? 2/10 Frosty: amps 314 +3 103 +5 140 +10 165 +12 199, 0.25 u too low? Leaving for trip next weekend

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ana & Frosty (GA)

Member Since 2018
Hey guys,
So Frosty has been doing really well with the 0.5 units, but I noticed that a few times his pre shot numbers jumped to mid 200s from high 100s. So I decided that maybe be he rebounding from a low and to tried to decrease his dose to 0.25 for a few days. However, based on the numbers of my curve SO FAR, with the pre shot being in the 300s for the first time, and my +5 being 140 already, I am wondering if I should go back to 0.5. I didn't have 6 cycles yet, I think this is our 4th cycle, but my issue is I am leaving next Friday out of the country f0r 10 days. My pet sitter is coming over tonight to learn how to give insulin, and I want to make sure I teach her to give the optimal dose, as I do not want her to adjust anything while I am away.

Having said that, I realize that PS of 300 and nadir of what seems to be around 100 at +3 hours isn't horrible for the SLGS regimen. With the 0.5 units, he did go as low as 68 (see curve from last week), but he recovered. I am not sure if it is better to err on the low or high side when I am away. The other thing is, 0.5 units is also easier for my pet sitter to measure. So I am leaning towards putting him back on 0.5 starting tonight and monitoring him next week sporadically when I can (at night like I have been), and having her give 0.5 while I am away. I will teach her how to check sugar, but she is only going to come twice a day for a half hour to feed and give medicine. So she won't be doing curves, which I wouldn't want her to anyway because as Frosty is feeling better and is more comfortable with his new home, he is starting to resist sugar checks :(. And since he is declawed, he bites. I don't want to put him or the pet sitter through that.

Thanks! Any advice is appreciated.

Again, Frosty is a former STRAY and we know nothing about his history. He has been with me for 5-6 weeks. 8-10 year old, on wet fancy feast paté. we are using ALPHATRACK 2 meter and lantus. THANKS!
 
I don't know if I can help. If it were me, though, I'd plan on the lower dose. Frosty is still new to insulin, and he's been rapidly sliding down the dosing ladder already. In the ten days you are gone, he could very well slide down some more, and you wouldn't want him on the higher dose if he wasn't going to be monitored much.

You have another week before your trip? The way he's going, I wouldn't be surprised if he asked for another dose decrease before then....
 
I'm too new to be of much help, here, but I'll bump this up!

I do know when I mentioned I would be going out of town and there would be minimal monitoring, it was suggested she be given a vacation dose--still getting insulin, but a smaller dose.
 
I don't know if I can help. If it were me, though, I'd plan on the lower dose. Frosty is still new to insulin, and he's been rapidly sliding down the dosing ladder already. In the ten days you are gone, he could very well slide down some more, and you wouldn't want him on the higher dose if he wasn't going to be monitored much.

You have another week before your trip? The way he's going, I wouldn't be surprised if he asked for another dose decrease before then....
Thank you guys so much for responding. I didn’t realize it would be a difficult question to answer, usually my posts get so many responses and i was starting to worry. :( I think you might both be right. Keeping him 300-150 is probably better while we are away. We can aim for the 200-100 range when we are home and monitoring more closely.
I'm too new to be of much help, here, but I'll bump this up!

I do know when I mentioned I would be going out of town and there would be minimal monitoring, it was suggested she be given a vacation dose--still getting insulin, but a smaller dose.
Do you guys think I should go back to 0.5 u Sat-Thu (We are leaving Fri afternoon) and then have her start 0.25 on Friday morning, or should we continue the 0.25 units until we get back?

All advice is greatly appreciated!

At +10 is he 165.

Thanks again.
Ana
 
Hi. I can't access your spreadsheet, but if 140 is your lowest number on 0.25u, you could take it back up to 0.5u. How many cycles have you done on 0.25u so far? With SLGS, the dose is held for a week then a curve is done to evaluate that dose.
 
Hi. I can't access your spreadsheet, but if 140 is your lowest number on 0.25u, you could take it back up to 0.5u. How many cycles have you done on 0.25u so far? With SLGS, the dose is held for a week then a curve is done to evaluate that dose.
That’s so strange! Here is the link:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XOMhovhTJ2xDJG3fFSEgSBZe-uddrR-qn_ARZeW6ZOk

The problem is that we work during the week and we are leaving on Friday, so we can’t do another curve before we go.
 
It wasn't your link.. Sometimes my phone just can't open spreadsheets. I was able to view it now and you had 103 last night after 3 cycles of 0.25u. It could have been from the 0.5u depot. I would suggest to hold 0.25u for now. With SLGS, a number below 90 means a reduction and 103 is pretty close. I think you should ask again 2 days before the trip and ask if you should reduce again.
 
It wasn't your link.. Sometimes my phone just can't open spreadsheets. I was able to view it now and you had 103 last night after 3 cycles of 0.25u. It could have been from the 0.5u depot. I would suggest to hold 0.25u for now. With SLGS, a number below 90 means a reduction and 103 is pretty close. I think you should ask again 2 days before the trip and ask if you should reduce again.
So it sounds like the consensus is to keep the 0.25 dose and keep monitoring as much as i can. I can check sugars at night before bed to make sure he isn’t below 100. He was also 103 at +2 today for whatever reason. He seems to be an early peaker based on my spreadsheet, but what I really didn’t like was the 300 this morning. But I think you guys are right, it’s better to be between 300-100 when I’m away vs. risk hypoglycemia. And he definitely could improve further over the next 2 weeks. I’ll do a curve again tomorrow to see where we are and post results throughout the day.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top