2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet, +4 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36349

Good Morning Everyone,

Rusty had pretty high numbers (for him) all day yesterday and isn't his normal, energetic self, so I think he may be a bit under the weather. He is eating normally and contributing normally to the lb, but isn't showing interest in his toys. So we made a vet appointment for him for late this afternoon (4 PM; that will be at +9.5). It's time that he meets the vet in any event: he needs to have his rabies shot (expires in March) and needs to have his nails clipped (we can't do this!), and it will be good to have him checked out. He does have some congestion (he always has had some). So I made copies of all of the records Phoebe gave me and printed out his SS and we'll see how he does. I hope it's not too traumatic!

Back later,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

Good luck at the vet - I bet Rusty does just fine getting there. I hope all checks out well for him.

Rusty???? DUDE?!?!?! You gotta go to the vetty place? oh oh... don't be scared - they will take good care of you. The KTSS will be there when you get home so you can have the spa treatment. in the meantime we got hours to play. What shall we do today? I am ready for anything! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

Hope that Rusty's numbers come down to his normal levels soon and that all goes well at the vet today!!


Hey, Rusty! So sorry you'z haz to go to de vetty today! I'z will return de KTSS favor from Monday wid lotz of gud smellin stuff for you!! Wanna hang out until den? --Willie
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

Vet trip should go fine -- Rusty is so friendly. He does seem to be prone to the sniffles and has had Clavamox when he flares up. L-Lysine may help, but I had not been very regular with giving it to him. I did send some along -- the tablets crush easily and can be mixed into food or water (tasteless).

His feet are so furry it is hard to trim his claws. We would do his fronts once in a while (two person job) when we were still trying to integrate him with the other kitties.

Keep warm!
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

Hi, Ella & Rusty... good luck at the vet visit, I hope it all goes very well & it sounds like you are taking very good care of your boy. Have a great day :-D
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

Good luck at the Vet and I bet Rusty will handle it fine. It's good to have him checked if he's not his usual self.

Rusty kitty, Maggie sends hugs and good thoughts today. Thinking of you.
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

hope you and Rusty have a good vet appointment and nothing major is going on with him. Sending good vines your way
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143 vet visit today

Ella,

He was always a very good boy at the vets. Both vet practices where he was seen loved him. And yes, clipping his claws is definitely a two person job. My friend and petsitter would help me do it every four to six weeks.

I used Lysine when he seemed to have the sniffles for 3-5 days, and he would clear. I don't think I ever needed Clavamox for him. You'd have to check the records I sent to Phoebe.

Will be waiting to see his vet report with baited breath!!!

Claudia
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143, +5.25 151 vet visit today

thanks everyone, Rusty is still subdued today, but is eating well. His +5 is 151: didn't come down at all from AMPS. Edward wonders if I am getting the insulin into him, but neither of us has smelled insulin on his fur. The cartridge isn't old and looks clear. I'm going to check both my meters on myself this afternoon.

Ella
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143, +5.25 151 vet visit today

I hope the vet visit goes well and that Rusty is his normal self soon. I'm glad he's eating well, though. Have a good day, Ella.
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty AMPS 143, +5.25 151, +7.5 123 vet visit toda

Good luck at the vet, Ella! It sounds like a good idea to me, you know that he is "off" and prompt attention can nip things in the bud. I hope it's something simple and easy to deal with.

About the snow....we have a LOT on the ground, at least 2 feet, and the intersections are very hazardous! I know you love the snow, and so do I, but I'm ready for a break!
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

Hi again, Everyone,
Rusty's vet visit went pretty well. There is nothing wrong with him that the vet could see. He is healthy. Temperature was normal, weight 15.45 lb. (just about what it was when he came to live with us), eyes and ears clear, heart and lungs good, stool negative for parasites, hips and internal organs felt fine. So we had the 3-year rabies shot and the vet clipped his claws (Rusty hated that and howled and fought). The vet was very interested in Levemir. Although he has done a lot of reading about Lantus (and had prescribed it for Stu), he has no experience with Levemir. I had copied the "Levemir 101" sticky from the Levemir Forum and he was glad to have it. He wondered how expensive it is and I told him I didn't know, since a box of cartridges was sent along with Rusty by Phoebe. But I told him that I cold get it in Canada without prescription (if I went over the border myself) and he seemed to approve of that. He will also write me a prescription when I need one.
So whatever is causing Rusty's higher numbers and low energy for the last few days, it doesn't seem to be an infection. The next time we visit the vet (in the spring) he wants to do a full blood panel and urinalysis. He also mentioned the Fructosomine test, but I said that I didn't think that would be necessary since we tested Rusty's blood all the time. He then agreed. Interesting that he didn't think Rusty is very old: he estimated his age as about 5 or 6 years. (He disregarded the teeth issue as a sign of age--Rusty has only about 4 teeth left--because of Rusty's apparent early deprivation on the streets).
So that's where we are. PMPS was 160 (vet stress, or more high numbers?). The vet did not do a glucose test because I had Rusty's SS with me and had taken his bg at +7.5 (123).

This afternoon I tested myself (after lunch) with Rusty's meter (ReliOn Micro) and backup meter (ReliOn Confirm). Results: test #1: Micro, 139; Confirm 116. Test #2 (several minutes later): Micro 120; Confirm 125. Go figure!! I think I'm going to get a Freestyle lite the next time I'm in the city and can get to a Walgreens.
Everyone have a good evening,
Tomorrow I may increase Rusty's dose to 0.75. I'll decide in the morning. Tonight I couldn't tell whether or not I had given a fur shot because the vet smell was so strong!!

Ella

Hey kitties: Help! I smell like the vet's! Please come soon KTSS!!
Rusty


p.s. to Phoebe and Claudia: thanks for your input today. As it turned out, his "congestion" had disappeared by the time we got to the vet!! When he has it again, I will try the LysineL.
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

RUSTY!!!! We are on our way! We got special niptinis for you too, and massage stuff, and the really cool stuff that takes care of the vetty smell. See you soon! Mannie, and the KTSS

Hi Ella - I am glad that the appt went well, and that Rusty is just fine. Maybe he just needs a jump start with more insulin to take care of the higher numbers?? Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow should you go ahead with it.

have a great night guys! Mannie is on his way....
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

Ella I'm sorry I totally missed Rusty's condo today. I would have sent hugs.

Good for you getting him in and looked at. It must be concerning with him changing his consistent behaviour like that. Are you going to open a new cartidge? They are only like $120 I think for five 3 ml cartridges up here. What crossing are you closest to?

I bet Rusty was glad to get out of that nail trimming place and back in the car with you guys. Wishing he picks up quickly and is back to his normal self soon.

Did they suggest a urine sample?

((((Rusty))))
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

Glad to hear Rusty had a good Vetty visit and all is well. Maggie gets a senior exam every six months with the blood panel and urinalysis. She turned 11 in January.

Rusty, I am glad you are okay and sorry about getting the claws trimmed. I don't like it either when they trim my claws. Maggie sends hugs.
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

oops I don't know the cost of Lev - just lantus. I can find out if you want. The cheapest place so far has been the pharmacies in the "Independent" grocery stores - called The drug store.
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

Thanks, Karrie. Not a problem at the moment, since I have enough to last until the summer. I've made a note of the "Independent" grocery stores.
 
Re: 2/10 Rusty PMPS 160, back from vet

Glad all went well at the vetty. Hope he starts to perk up...maybe he needs a new toy :lol: Good luck if you dosecrease!
 
Hi Ella and Rusty,

I'm so glad Rusty's vet visit checked him out ok. He is such a beautiful Kitty.

Thanks for visiting our condo's and keeping us in your thoughts.

Have a wonderful night. :mrgreen: .
 
Agree with Karrie - Lev in Canada costs about $120 for 5 cartridges.

Carolyn just ordered some and paid $125 for 5 3ml pens of Lev shipped from Canada including shipping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top