2/10 Rocket PMPS 315 +2 250 +5 256

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
well those numbers are shocking...keep going up each day...
gave 0.25u but not sure that is enough though Sienne told me to stick it out for a few cycles....i'm just not used to those numbers
negative for ketones...i managed to test him in the wee hrs...

AMPS 259

trying to feed him as i type this....

bye for now

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36340
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259

Quite a jump from the numbers we're used to seeing Rocket in. I hope he settles down for you today and goes back to green like he did yesterday.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259

Moonie has a 259 amps from out of nowhere, so we are in the same boat--Hope Rocket is a little better-Hugs & green Healing vines to Rocket Man!
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259

Claudia, I'm not going to say that those numbers are no big deal but....they are the least of your worries, in my opinion. You have to pick your battles right now and I can't see how diabetes is the one to get upset about. Do what you can but neither of you need the added stress....
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259

(((Claudia)))...of course you are worried about that number....we all get concerned about higher numbers esp when you are used to the lower ones so it's ok...we all understand and we'd be feeling the exact same way. It's probably the influence of the pred and none of us know if it will come down or go up but we'll all hope it will settle and come down. You're really doing a great job and have everyone's admiration for all you're doing for Rocket. We can all only hope that when we get old and sick, someone as caring and devoted as you are for Rocket will be there for us.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259

Jen & Squeak said:
Claudia, I'm not going to say that those numbers are no big deal but....they are the least of your worries, in my opinion. You have to pick your battles right now and I can't see how diabetes is the one to get upset about. Do what you can but neither of you need the added stress....
my sentiments exactly.
let's give the insulin a little time to work. remember, lantus has a cumulative effect. what we're seeing today may not be what we see tomorrow. rocket has to "build his shed".
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259

Claudia, you and Rocket are in my prayers. Please try not to worry about the numbers, as Jill said, you are building the shed. I hope Rocket is eating well today.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259

Claudia, I can so understand your concern about the higher numbers because you just aren't used to seeing them that high, even though it is pretty definite that it is from the pred. I really am hoping the pred does its job and Rocket is feeling better and better every day. Sending you hugs and prayers.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315

i feel i'm gonna have a heart attack seeing those numbers

+9 315....going up by the minute!
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315

I am thinking you need to up that dose. Bumping up to the top - you should change your subject maybe while you have time to plan.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315-dose question again

i've got 2 hrs to go until shot time...i don't think he is sustaining the dose

seems to be peeing more as well...so at the fear of him dehydrating on me i have upped his fluid dose as well....just now i gave a little more to tie him over....it was the same when we got back from remission...peeing more and it's not CRF related...

should i up the dose? i checked for ketones as well about 1/2 hr ago...negative
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315-dose question again

The pred can also cause more water drinking and peeing. I have seen a lot more output from Blackie since he's been on the pred and it was already high from the CRF. I hope you get your dose question answered.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315-dose question again

Claudia I think you should probably increase his dose. I think you are getting the answers that the pred is increasing his BG probably faster than the shed would build right?

I'm not an expert, but it makes sense to me. Maybe someone will come along and disagree. Just my opinion.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315-dose question again

Karrie and Maverick said:
Claudia I think you should probably increase his dose. I think you are getting the answers that the pred is increasing his BG probably faster than the shed would build right?

I'm not an expert, but it makes sense to me. Maybe someone will come along and disagree. Just my opinion.
i don't know either...at the current dose and with the pred in place it is obvious he is not bringing any numbers down now...as each pred dose in place seems to bring that number further up....
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315-dose question again

Ele & Blackie said:
The pred can also cause more water drinking and peeing. I have seen a lot more output from Blackie since he's been on the pred and it was already high from the CRF. I hope you get your dose question answered.
yes i noticed that but as of yesterday...the day before yesterday it was still fine...but also he seems to be dehydrated so at the fear of causing problems with the kidneys i gave another LRS dose to keep him comfy for the night...

thanks Ele
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +2.5 259 +9 315-dose question again

JMO Claudia but you may want to give his shed a wee bit more time I hope others with more dose experience will pop in but you can see you are on day 3 of pred and numbers slowly rising as he gets pred in his system DL is high tonight too he is also on day 3 of pred but of course he never had a empty shed to fill whatever decision you make it has to be your choice and you need to feel comfortable with what you are doing for Rocket ((((HUGS)))
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

so here is a question for anyone with experience with pred and insulin

Can the pred be preventing his shed from building up?
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Sorry what I meant was - his shed has to build and some of the .25 dose is being used to build the shed. Maybe his BG is rising faster than people expected with that 315 number. Yesterday to this mornings wasn't really a big jump. But tonights may be? Lisa has experience with lantus and now pred. But as she pointed out DL had a shed already built. Rocket has to fill his. So I think this complicated your dosing a bit. I didn't mean to imply that it wouldn't allow a shed to be filled.

Bump.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Jill & Alex said:
my sentiments exactly.
let's give the insulin a little time to work. remember, lantus has a cumulative effect. what we're seeing today may not be what we see tomorrow. rocket has to "build his shed".

This is what we were saying last night. Let's give this a little more time. It's only been 3 cycles. Remember when Rocket first started Lantus. The effects aren't immediate. The last thing we want to do is put him over dose.

Pred doesn't block the shed. Steroids raise BG.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Rocket has only been on this dose for 3 cycles. He needs some more shed-building time before increasing, as long as his ketones are ok. Keep him eating and keep him hydrated.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

this is a huge sigh of relief....i wasn't sure about the pred....

i will keep the same dose tonight...i know he has to build the shed but i didn't know if the pred was preventing from happening...

Libby and Sienne...i will keep it as is...thank you....
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Claudia I know it is hard to see those numbers especially when they are not Rocket numbers and you are not used to seeing them.
I am glad you feel better knowing that the pred is not doing anything to the insulin.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Claudia, did you change to the different Lantus cartridge at about the same time you started the pred? The high numbers are most likely from the pred, but there is a chance it is from the cartridge I sent.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Linda and Bear Man said:
Claudia, did you change to the different Lantus cartridge at about the same time you started the pred? The high numbers are most likely from the pred, but there is a chance it is from the cartridge I sent.
i started the insulin on the Lantus you sent me....and it was the same i used the last dose he received in January....the cartridge looks fine to me....

should i open a new cartridge? I really wanted to use the one you sent me...
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket AMPS 259 +9 315-dose and pred question

Claudia & Rocket said:
Linda and Bear Man said:
Claudia, did you change to the different Lantus cartridge at about the same time you started the pred? The high numbers are most likely from the pred, but there is a chance it is from the cartridge I sent.
i started the insulin on the Lantus you sent me....and it was the same i used the last dose he received in January....the cartridge looks fine to me....

should i open a new cartridge? I really wanted to use the one you sent me...

Maybe see what others think. It should be OK, because it was shipped cold. Maybe give it a few more cycles.
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket PMPS 315 +2 250

i never thought i'd be so happy to see yellow....that pink really did not agree with my heart...almost got a heart attack from it....

+2 250....trying to feed him but not into food right now...

in half hr the pred is in place so the number will go up again....i will test him a bit later...i need right now to make sure food is in place for the pred...
 
Re: 2/10 Rocket PMPS 315 +2 250

WOOHOOO What a relief. You got great advice. That reassurance is really helpful in keeping feet on the ground. Hang in there.
 
Yes Claudia....keep shooting the same dose. You need to allow a few more cycles for the shed to fill before considering an increase.

I know it's really hard to see the higher numbers, but remember that it's short term. Keep testing for ketones and doing the wonderful job you are of taking care of Rocket. Hang in there....I haven't had a chance to post in your condo much lately, life is busy, but I am always keeping you and Rocket in my thoughts. I hope the pred will start working soon for Rocket. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top