? 2/10 sammy Amps 199 pumps 149

Sarah and Sammy

Member Since 2020
Soo I havent been able to get a human meter just yet. :/ I don't know that I feel quite right about skipping Sammy's insulin dose when he is under 200 but I also feel uncertain about giving him .25 units when he seems to be naturally dropping during the day without insulin.. In the meantime, until I'm able to get a human meter should I be decreasing his dose? If so what would be the next step down?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-4-sammy-amps-147-dont-know-what-to-do-next.225200/
 
Soo I havent been able to get a human meter just yet. :/ I don't know that I feel quite right about skipping Sammy's insulin dose when he is under 200 but I also feel uncertain about giving him .25 units when he seems to be naturally dropping during the day without insulin.. In the meantime, until I'm able to get a human meter should I be decreasing his dose? If so what would be the next step down?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-4-sammy-amps-147-dont-know-what-to-do-next.225200/


It looks like you are not giving insulin based on the spreadsheet.
Are you not shooting unless he is over 200?
I think that guideline was for new diabetics whose caregivers don't have information/ data that tells them how their pet responds to insulin. I think if you are able to test and have the ability to monitor- then that advice isn't a hard rule. Do you feel like you could adjust your " no shoot" number? Was there a timeline you had about doing so?
 
also, if you have a question...sometimes adding the "?" mark icon to the title can help others know at a glance that you are looking for advise.

You can use the THREAD TOOLS option to the right and then EDIT TITLE to grab the question mark icon
 
It looks like you are not giving insulin based on the spreadsheet.
Are you not shooting unless he is over 200?
I think that guideline was for new diabetics whose caregivers don't have information/ data that tells them how their pet responds to insulin. I think if you are able to test and have the ability to monitor- then that advice isn't a hard rule. Do you feel like you could adjust your " no shoot" number? Was there a timeline you had about doing so?

I have been nervous to shoot under 200 because he has been very inconsistent in the past. I would give it a try however I work 6 days a week I'm not sure that gives me enough time to monitor.
 
If you look at the Sticky Note on Fine Dosing, there are some pictures of small doses. Take a look at the one called 0.1 units. I would try that on a day when you are home and can monitor.
 
I have been nervous to shoot under 200 because he has been very inconsistent in the past. I would give it a try however I work 6 days a week I'm not sure that gives me enough time to monitor.

Oh...you can't test during the day because of work - or at night ? I work 12 hour shifts 4-5 days a week overnight, so I just try to grab daytime test when I won't be around at night and nighttime test when I am off to fill in the blanks in my spreadsheet. If you can occasionally grab a nightime test 2 hours after the insulin and the 2 hours after that ( +4 ) , you would have a much better idea of how low the doses are taking them and how your at handles the onset of the insulin. Once you know what the +1, or +2 looks like, you can often feel more confident shooting a number under 200 if for example the +1 number is higher that or close to your preshot number. I tend to not worry as much about my AMps especially because my guys +1 is usually higher, so I know his number should continue to rise before the insulin " kicks in" . You want to try and use the data for being better able to make dosing decisions. Maybe you could try at least a +1 or +2 when you can to start...?
 
Back
Top