2/10 Karamelle PMPS 343 +7.5 48 +8 63 +8.5 83 +9 99 PMPS 121 +2 208 +3.5 233

After a couple days of mostly pink after lowering the dose, we have a 48 at +7.5!!!
I was stressing out already because I was supposed to go to a play tonight and it had totally slipped my mind that I wouldnt be home for her pm shot. And now this. im definitely not going now, but i have an event next month i cant cancel as I pain $$$$$ for the tickets. I dont know what Im going to do.
Anyway, about this 48 from right now, what do I do from here? Test in an hour? Give her honey like last time?
I just gave her a little bowl of food and she ate it all. Shes acting fine.
 
Last edited:
Can you test her again? Did she have more food since that 63?
I started to give her food, talking to someone via messenger thats part of this group on FB and she said to hold off on the food to see if she will continue to rise without it, so I havent fed her since right after the 48 and just a tiny bit after the 83, until I was told not to feed her. I took the bowl away. She, no doubt, thinks Im crazy!
 
Sorry. Just seeing this. Looks like she is done. With the 63 I would have given a teaspoon of lc and tested in an hour. When 60+ at that point in the cycle you would not want to give more honey. Good catch. You might want to add notes on your ss how you handled this for next time. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Sorry. Just seeing this. Looks like she is done. With the 63 I would have given a teaspoon of lc and tested in an hour. When 60+ at that point in the cycle you would not want to give more honey. Good catch. You might want to add notes on your ss how you handled this for next time. Congrats on the reduction.
Thanks. I did add when I fed her in the notes. I would have added if I did anything else, which I didnt. Shes sensing right now that Im a little stressed and is refusing to eat. Im going to wait for a little while and try again, so she can have something before the 2 hour fast time before PMPS.
+9 was 99 so we are good now.
 
Beautifully handled! I hope you have a serene rest of the day. It may have felt nerve-frazzling, but now you know what to do, as tiffmaxee helpfully mentioned.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
This info post also comes in handy: How to Handle Low Numbers particularly when you are just starting to get a sense of how the insulin is typically working, (onsets, nadirs, duration) and what carbs typically work to boost up numbers (i.e. your cat’s carb sensitivity). Also, when the low number(s) occur, and how low they were can also be factors.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
If she bounces, you could totally go to the play tonight. She'd be higher in the morning, but sometimes you just need to take some "me" time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
If she bounces, you could totally go to the play tonight. She'd be higher in the morning, but sometimes you just need to take some "me" time.
Unfortunately, its too late for the play. I canceled. Thanks for the encouragement. Just did PMPS, 121. She ate a portion of food and seems fine. I reduced the dose again to .5. We'll see how that goes.
 
This info post also comes in handy: How to Handle Low Numbers particularly when you are just starting to get a sense of how the insulin is typically working, (onsets, nadirs, duration) and what carbs typically work to boost up numbers (i.e. your cat’s carb sensitivity). Also, when the low number(s) occur, and how low they were can also be factors.
Thank you. I have read that, but I need to read it again. Im finding myself doing that with all the articles. maybe it will all stick in my brain at some point.
 
I sure hope so. This is something thats so foreign to me. I hope at least I start to understand it all better.

You will, I promise! At first it seems scary and baffling, but you figure it out quickly, about how your own cat handles insulin, how to dance with the low numbers (Marje's concept of dancing with it is perfect), and to give the right amount of carbs, to nudge her, without carbing her up to the moon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top