2/10 Rocky PMPS 284 +2 275 +4 246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113440

Although it's been raining steady here in Elk Grove since Thursday, Rocky woke up to a sunny blue number this morning- 119. He's gone even lower in the last two hours though, now at 92. So, I much keep an eye on him again.

That 92 was BEFORE his normal 2nd meal of the day at +2. Maybe he will go up a little by +4.

Rocky's recap for yesterday:

AMPS 334
+2 264
+4 300
+8 307

PMPS 260
+2 360
+4 283
 
Re: 2/10 Rocky AMPS 119 +2 92

great to see him in such good numbers, tina! woot!

whenever you see a +2 significantly lower than the preshot, yes, heads-up! lots of monitoring in the upcoming few hours. i'm glad you're on top if it.

i wonder if his better numbers are related to the antifungal meds. he started them 15 days ago, if i counted right on his ss. how does his skin look now?
 
Re: 2/10 Rocky AMPS 119 +2 92

Hi Tina,
Nice numbers for Rocky! :-D
I hope he surfs safely.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocky AMPS 119 +2 92

Hi everyone,

Julie, Rocky's skin and fur is looking 100% better! I wish now that I had taken a lot of 'before and after' photos at my house. He is not scratching at all anymore. The fur on his face, along his cheek bones, is all growing back.

I want the vet to keep him on the meds until he is all cleared up though. I did give him a bath but have not managed the time to give him the sulfur-lime dip yet. I have been spraying his ringworm areas though with Fungisan nearly every day, and then not drying those spots but instead heating the room to 75°F so that he air dries.

Question: If Rocky is at 50 or lower at +6, should I feed him a little bit of his 0% carb food?
 
Re: 2/10 Rocky AMPS 119 +2 92

the short answer is no. carbs are your tool against low numbers - zero carbs is zero carbs. i doubt they would do anything unless they aren't really zero.

please don't wait til +6 to test him. you should check him hourly until he's at 70ish, then move to 30 minute increments unless he's dropping fast. he could hit his nadir at any point - that can move around in any cat.

if he drops below 50, you'll do the little dance you did when you first arrived here. squeeze a teaspoon of gravy out of a can of high carb and give it to him, then post and ask for more help. if nobody sees it, here are the directions:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.


In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby

i'm thinking the meds are what's helping his blood sugar. as the fungal infection is diminishing, his BGs are settling down. at least that's my guess.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocky AMPS 119 +2 92 +116

Thank you for that posting about the low numbers. :smile:

Looks like my worry was unfounded today. Rocky's bg is already on the way back up. It would be great if he could learn to surf one day.

I agree with you, I think his body is experiencing some healing from the medicine. To think that his ring worm got so big and so sad that the vets couldn't even recognize it. And, that the culture that was done came back negative.. They didn't do a 2 week culture on his skin graph. It was an in-house vet test that took a few hours. I think that's why they did not detect it at the one vet.

Wouldn't it be awesome that if the ring worm was completely gone, that the diabetes would vanish with it?
 
Re: 2/10 Rocky AMPS 119 +2 92 +4 116 +6 271 + 8 245

yes! it sure would!

it looks like he's starting a bounce from the 92 this morning. he's not used to those green numbers now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top