 AMPS 402!!! PMPS 324 Io's surprising high numbers today, having a hard time figuring out TR

Jazmin

Member Since 2015
First- was shocked by Io's AMPS number this morning, that's the highest we've seen yet. What gives? I started giving him boiled chicken as a treat Saturday, would that be raising it?

I feel like Ive read the TR protocol a gazillion times, and I still dont know where I should be starting. I've been giving Io 1 unit 2x/day for 26 cycles. So if I start TR tomorrow do I give him 1.25 units 2x/day? 2 units 2x/day? I'm really bad at anything with numbers and math, my brain just kinda shuts down :banghead: I'm trying really hard to figure this out on my own but I wish I could just be told exactly what to do by my vet.
 
1.25 units. You had it right the first time :)
The boards recommend 1/4 unit increases and decreases.
AMps numbers are often the last ones to level out/ normalize, so I wouldn't get too focused on it right now.
 
First a housekeeping note: Could you please add his name to your title?

It looks like maybe he's ready for an increase since you haven't seen any low numbers recently.

And yes, ifthe increase would be to 1.25 - count off 6-10 cycles and increase again if needed.
 
So 1.25 2x/day? I dont hav to divide the .25 in half for the x2/day? (Idk if that makes sense?)
No.
If you look at the dosing method post. It just says increase or decrease by .25 units. Nothing about doubling doses.

I know, but you'll go crazy worrying about that AM number being off sometimes :)
 
So I’m guessing that he may have dropped lower than he was used to and bounced. Cats often go lower at night. Max did. Can you grab a before bed test? That might help. And if you ever wake up during the night a test when you do might give some answers. It’s definitely time for ani increase. Good luck with the new dose.
 
I second the importance of those before bed tests. And TR says you need at least two tests per cycle, the preshot plus one other. My guess is he went lower last night than he is used to, and bounced today. But it’s just a guess with no data.

You should be evaluating dosing more often than you have been if using TR. Nadirs under 200 means a max of 10:cycles. Please post here if you are uncertain. It’s taken us all a while to figure it out too. :bighug: We can help you do this.
 
Back
Top