2/10 Gracie PMPS 50 Dental Tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's 2/8 Condo

Happy Tuesday! No recap since I'm waiting for Mike to get his hair cut and posting from my phone.

Gracie is doing well but was bouncy yesterday. She was not happy with Tobes today. He had a vetty visit and obviously stunk upon returning home as she rewarded him with the hisses she usually saves for Lupita. His visit went well.

Tomorrow is dental day for LBG and I am nervous. I spent a hour on the phone with the anesthesiologist yesterday and will recap later.

We have been running errands for Mikes trip to KY this week and mine to TX next week . I'll BBL to tell you about dental instructions.

Have a great day.
 
Last edited:
Poor Tobey. I hope he got rid of the vetty smell quickly. I'm glad his vetty visit went well. Sending good vetty vines for Gracie for tomorrow.
 
Pretty special little boy, Tobey. You got the Lupita hiss! Hope you puffed your chest out and did some strutting after that.

All sorts of dental vines flowing south from here for LBG tomorrow. Will be thinking of her. And you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
@Jill & Alex (GA)

Gracie is having a dental tomorrow. She's never had one (she's 8) and while Dr. B. Does not see anything obvious other than a tiny bit of tarter on one tooth, she thinks we need to get this done while Gracies labs have stabilized. Sometimes, Gracie chews a little odd on one side.

I had an hour long talk with the anesthesiologist last night after she had looked at Gracies SS. She is really smart and she thinks that it would be best to skip Gracies shot in the morning since Gracie can come down fast. I asked her if she thought she would give Gracie some R if her BG goes up above 300 while she's having the dental. She said she could but she would feel better if I would draw the tiny doses I give Gracie....she hasn't microdosed and she also doesn't want Gracie to come screaming down with R and no food during a dental. She said she likes to keep them between 150-250 during a dentail as some FDs can get a little unstable above 350 under anesthesia.

I told her I would ask you for your thoughts on it...that we might be better off to just leave her alone during the dental and when we get home, if she's high but eats, I can give her a little R then to tide her over until she gets her lev. She said she was fine with checking with you.

What do you think? And this would only be if she's high in the morning before the dental starts. If her BG is around 300 but stays flat, she would not give the R...it's only if she starts to go up above that or becomes unstable.

Thanks for your thoughts.
 
Last edited:
in response to your PM:

gracie is on such a small lev dose. if i were in your shoes, i'd skip the shot in the morning even if she's high. why take the chance of her coming down while under anesthesia, but that's a call you have to be comfortable making. imo, it's not worth it. you and mike are experienced caregivers and you're not afraid to push the envelope later (over the next couple of days) to bring her numbers down if necessary.

as far as administering a bit of R during the dental if gracie's BG were to rise over 350...
the anesthesiologist has seen gracie's spreadsheet so she's seen how gracie can drop. if she still thinks she should give R over 350 or becomes unstable... i'd have to defer to her experience and judgement because she mentions FDs "can become unstable when they get over 350", but it does make me a little nervous. if i had a choice, i'd rather deal with high BGs after you're home.

just remember, whether or not she's been given R during the dental or you give it once she's home... anesthesia can drop glucose numbers even hours later. remember roni's moonie? after a dental (no morning shot), iirc, moonie's pmps number was in the 300s. roni gave moonie half a dose for her PM shot. moonie dropped into double-digits at nadir. so take it easy when dosing the night of the dental, especially if she's not eating well.

i assume they'll be monitoring her blood pressure during the procedure?


i know it's not any comfort, but we're all nervous before a dental...
try to get some sleep tonight.
:bighug:
 
Thanks, Jill.

I think Dr. L hadn't really given thought to giving Gracie any R but I brought it up. The more I think about it, the more I think your approach is the best and just skip the morning dose as Dr. L already recommended and leave the R at home.

I do remember Moonie....and it seems someone else....fighting low numbers at night after a dental (maybe Ann with Maggie?).

Yes...they have a pretty rigorous protocol for monitoring. She monitors pulse, heart rate and EKG, BP, BG, respirations. She's a board certified anesthesiologist and she's been doing anesthesia on our cats for over 10 years. She also will put booties on Gracie and keep her in a warming blanket.

She's the one that found the PVC on Tobey when he had his dental.

Thank you....I hope I can sleep tonight; last night was a bust even with an herbal sleep remedy. I worked out like a fiend tonight hoping that would make me sleep soundly. I know Gracie has the absolute best team tomorrow caring for her.
 
Dental vetty vines for LBG and calming ones for you. Max did not have low BG from the anesthesia but as we know ECID plus he had three extractions and lots of tartar. I'm impressed that you will have an anesthesiologist. What will they be using? Max only had gas. His previous dentals were before FD and the last one went well plus he didn't have extractions. He ate normally right away that time. This time he ate when he got home giving me a false sense of security as later he stopped eating. I think it might be due to the beginning of a p'itis attack though. Since you don't expect any complications I bet you won't even know that she has had a dental once she gets home.:bighug:
 
Thank you, Elise.

The anesthesiologist uses isofluorane gas and I wrote down what she uses for induction but it's not at my fingertips. It's the same she's used on all our cats. I also gave her Gracie's records as a kitten which show what was used when she was spayed.
 
That is what my cats have had as well but my vet doesn't use anything for induction which everyone thinks is odd. They come out of the gas really fast and don't act at all dopey.
 
Good timing on the PMPS tonight Gracie! I hope you can feed her late tonight.

No thoughts on the R for the dental, just plenty of hugs and good dental vines going your way. :bighug: It's great you've got a specialist for the anesthesia. They deal with some really complicated cases.

I like the idea of the skip tomorrow morning. A year ago, Neko went down to 76 on the AlphaTrak with .1U in her, and that was before anesthesia. Gracie can be even more dramatic. I remember a couple of other people with kitties diving after anesthesia. Suzanne/Tigger was one.
 
Sending along tons of dental vines from here, too. We had to fight to keep Trix up the day after her dental, too...but we were also VERY new to the whole FD thing at the time thus making extra extra extra stressful.

We'll be thinking of you tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
((((Marje)))) Sending tons and tons of comfort vines, and get a good night's sleep vines! Best thing is to stay off the internet tonight, curl up with a good book maybe. You and Gracie will be in our thoughts and prayers, hugs! :bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you all so much. We had to get Gracie up more than we normally would have because she can't eat after midnight until 5 a.m. When she can have a tsp of food.

Now that she's at a safer number, I'm headed to bed. Thank you all again...your thoughts and prayers will help me more than you know.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Marje, hi Gracie, We'll be thinking good thoughts tomorrow and we know that all will go well. Rusty didn't get a shot before his last 2 dentals and he was fine. Gracie, you'll get some treats from the tooth fairy even if you don't have to lose a tooth. Rusty says those treats are the best!

Time to sit down, put up your feet, and watch a good movie, Marje!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Wow her first dental! I like the idea of skipping the morning shot as well.

When BK had his first dental he was getting 13u Lantus and I skipped that mornings shot.
Immediately post dental (+14ish) he hit 30 and the dentist brought him up. I got him home at +17.5 and he was 77.
By +24 he was pink but I skipped again letting him surf pink.
At +35.5 (AMPS next day) I shot a BCS of 7u. At +7, I shot 1uR and at PMPS went back to 13u.

I didn't want to risk BK diving and not being in the mood to eat (which after 8 extractions seemed a strong possibility).
It was definitely a case of 'better a day to high than an hour too low'


We will be sending our strongest vines for an uneventful no surprises garden variety dental Gracie's way tomorrow :cool:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
{{{Marje}}}

I hope you are sound asleep as I type this. I know tomorrow will be a stressful day, but it sounds like Gracie is in excellent hands. All of LL will be thinking of her and praying for her.

Many vines and prayers from us. Lot of these, too: :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Marje, I just saw your post about Gracie's dental-- being new, I didn't even think about that... Sending you and Gracie my prayers and good thoughts. :bighug:
 
Just stopping by with our best wishes for an easy and uneventful dental for Gracie. Hugs.
 
Perfect dental vines being sent to Gracie for today's procedure.

I would skip the insulin this morning, too. And regarding the R, every time a vet asks me how much R I gave they didn't seem to understand anything less than whole units, so I wouldn't be comfortable with them giving R.
Just my thoughts.

I know how scary dentals are. You have the best of care for her. Big Hugs.
 
Hey just wanted to stop by and wish Gracie a good dental. Sending lots of good vines for her, and comforting thoughts for you Marje.
 
(((((Marje and Mike))))) It's so nerve wracking and hard on the beans, these dentals!:( I'm sending good dental vines for Gracie today, and many comforting hugs and prayers that things go smooth and the wait goes fast:bighug::bighug:.
 
Morning Marje :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I just wanted to wish Gracie a good dental today. I am sure all will go well. just IMHO, but i would skip the shot too, and avoid the R. Having a kitty, aka Mannie, that would drop at vetty visits, and the immediate hours right after, it is not a path I would pursue. I'd rather deal with the higher BG's that could result. Went through that a couple of times with Mannie. Get him home, BG's would plummet to the 40/50's, he wouldn't eat for a bit, and well, just not worth the risk. Safest and worry free route: no shot, no R. Wishing you much luck with whatever you decide. Have a great dental Gracie!
 
Adding some more good dental vines for LBG and :bighug:'s for her mama and daddybean!!

We're all waiting to hear that she's home with her pearly whites gleaming when she smiles!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top