Ana & Frosty (GA)
Member Since 2018
Hey guys,
So Frosty has been doing really well with the 0.5 units, but I noticed that a few times his pre shot numbers jumped to mid 200s from high 100s. So I decided that maybe be he rebounding from a low and to tried to decrease his dose to 0.25 for a few days. However, based on the numbers of my curve SO FAR, with the pre shot being in the 300s for the first time, and my +5 being 140 already, I am wondering if I should go back to 0.5. I didn't have 6 cycles yet, I think this is our 4th cycle, but my issue is I am leaving next Friday out of the country f0r 10 days. My pet sitter is coming over tonight to learn how to give insulin, and I want to make sure I teach her to give the optimal dose, as I do not want her to adjust anything while I am away.
Having said that, I realize that PS of 300 and nadir of what seems to be around 100 at +3 hours isn't horrible for the SLGS regimen. With the 0.5 units, he did go as low as 68 (see curve from last week), but he recovered. I am not sure if it is better to err on the low or high side when I am away. The other thing is, 0.5 units is also easier for my pet sitter to measure. So I am leaning towards putting him back on 0.5 starting tonight and monitoring him next week sporadically when I can (at night like I have been), and having her give 0.5 while I am away. I will teach her how to check sugar, but she is only going to come twice a day for a half hour to feed and give medicine. So she won't be doing curves, which I wouldn't want her to anyway because as Frosty is feeling better and is more comfortable with his new home, he is starting to resist sugar checks
. And since he is declawed, he bites. I don't want to put him or the pet sitter through that.
Thanks! Any advice is appreciated.
Again, Frosty is a former STRAY and we know nothing about his history. He has been with me for 5-6 weeks. 8-10 year old, on wet fancy feast paté. we are using ALPHATRACK 2 meter and lantus. THANKS!
So Frosty has been doing really well with the 0.5 units, but I noticed that a few times his pre shot numbers jumped to mid 200s from high 100s. So I decided that maybe be he rebounding from a low and to tried to decrease his dose to 0.25 for a few days. However, based on the numbers of my curve SO FAR, with the pre shot being in the 300s for the first time, and my +5 being 140 already, I am wondering if I should go back to 0.5. I didn't have 6 cycles yet, I think this is our 4th cycle, but my issue is I am leaving next Friday out of the country f0r 10 days. My pet sitter is coming over tonight to learn how to give insulin, and I want to make sure I teach her to give the optimal dose, as I do not want her to adjust anything while I am away.
Having said that, I realize that PS of 300 and nadir of what seems to be around 100 at +3 hours isn't horrible for the SLGS regimen. With the 0.5 units, he did go as low as 68 (see curve from last week), but he recovered. I am not sure if it is better to err on the low or high side when I am away. The other thing is, 0.5 units is also easier for my pet sitter to measure. So I am leaning towards putting him back on 0.5 starting tonight and monitoring him next week sporadically when I can (at night like I have been), and having her give 0.5 while I am away. I will teach her how to check sugar, but she is only going to come twice a day for a half hour to feed and give medicine. So she won't be doing curves, which I wouldn't want her to anyway because as Frosty is feeling better and is more comfortable with his new home, he is starting to resist sugar checks
Thanks! Any advice is appreciated.
Again, Frosty is a former STRAY and we know nothing about his history. He has been with me for 5-6 weeks. 8-10 year old, on wet fancy feast paté. we are using ALPHATRACK 2 meter and lantus. THANKS!