2/10 Maverick - PMPS 90 and green :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36369

I forgot to move his shot time up. My dog has a vet appt in another city at 10AM this morning. We'll have to leave at 8:45. Maverick's shot time is normally 9:45 lately.

So do I shot 1 hour early (.10 units) or skip? I won't be back until at least noon. I do not want to get on that schedule. I will for him though.

I'm tempted to shoot early. I may be giving lots of furshots anyhoo. His numbers make no sense but I don't have enough data at all to fill in the blanks. Sorry :oops:
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

Thanks Miriam. I would be back for about 12:30. So if I shot at 8:45 it would be four hours.

I don't know where his nadir is at though lately. It used to be +4 but then we did an OTJ trial.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

Why don't you post the number at +11 and see what it is. Shooting a low number an hour early is like an increase so you may be best to skip or oops give a fur shot. ;-)
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

My dogs appetite has been horrible lately - due to clavamox. She is finally eating - Wellness 95% chicken. I'm going to have to look up the carb content of this - seems like it would be very low carb. Maverick seems to really want to eat it. He's waiting, sitting next to her watching as she eats. Just caught him licking her plate. I wonder if he'd give Wellness another try - or if he just likes it in the dog food flavour.

Also that tiny catnip toy made by the same company that makes Nanners.... he hates. Its a small catnip filled goldfish or something about 2" long. No interest what so ever. Wonder what he'll think of the Nanner when I get it.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

It looks like the Wellness for dogs is 2%. I attached an Excel spreadsheet that someone on the Health board developed. There's a tab at the bottom for dog food. It also has several of the canned cat foods that aren't on Janet & Binky's list. He used Janet's calculations. I'm not sure you'd want Maverick eating a steady diet of the dog food. It probably doesn't contain things like taurine that Maverick needs.
 

Attachments

Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

How can something that is 95% chicken be 28% carbs? ohmygod_smile http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/wellness-dog-food-95-percent/ Just saw your post Sienne, Now I'm really confused. I like your number better.

No Maverick is supposed to get zero dog food. I am normally right there to pick up her bowl but a few times I've gotten side tracked. I meant to say that I'd like to pick him up some Wellness Cat food (vs walmart special kitty that he has chosen to eat) to see if he has changed his mind about a supposedly better food. It would be good if he had variety.

Wow this list is awesome!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

Leaving in ten minutes. Still wondering if I should shoot it. If I don't hear otherwise I will skip his shot today and start tomorrow at 8AM and get back on a normal shot time.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

Sorry. I thought Miriam would be back. I'd probably skip. Aren't you going to shoot tonight?

(The dog food is 2% -- not 28%).
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

to shoot or not to shoot, that is the question. but alas I don't have the answer.

Good luck either way and have a good vetty appointment
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

HAHA Yes I meant tonight. ohmygod_smile My brain is just not working like it should.

Ok will skip it and shoot tonight at 8PM. I'll be glad to not have to wake up in a stupour for a +3/+4. And reading condos while trying to keep my eyes open.

I'll be back later this afternoon to visit everyone. I LOVE our dog vet and I am tempted to drive Maverick an hour each way to get him a checkup done. I'll post on this later.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

Sorry.....I didn't mean to leave you hanging. I was in the shower.
I thought you still had more time before shooting.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

Good luck today, Karrie, with your dog and glad you feel relieved with no shot for Maverick. Catch up later.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - do I shoot early or skip?

Miriam and Putty said:
Why don't you post the number at +11 and see what it is. Shooting a low number an hour early is like an increase so you may be best to skip or oops give a fur shot. ;-)

Good I didn't leave you hanging as thought. I did suggest it would be best for you to skip. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

Good morning, Karrie and Maverick... I hope things go great today at the dog vet & am happy to see you & Maverick can get back on track this evening. Wishing you both a great day!
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

I hope your dog gets a good report at the vet today. And I hope that Maverick's numbers are good for pmps today.

Thanks for the suggestion on food for Blackie. As you know from your own experience, sometimes it just doesn't matter what food it is. I have tried different Merrick brands and Tiki Cat and Blackie didn't like any of them. Right now I'm giving him a mixture of his old Wellness (which he used to love) and FF Fish flavors that are low in fat and carbs. But, you might be right on his old food. So today I bought some FF Turkey & Giblets to mix with the FF Fish. I've had a hard time finding foods that are low carb and not high fat and not high phosphorus.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

I hope your dog's vet visit went well and everything is ok. Good luck with the PMPS for Maverick -- I'm sure he will post good numbers regardless of you skipping his AM shot.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

That reminds me to reset the iphone alarms. I forgot last time and had to stick to the 10AM schedule. All done.

Thanks for the good wishes at the vet. It was a pro-active trip today. Nike our dog was diagnosed with congestive heart failure last march. Since she has severe heart disease I worry that when she needs the cardiologist most we won't be able to make the 7 hour round trip. So it was an appointment so a vet there could come up to speed on Nike and her condition and open a dialogue with her cardiologist on how to manage her and have a treatment plan. She's doing great lately. We keep her quite sedentary and she's on a high dose of diuretics (along with a couple other heart and blood pressure medications). I just feel better knowing that they talk about what ifs now, vs waiting for when they aren't what ifs.

Not sure what Maverick's blood glucose will be tonight. We shall see in an hour :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

I am so glad that the vet appt went well - YAY, and that Nike is doing OK.

I think you made the right decision this morning in regards to maverick's shot. he'll be back on track in no time.
 
Re: 2/10 Maverick - no shot today

Glad to hear Nike is doing so well and had a good Vet visit. I can imagine it puts your mind at ease. I hope Maverick does well tonight.
 
He likes to keep me guessing. No shot this morning (+10) was 104. He has had an amazing appetite today. He's eaten 3oz just from 1:30 to 8:00 some time. This is not normal for him. So I was not expecting a green preshot. Probably shed action behind this. I think we did a good shot. I honestly can't tell. I think I may have to shave a patch just till I get the hang of these long needles. Its not the needle insertion point but after that - can't tell if the needle is going right through.
 
Glad the vet visit went well. Maverick was a good boy staying green for you.

If the needle was going right through, you might feel or smell the insulin, even though it's just a tiny drop. Can't take long for the shed to refill on that dose so he'll probably be fine.
 
Hi Karrie, I'm glad you had a good day and were able to get Nike to see the vet. And Maverick had a good day, too! Yea for good days!!
Now, have a good evening, too!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I see in Michelle's condo that you are a paddler, too. Isn't it wonderful to be out on the water? I can't wait for paddling season to begin. Last year we started on April 1st on one of the lakes that thaws early (there was some ice, but we were able to avoid it). This year the season might start later!!!!!

p.s. Just saw your comment in Rusty's condo. Yes, they did suggest a urine sample, but didn't think one was urgent at present. Thanks for the tip on the cost of Lev. We are only an hour from the border crossing at Plattsburgh.
 
hi Karrie and Maverick,

What pretty green numbers, and did I see no shot wow.

Thank you so much for all your support when visiting our condos.

Have a wonderful night :mrgreen: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top