2/10 Rooh AMPS 269 +2 117 +3 76 +4 63 +5 49 +12 118 Dose help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Rooh may still be recovering from the skipped shot on 2/8.

I'd also try to get some early tests in. You shot a dropping number -- the +11 was 316 and your AMPS was 269.
 
Rooh may still be recovering from the skipped shot on 2/8.

I'd also try to get some early tests in. You shot a dropping number -- the +11 was 316 and your AMPS was 269.

Yeah I saw that Sienne and he had gone out into the back yard and had a nice long walk between +11 and +12 . I wonder if the exercise helped drop him?
 
Exercise can lower BG numbers - at least in some cats! It's still a sizable drop and I figure, it's always better to err on the side of safety than to be caught off guard.
 
But I had to shoot the AMPS right? He does seem to often nadir late but then it usually fizzles out before the the next shot kicks in. Thats what usually happens at the end of his AM shot but not at the end of the PM shots
 
Looks like Rooh has earned himself another reduction.:D Great cycle today.:)

When Neko was on Lantus, I occasional caught her nadir at +13, especially if she was getting over a bounce. What Rooh did this morning was a Lantus double dip. Some cats will have a little mini dip at the end of their cycle, where they go down again, but not as low as the nadir of the cycle. It's fine to shoot that, but as Sienne said, good to get those early tests. If you look at item #6 on this post, you'll see a great explanation by Libby on shooting a dropping number.
 
Since Rooh is a newly diagnosed kitty, he gets a .25U reduction when he goes below 50. However, if he doesn't get back to green after getting over the bounce, you may have to go back up. For now however, he wants a smaller dose. I suspect he'll like the new dose - it was surprising to see him go low just three shots after a skip.
 
So even if i shot a dropping number its okay to reduce?
The simple answer is "yes." We generally urge caution with shooting a dropping number especially if someone is new to FD. There can be a fair amount of momentum behind a dropping number and then if you give more insulin, numbers could potentially drop hard. That said, many of us do this routinely (or don't know we're doing it because we get home/wake up just in time to give a shot). It's more a matter of your confidence in being able to steer your cat's numbers with food. It's also important to recognize that this is when testing early and often is important. Careful monitoring gives you more control over the numbers.

Good job today! A dropping number doesn't influence whether or not you can reduce the dose.
 
Help please.. so just to be sure, is the consesus 3 units tonights? I have been giving hc gravy all afternoon.. Last feeding of gravy 3 hours ago. Shot time in 10 minutes.
 
I had to give gravy then because i needed to run out for a few hours and didnt want to be worried about him.
 
Are you able to monitor tonight? I'd give the reduced dose tonight if you can. He might still have an active cycle which is why I asked if you can monitor. That would be the depot influencing tonight's cycle.
 
I'd go ahead and check at +1, just to make sure you don't get any surprises.

Overall though - I'm tipping my hat to you! Kudos! This is the kind of day you want for mr. Rooh! Great am cycle!
 
Thanks Julie, we are all pretty happy about it, well except Rooh, he was nonchalant about it and just slept all day in between being awakened every few hours for some grav-ees..

I do think he secretly thought it was his birthday and was thinking "this is more like it human wake me only for the grav-ees". :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top