2/10 Pearl PMPS 212; advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Pearl

Member Since 2009
Do I shoot normal? She was throwing up and had diarreha last night but has kept down food fine late last night and today. She had a decent meal about 40 min ago and still comes up at 212. She is going to the vet tomorrow and can't eat after 3:30 am. Do I shoot her normal 3.25. SS is up to date. Ugh. BTW, she is acting quite fine now. No poo in the box (but am not surprised. She poo'd a LOT last night).
 
is she having a blood draw or surgery? if blood draw, i'd consider a bcs dose of like 1.5 or maybe even 1u. just so you got some on board, and since there is food on board. if you think she might barf, i'd skip it entirely.

Edit: Also, a PM to Jojo might not be a bad idea
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
is she having a blood draw or surgery? if blood draw, i'd consider a bcs dose of like 1.5 or maybe even 1u. just so you got some on board, and since there is food on board. if you think she might barf, i'd skip it entirely.

Edit: Also, a PM to Jojo might not be a bad idea

Blood drawn. She still gets to eat for a good8 or so hours yet. Tomorrow morning is where I may skip. I am dropping her at the vet at 11:30. She'll get blood drawn and xrays and I come back for her appt. at 1:30. Maybe I'll just wait and test again in a bit. If I give the shot later, and skip the morning, that should work? (I'll pm jojo too.)
 
don't PM me, i am right here! :P
sure if she ate her normal amount of food today ~did she really eat her regular amount or is that 'decent meal' way less than her normal intake then can shoot full dose, why not? but if she did not eat anywhere normal amount and if she is giving any signs that tonight is gonna be a repeat of last night v/d then give a BCS dose.
any nausea signs at all?
 
jojo and bunny said:
don't PM me, i am right here! :P
sure if she ate her normal amount of food today ~did she really eat her regular amount or is that 'decent meal' way less than her normal intake then can shoot full dose, why not? but if she did not eat anywhere normal amount and if she is giving any signs that tonight is gonna be a repeat of last night v/d then give a BCS dose.
any nausea signs at all?

No she really did eat about her normal amount. SHe'll want more in a couple of hours. She maybe didn't snack as much today as she might normally. She seems to be fine today. Go figure :roll: I figure I still better try to get a blood panel etc and they would like a stool sample if I can get one. Now, I can't vouch for what happens later. She ate fine and normal yesterday evening too and then started having all sorts of trouble later.


ETA, no poo yet so I don't know if THAT is anywhere near normal.
 
well if you think she is fine go for it. gonna have to start shooting full dose sooner or later to numbers under 200 and she is gonna get 1/2 dose or something tomorrow, don't want to empty shed down to fumes.z
how sudden did that episode com on last night? she didn't get into anything did she? a plant or something?
 
jojo and bunny said:
well if you think she is fine go for it. gonna have to start shooting full dose sooner or later to numbers under 200 and she is gonna get 1/2 dose or something tomorrow, don't want to empty shed down to fumes.z
how sudden did that episode com on last night? she didn't get into anything did she? a plant or something?


OK, not quite normal. Sugar just asked for a snack (she is a very minimal picky eater and often needs an "after"). Normally, Pearl would be hounding her for the extra, but she stayed in her bed. So, no not a normal appetite but other kitty owners would kill for her kind of "anorexia". She got the sudden squirts and yaks Sunday night. She seemed better Monday, with some regular and some runny poo. Yesterday seemed fine and some regular poo (hers are MUCH bigger than Sugar's who has poo trouble the other direction) then last night about 9:30 big time yak and squirt. I was in the middle of a huge crying jag fighting with a friend on the phone. I've NO doubt my distress was a possible trigger/push element. This episode seemed much worse. She seemed much more uncomfortable. She got MUCH better after I gave her a 1/4 pepcid and water and then little by little over the next three hours (teaspoon by teaspoon at intervals) kept food down. I do see a LITTLE bit of dribble in the box covered up so still bad poo. I fed her a can of Chopped Grill FF Saturday. I wonder if it sparked all this? I know Beef FF gives her diarreha. I should have known but didn't think.
 
Oh yeah, no plants. And honestly, she has never seemed to eat or be interested in anything except food. We are up a whole whopping 15 pts to 227. Ugh. Let's assume she is NOT eating up to normal. I guess I would feel comfortable giving her 2u?
 
geez 2 units is a very BCS -C-ey dose. how about something more like 3.0 units? remember with lantus's shed they don't zoom at the end of a cycle like they do on PZI, the zoom happens way later when shed runs out.
just worried that with tomorrow's reduced dose too that her insulin needs won't be met and if this is infection of some sorts then that puts her into ketone danger territory. but give whatever you are comfortable with, she is your cat, i'm just tossing out my thoughts for you to do with what you wish, is cool. :smile:

glad she is going to vet, is worrisome when a cat that is such a good eater is off food.
 
jojo and bunny said:
geez 2 units is a very BCS -C-ey dose. how about something more like 3.0 units? remember with lantus's shed they don't zoom at the end of a cycle like they do on PZI, the zoom happens way later when shed runs out.
just worried that with tomorrow's reduced dose too that her insulin needs won't be met and if this is infection of some sorts then that puts her into ketone danger territory. but give whatever you are comfortable with, she is your cat, i'm just tossing out my thoughts for you to do with what you wish, is cool. :smile:

glad she is going to vet, is worrisome when a cat that is such a good eater is off food.

I am a big BCSey person :) Hey! She came to see what I was eating! (NO STEAK FOR HER). OK, skinny 3 it is. (See, I am a BCS who bargains). I'll post updates later.
 
Went back to bed when I wouldn't let her have steak juice. Definitely still off. Should I give her a piece of pepcid again tonight?
 
lolol, cool! teehee, glad we could strike a bargain. okay 3.0 units it is, sold! :mrgreen:

btw, for when she goes to vet, the much underused x-ray machine happens to be a very handy diagnostic tool for g/i issues sometimes. if vet doesn't mention it you might want to.....

oops you posted again before i hit submit. yeah sure! she can have 2.5 mgs of pepcid, no problem.
 
jojo and bunny said:
lolol, cool! teehee, glad we could strike a bargain. okay 3.0 units it is, sold! :mrgreen:

btw, for when she goes to vet, the much underused x-ray machine happens to be a very handy diagnostic tool for g/i issues sometimes. if vet doesn't mention it you might want to.....

oops you posted again before i hit submit. yeah sure! she can have 2.5 mgs of pepcid, no problem.

Hell yes we are getting an xray. As long as I have to upset her. Plus, I will be at a meeting for that and the blood draw so I don't have to hear her, which can reduce me to tears. My vet calls it singing but I know better. She is so unhappy at the vets :(
 
oh geez, don't cry. lots of cats are very vocal at vets, they just like everyone to know they are not pleased about the whole thing. but nothing they are gonna do hurts at all and the cats forget all about it once they are home. i don't call it singing, call it cussing me out.

how much insulin are you planning on giving in morning?
 
jojo and bunny said:
oh geez, don't cry. lots of cats are very vocal at vets, they just like everyone to know they are not pleased about the whole thing. but nothing they are gonna do hurts at all and the cats forget all about it once they are home. i don't call it singing, call it cussing me out.

how much insulin are you planning on giving in morning?

WEll, I suppose it depends on what I see for number. If she goes high, I'll shoot regular since she'll stress too. Cross that bridge and all, yes? I just have no idea what she will do since she is off.
 
One last question...if it is pancreatitis and we get bupronex, is that ok to use with an asthma cat? (the more I read the more I think this is what it is).
 
i have no idea if bupe is ok to use with an asthmatic kitty. hopefully, jojo will check back later.
good luck with the vet visit tomorrow...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top