2/10Max/EliseAMPS347+6=188 PMPS 255 +4 1/2=297

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Still bouncing or still not there yet? What will today bring? No food before the test this morning and he cried for nearly an hour off and on.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347

Hi guys .. fingers crossed today brings out lots of blues and greens to the SS! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347

Awww, I know, it's hard to withhold the fuds for the two hours before the AMPS when they are crying :sad: . I hope that Max can slide that down to some prettier colors for you today! Have a good day :smile:
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347

poor little guy. they hate to wait for food! that was the only thing that punkin ever complained about. he hated waiting to eat.

with 12 cycles at 1.25u and the lowest nadir being 125, you could increase by another 0.25u.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347

After today he will have that 12 cycles. Thank goodness it's only early in the morning that he meows for food. Darn it. When I send the ss to my vet he will up the dose.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347

i am suggesting you increase the dose - so if your vet suggests it, you can say you're on board! you could've increased him at 6-10 cycles.

it mattered to me, too. although my vet kinda stopped giving me dosing suggestions fairly quickly when it became obvious that the people here knew more about FD than he did. i adored my vet - he is a good, kind man and i'd been with him for a long time.

i stopped asking about the dose or offering the spreadsheet so i didn't have to say i wasn't going along with his suggestions.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347

I can do what you did once we get Max on the right dose. We need to do blood tests and a urinalysis when we think he is where he needs to be and my vet also wants to do a fructosamine at that point. Since he had the works done in September, October, and November I don't want to spend the money until we are close to regulating Max. We also did a complete thyroid panel in November to rule out hyper-t as his T4 was in the low gray zone and an fPL for pancreatitis. If anything is off we will be running all that again since Max is a senior and as you know it is costly. I'm scared all this protein will raise his kidney values too. We test him at least every 3-4 months. I just sent the ss to him asking if I can raise Max .25 or .50. I know he will agree to the .25 but hopefully will feel that .5 is better. At least it will make me feel better. Thanks for all your help. I REALLY do appreciate it.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347+6=188

just passing it along - other people helped me too.

i would only increase by the 0.25u suggested by the protocol. his nadirs are pretty good and you don't want to miss a good dose by increasing by too much. it's amazing how much different just a quarter unit can make.

i do sympathize about the vet. Hope you can work it out so you feel comfortable with what you're doing. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347+6=188 PMPS 255

If he says .5 we will be on the same page with it. If he says .25 I'm giving more. I will likely increase tomorrow either way. I still read on the lymphoma list and give advice if anyone needs info on intermediate cell lymphoma too. I haven't heard back yet from my vet so probably won't until tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347+6=188 PMPS 255

Elise

The increased protein will not harm his kidneys. It might raise his BUN but as long as his creatinine is normal, as well as phosphorus, HCT, Ca, then you don't need to worry about the BUN increasing due to protein. If the other numbers increase, it's because he either has kidney disease or infection. It is very old school to feed a low protein diet if you suspect renal disease. Cats with renal disease actually need a good, high quality protein diet.

I would not pay for a fructosamine test. You are getting real time data......you don't need to pay for a fruc test. A fruc test is valuable if it's at initial diagnosis or if someone is not hometesting. But for someone hometesting, you are throwing your money away.

Also, I agree 150% with Julie. I would not increase the dose by 0.5u. You take the chance of bypassing Max's good dose and when you bypass a good dose, you risk overdosing. When you overdose, you can see two things.......high, flat numbers that make you think he's not getting enough insulin OR you risk getting really low numbers and having him bounce into high ones.

Many vets do not understand how to properly increase and reduce doses and they quickly get kitties overdosed. We've had it happen many times. The protocol is tried and true so I'd stick with it. :-D
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347+6=188 PMPS 255

I just sent the ss to him asking if I can raise Max .25 or .50. I know he will agree to the .25 but hopefully will feel that .5 is better.

Raising Max's dose by 0.5u is WAY too much. Based on he Tight Regulation Protocol, the only time you want to raise the dose that much is if the lowest point in the cycle (i.e., the nadir) is 300 or greater. Max is routinely seeing nadirs that are less than 200. If you decide to raise the dose to 1.75u, I think there's a good chance you will be over what is an effective dose and I would strongly recommend that you plan on being around to keep an eye on Max's numbers. In other words, it is safest for Max if you raise the dose to 1.5u.
 
Re: 2/10Max/EliseAMPS347+6=188 PMPS 255

I was never planning to raise him to 1.75. My vet had me hold him at 1 and instead I followed your protocol and went to 1.25. I was saying that I hope my vet says to go up to 1.5 as you all think that I should. I hope I have cleared the confusion???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top