2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117, +0.5=139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dawn & Nova

Member Since 2010
Well Nova got me a little worried last night as she was pretty low at +4 (and dropping faster then she typically does during the night).. so I took cat naps through the night and checked on her every 2 hours (didn't test, just made sure she was ok).. we're both pretty tired from that.. hopefully she sleeps all day while I am out.

She's feeling good.. has been in a really good mood this morning actually.. reaaaally hoping she's going to settle down in these low blues/high greens and not bounce again... I've have been talking to her about her liver lots every day trying to explain what's going on... I don't expect she understands me but hopefully she's sensing my energy about it all..

yesterday's condo
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146

Good morning Dawn and Nova. Her numbers all look pretty darn good. Keep up the good work Nova :thumbup
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146

Hi Dawn,
took a look at ur profile, how's the snow over there out west? :lol: We just got our first snow today here in T.O, noting to write home about , yet.

I kinda do the same with my kitties, talk to them and tell them where it's at. I believe they know exactly what I'm saying, even if they do look away bored. :lol:

keep it up! One day she will listen!
Nice numbers today!
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +2=162, +6=83

Got home juuust in time for a +6 test.. phew..

The weather here is actually awesome. It snowed a little bit last night that I noticed, but it's about freezing temperature wise, things are starting to melt. Nova's up on the top of the tall cat tree next to the open window pleased as punch with the world and grooming. Nice break for me too, she loves the window open (doesn't matter how cold it gets, she loves it), and I've been freezing my behind off the last few weeks since her numbers starting going wacky.. hoping to keep her in a good mood and healthy with the fresh air :).

She's not spoiled.. just ask her :).

The snow here isn't gone for good until the middle of April usually.. this is abnormally warm for feb.. so I expect 1 more really cold snap before spring.. but I'll enjoy it while it lasts! :)

Here's hoping today's dip into the greens is just a dip and not another bounce!
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +2=162, +6=83

nice +6!

Nova sounds like a real sweetie pie cat_pet_icon doing very well!
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

Ugh what is my cat doing!!! It looks like my no bounce talking was successful but what the heck!

Tested 117.. fed 0.5 can of FF.. will retest in an hour (and likely shoot her 1U).

Is this a mistake? Am I being too much of a chicken again?
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

Hi Dawn. It can be scary--shooting at these lower numbers. Will you be around to monitor tonight if need be?
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

paige said:
Hi Dawn. It can be scary--shooting at these lower numbers. Will you be around to monitor tonight if need be?

I will be up until +4.. but at some point I need to sleep.. the cat napping last night after the low +4 has me a tad wrecked hehe.
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

you've shot 130 at this dose before and everything was fine, and 146 this morning. This isn't that much lower. Are you able to monitor tonight? This is a good thing! She is on the way up from her nadir so she'll probably keep surfing or rising.

If you want to stall, how about 1/2 hour instead of a whole hour? That will probably bring her into the range where you've shot before.
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

*makes lots of chicken noises*

Fine! I'll spend the next 5 mins talking myself into it.. and then go test and shoot.. *twitches*. :)
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

Hi Dawn
I did not get a chance to welcome another Canadian to LL.
There are a lot of us here.
What a beautiful name and a beautiful kitty.
Her ss looks terrific.
I had lots of fun converting mine to the CDN numbers (for vet purposes only) I am used to
the American numbers and use an American meter.
 
Ok.. at +0.5 she was 139.. so I shot her 1U.. yeah yeah you guys were right.. ;)

So where exactly for PS numbers should I be reconsidering doing her shot now? I need rules! :)
 
Re: 2/10 Nova AMPS=146, +6=83, PMPS=117 - No shot yet

Randi & Max said:
Hi Dawn
I did not get a chance to welcome another Canadian to LL.
There are a lot of us here.
What a beautiful name and a beautiful kitty.
Her ss looks terrific.
I had lots of fun converting mine to the CDN numbers (for vet purposes only) I am used to
the American numbers and use an American meter.

Thanks for the welcome :)

I do love her name an awful lot and I agree she is beautiful! (she agrees too ;) ).

I got her because I asked for the cat who was next on *the* list at the local (unfortunately) NOT no-kill shelter. Scared of everything and often got violent (suspected past abuse from people).. they didn't figure they would ever find a home for her because of her health and behavioural issues. With the help of an animal behaviourist and her doctor, her and I worked at giving her a safe home and a healthy human relationship. After a few weeks she started coming out of her shell and I settled on Nova.. from supernova (definition - a star that explodes and becomes extremely luminous in the process ).

5+ years later she's not scared of anything.. she even loves going to the vet.. she's really vocal and free flowing with her words and swearing (hissing).. but she's ridiculously gentle.. too gentle in my opinion.. I wish she'd turn around and slug her brothers (by adoption) when they bug her sometimes.

She still really dislikes being touched most of the time.. esp. her ears and feet (figures)... my intense efforts to turn her into a cuddly cat failed miserably..but she's happy, and that's all I really wanted.
</end of sappy story :)>
 
Dawn & Nova said:
Ok.. at +0.5 she was 139.. so I shot her 1U.. yeah yeah you guys were right.. ;)

So where exactly for PS numbers should I be reconsidering doing her shot now? I need rules! :)

with lantus and levemir, the idea is to shoot low to stay low. :-D
eventually, you'll be shooting ps numbers under 100 in order to achieve the shallow flat curves lantus/levemir are known for.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top