2-10 Ozgood

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozgood

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-9-ozgood-amps-364.132880/

Melanie- Julie is right about the repackaged insulin

Julie- We usually catch much lower numbers during the PM cycle. I just don't want to increase the dose and have him get too low at night. Perhaps we could increase the AM dose and leave the PM dose the same?

I had another thought about the lower numbers in the night. Oz eats quite frequently throughout the day. Probably every 3-4 hours; sometimes 2-3. When we test him in the night it has been about 7 hours since the last time he ate. I haven't researched how much eating can raise his BG, but of course it does raise it some. I'm kind of curious if that could be playing a role.
 
Lantus likes consistency, it's best to give the same dose in the AM and PM cycles. And often what you shoot in one cycle can influence the following one, so a higher does in the day would still influence the night cycle. Some cats just prefer going lower at night (like my Neko). It just means I have to make sure to get at least a before best test with her every night.

If you are interested in how much food can impact Oz, try getting some +1 tests. The difference between the PS and +1 will give you some idea how much food impacts him. Does Oz have any food out at night to graze on? That can help him if he should get into lower numbers at night.
 
On your ss it mentions the first dose with the solostar pen - are you using the pen needles and the dial on the pen, or a syringe to draw the dose out of the pen? For accuracy, you want to use a syringe.

His day cycle numbers are no doubt also influenced by Dawn Phenomenon. That causes higher BGs in the morning - so you may have a combination of factors, both eating and hormones. I suspect the role of dawn phenomenon might be pretty significant in some cats and might explain why so many have all their low numbers in the pm cycle. But it's just my own suspicion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top