2/10 Rocky AMPS 175, PMPS 98 Question Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Since Rocky's number is lower than usual should I give the .50 insulin? This would be my first time giving him two shots in one day. I lowered his level yesterday. What happens if the number gets too low with the insulin shot?
 
I am not familiar with your cat & why you are only giving one shot a day? If you do shoot are you prepared with hc food and test strips & will you be home to test?
 
i have no advise to give you, but hang in there someone will be on to guide you.
either way stay positive. ill check in on you. i am knew to this, so can't offer advise but im here for moral support.
 
Can you let us know if you shot or not? Have you fed him and if you have, how much and when? If you haven't....please don't until you read through here and we make a plan.

Do you have plenty of test strips, HC food/gravy, karo, and can you be there to test him..are you rested?

Usually when you get a low number that you haven't shot before, you have three options.

1. you can stall and test every 20 mins and see if the number rises; as soon as it rises, shoot his full dose (I believe it is .5u?). If you stall, you will shoot tomorrow 12 hours from this shot...we make up time in small increments which i can tell you about later but you will need to be able to shoot later tomorrow

2. shoot a reduced dose on time

3. skip

I'm going to look a little harder at his SS while you read this. Be right back to help you decide, ok?
 
You don't have much data on how he responds to wet food with lower numbers. It might be a good idea to stall just a bit and catch him on the rise. But no food.

Can you stall? How long?
 
oh im not even you and i feel better knowing marje is on the case. she always seems calm cool and collected. i'm working on being that :lol: :lol: :lol: i tend to be head of the crazy pants around here ;-) i just keep telling myself im a work in progress just like ruben, at least were both moving forward. i'm up for a while, let me know if you need moral support check in's.
 
If you have Rocky on Lantus, it's a 12 hour insulin, and it needs to be given every 12 hours. That's just the way Lantus works. You'll get better results giving it every 12 hours than you would every 24 hours. Like Marje asked, have you given him the shot yet? If you have, you need to feed him right away so that there will be food in his system for when the insulin kicks in.
 
I decided to skip the shot because I don't finish working until very late tonight and wouldn't be able to watch him. I also work late tomorrow night.
I know that no one knows for sure but what is the likelihood that there would be problems giving two shots a day with the lower dose? He was taking one unit with no problem once a day. That was because his PMPS was lower than 200 so I wasn't giving the PM shot. It was suggested to reduce the dosage. Why would that one unit broken up over 12 hours potentially cause problems? Don't I want lower numbers? I know and understand that you all are helping, but I'm just trying to understand. I'm almost scared to give him a second shot with lower numbers. :?
I fed him a little bit after his regular time because he was meowing all over the place.
 
lantus is a depot insulin... one dose builds upon the next. a dose can affect the action for the next 3 days. therefore, we could very well be seeing some residual action leftover from the 1 unit dose. that leftover action could be adding a little oomph to the 0.5 unit dose.

you could drop the dose to 0.25 unit to see if reducing will allow you to shoot twice a day. if it doesn't work out well, the next step would be to take the dose back up to 0.5u twice a day.

or you could continue with 0.5 unit while the depot is depleting...
 
The only thing I know is that in order to give 2 shots, you'll need to get a PS test done, of course, and then get at least 1 midcycle test to make sure that he doesn't fall too low. Some to most people do more than 1 midcycle test to see where their kitty goes during the day. That's about all I can tell you. Sorry.
 
I understand what everyone is saying. The confusing part is the dosing to keep my kitty safe and not have to be up all night. I all ready have a little one (human) that likes to wake up in the middle of the night and keep me up for two hours.
 
i understand. my kids are all grown and have families of their own, but i still remember those days!

maybe it's best if you drop the dose to 0.25 unit so you can shoot twice a day. that will give you time to collect some data with twice a day shots. right now we don't have any data while shooting twice a day. it's easier to start low and go up the dosing scale (if necessary) than it is to have to reduce the dose because of not being able to shoot twice a day.

what do you think?
 
I agree with Jill. Reducing the dose should bring Rocky into a range where he can get two shots a day. I would reduce to 0.25 units twice a day. If that turns out to be not enough, then you can always increase again, but it's a lot easier to start with a lower dose and work up from there if needed.
 
Okay. I can do that. So tomorrow morning I'll go down to .25. Now how do you get that low with the syringe? I had a hard enough time trying to get to .50. That's the first notch on my syringe. I guess just try to get under the .50 notch?
 
025unit-1.jpg


does this help?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top