2/10 MAX AMPS 125+2/134+3.5/74+6.5/79 PM.PS 112+2.5/118+4.5/96

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-3-79-4-60-5-7-59-6-7-77.132854/#post-1369658

Mini Recap:
AMPS 253 +6.5/84
PMPS 115 +5.75/59 +6.75/77

Max woke up me up about 35 minutes before amps preening and then trying to throw up. It was a little fur so all was well. Since Marta will be here today to clean which means Max will be under the bed much of the morning I decided to continue with the odansetron this morning at the reduced dose. He ate his baby food gel cap chaser and some of his ff so I think he is feeling better. He almost certainly has had pancreatitis so I don't want to stop the med too soon. I'll see what my vet thinks tomorrow afternoon when he goes in for the dental recheck.

Prayers and vines to all in need.
 
I'm glad he's feeling better.... hate p-titis with a passion. Maybe that's why his numbers have been such a struggle lately (I'm sure you've already come to that conclusion!!). Nice greens today, too :D!! Keep feeling better, Max! Prayers for both him and your mom!
 
Hi Amy and Chris. I do think it's the p'itis although I'll find out tomorrow if there is any infection on top of it. He's had ondansetron for 6 days counting today. I considered stopping but remembered that the vet visit could stir him up so will continue at least for the next few days.
 
Today's numbers certainly look more Max-like. I hope he's feeling better and all goes well at the vet.

I think some kitties just have that scaredy cat personality. My Kisa was like that all of his 13 years. We got him from the same breeder as Minka, but they were totally different in personality. She's not afraid of anything, and he was scared of his own shadow. When someone would come over, he would disappear. If they stayed overnight, I'd have to find his hiding place and take him his food. About the third day you might see him sneaking around in our bedroom, but he wouldn't come downstairs while they were here. He was never treated with anything but love and tenderness, but he was still afraid, although he did loosen up just a little in his last couple of years.

Sending lots of appy, tummy and advanced vetty vines.
 
I agree about some cats are born that way. Max was a rescue so who knows how much handling he got the first two months of his life. He also had ringworm on his nose so I had to keep him at a distance. It didn't stop him from becoming a head butt king. He too would come out and view guests from afar until Tiffany got sick.Then after p'itis hit he got worse. The last houseguest I had here was two years ago. He hid the whole five day s and only came out when it was quiet and everyone was asleep. I had to feed him under the bed but he wouldn't eat until the place was vacant and it led to a p'itis attack.Thanks for the vines, Tricia.
 
Max, you're looking like the Max of old, well, not that old. Sorta the Max just a while ago! Huge vines that he's on the way to feelingallbetter soon. So tough when they're not themselves. So glad he has you to understand him and care for him...even in his particularly shy moments.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks for the visits Marilyn and Carla. It appears that the extra juice and medication are helping. I guess I'll know more tomorrow. We likely won't run the fPL since he is doing better.
 
punkin was afraid of people too - but not animals. One time he had a bunch of wounds and i took him to the vet for them. Vet said that all the wounds were in his front half and he'd tangled with a raccoon. His point was that punkin hadn't run from the raccoon. But when anyone knocked at the door, he immediately ran for the top step to our downstairs, where he could see the front door. If it was anyone outside our immediate family, he was downstairs until they left.

Just makes you love them more!

Glad to see Max's BGs are a little better today and it sounds like he might feel a little bit better!
 
One time he had a bunch of wounds and i took him to the vet for them. Vet said that all the wounds were in his front half and he'd tangled with a raccoon. His point was that punkin hadn't run from the raccoon.
@julie & punkin (ga) That is an amazing story! :eek::eek::eek: Many dogs don't survive an encounter with raccoons- that's why all my cats are indoor cats! So glad Punkin survived- amazing! :bighug:

Elise, It certainly looks like extra juice and ondansetron have helped Max, sorry to hear you think it's p-titis, I know how awful that is! Does Max ever get pepcid?

Also, my two previous older civies (GA's) were litter mates, they never really bonded with humans, they bonded with eachother. And they were always under the bed if company came over. So unlike Tiger.
 
Max's numbers are better but not his appy tonight. I just put some fd turkey on top of the ff so I'll see if that gets him eating. All he has had so far tonight is some Beechnut.

Raccoons are scary that is for sure. They have attacked some small dogs in my mom's neighborhood. Poor Punkin!

Max doesn't get pepcid as he doesn't have a problem with acid.

My sister thinks it's odd that my cats hide. I think it is much more common. Ruth, were yours rescues? I think it happens when kittens aren't handled enough when very young so by the time we get them we can't change their fear. Some get more cuddly with age though.
 
Elise, I was just thinking that Max gets the ondansetron for nausea, but Tiger gets nauseous from stomach acid, and it show itself in the morning when her tummy is empty.

A friend of mine got "adopted" by a pregnant stray mama cat that produced 4 kittens. She couldn't keep all of them, so they called me. The problem is, they were almost 3 months old, and not used to being handled, like you jus pointed out...They stayed under my bed for the first 2 weeks at our house. :oops:
 
When I adopted punkin he was about a year old. He'd been in the shelter for months and before that he'd been on the streets. I never could believe it because he was gorgeous and he had a purr you could hear in the next room. But when we got home with him, he spent the next 6 months either behind the washer or fridge, or outside. He bonded with our other cat, Felix, immediately. he ok'd me pretty fast but everyone else had to work to win him over.
 
Ruth, I dot think stomach acid is his problem. He doesn't vomit the foam that it causes. If he tries to vomit it's to bring up fur that gets stuck in his throat. It's just a small amount of fur which doesn't amount to much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top