2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Normal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Good Morning LL,

+11 305
AMPS 310
Fed and shot .5

Left her iolated last night and today. I dont understand why her numbers are going up :sad: ,Could it be the food I leave with her overnight?




Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 2/10 Enana +11 305, AMPS 310 Food question.

what you're seeing is typical. today is cycle 6 on this dose. if it's possible, get a mid-cycle spot check. depending on how today goes, you might want to take the dose up to 0.75u tonight.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana +11 305, AMPS 310 Food question.

Hi Jill,

Sadly I cannot do spot checks during the day. I'll see how the +10 and +11's are.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana +11 305, AMPS 310 Food question.

The syringes I've got do not have a .5 mark (bought them but havent received them yet)...so I'm not 100% sure that I'm shooting the right amount consistently.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana +11 305, AMPS 310 Food question.

Good morning, guys! Sorry the numbers aren't cooperating... You hear that Enana? Make your bean happy with some blues today!
 
Re: 2/10 Enana +11 305, AMPS 310 Food question.

It's OK once you get the needles, it will be easier!
Here's the link to photos of the different micro doses in a syringe-
-
http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/

This will shoiw you how it looks--just click on the side pix & they will enlarge!
AMPS numbers are higher due to the dawn phenomena--BGs are usually higher in the am..
Not to worry, it will all come together--Consistancy & Patience!--OK?
Just do the best you can--She is doing well !
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 HELP

Godo afternoon LLs,

AMPS 310, 0.5u

+9 333,

Ketones are 0.9 in the Precision Xtra


I just gave her something to eat.

What else should i do HELP
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 KETONES 0.9 HELP

Where are you at +9? If so, no don't shoot her now and wait for an expert. Sending hugs.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 KETONES 0.9 HELP

0.9 on the precision xtra meter is something to monitor, but nothing to exceptionally worry about yet. DKA will be around 3.5 or above I do believe. Mix lots of water in with her food (what she will tolerate at least) to try to keep her hydrated and to help flush those ketones out of the system. Even though her numbers are in the 300s, make sure she is getting plenty of food since ketones are due to lack of insulin or food or infection.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 KETONES 0.9 HELP Please

SHould i feed her now even when I am entering the +10?

Could this morning be a fur shot?

Should I increase the insulin dose?
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 KETONES 0.9 HELP Please

does she usually eat at this time? Has she eaten normally today? If so, you don't need to feed her now, but you do need to be sure she is still eating normally.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 KETONES 0.9 HELP Ple

how about this: since she is in the high 300's and it is +10, are you able to go ahead and shoot now? I would do the dose increase to 0.75 AND go ahead and shoot early, to give her some insulin to help keep those ketones down. Then you can feed dinner, with extra water. Keep pushing food and liquids, and get another ketone test when you can.

0.9 is not a "panic" number, at least not for most cats (it probably wouldn't even show up on a urine stick yet), but it is trending up and we definitely want to stop that trend.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 KETONES 0.9 HELP Ple

The only thing I would add to what Libby said is to let your vet know that you're getting an increase in the ketone #s. This is more of an FYI than something to panic over. This way, if the vet has other recommendations (e.g., sub-q fluids), you'll know. I also suspect that you'll feel a little better if you let the vet know you're seeing fluctuations in Enana's ketone readings.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 PMPS 387 ?????

I called my vet and let her know. She said to increase the dose to 1, but I followed Libby and gave 0.75.

She is acting fine. I dont know if I'm leaving enough food for her when I leave for work. How many cans do you leave out?
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 KETONES 0.9 HELP Ple

Question for the experts too - I thought you were supposed to let an unregulated cat eat as much as they wanted. To not worry about restriction until the insulin had them better controlled (as long as it was low carb wet food). Am I mistaken?
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 KETONES 0.9 HELP Ple

glad you increased the dose and shot early tonight. you might want to note the +hour you shot on your spreadsheet. tomorrow morning's shot will be due 12 hours from when you shot tonight. you'll have to gradually work shot times back to your desired time, but it's a small price to pay for getting a jump on these ketones. try to get some spot checks and another ketone test tonight.

Karrie and Maverick said:
Question for the experts too - I thought you were supposed to let an unregulated cat eat as much as they wanted. To not worry about restriction until the insulin had them better controlled (as long as it was low carb wet food). Am I mistaken?
generally speaking, we don't want to feed kitty within 2 hours of shot time in order to get a "clean" preshot number... in other words, a preshot number which has not been influenced by a possible food spike.

as far as feeding an unregulated cat as much as they want...
i'm afraid that statement is a product of repeat speak rather than fact. here's a post from Dr. Lisa referencing a previous post from Hillary & Zug (GA) on why the amount food fed should be somewhat controlled.

Here's a really good explanation of why NOT to overfeed/feed until "satisfied":

In general, brain cells do not need insulin to utilize glucose. A specific area of the brain, called the appetite center (in the hypothalamus), monitors the amount of glucose that circulates in the bloodstream. The lower the blood glucose level in the cells in the appetite center the greater the appetite. Unlike most of the brain cells, the ability of glucose to enter the cells of the appetite center is dependent upon insulin. In diabetes mellitus, with its lack of adequate insulin in the bloodstream, these appetite center cells don't monitor glucose levels properly, thinking the blood glucose is low. as a result, the pet develops polyphagia to correct for this perceived problem. The additional food that is then eaten further increases the blood glucose level.

from: lbah.com
http://lbah.com/feline/diabetes.htm#Pathophysiology

Basically, a cat that's unregulated can't really tell what's going on with its appetite, and the high BGs make the cat even hungrier. It's something of a balancing act -- you want to be sure you're feeding sufficient food that the cat is getting the nutrition it needs, especially to help reduce the risk of ketoacidosis, but you don't want to overfeed (which often happens when the cat is "hungry"). The poor cat doesn't know if it really needs food, it just knows that its brain is saying "need food now!".
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 KETONES 0.9 HELP Ple

Thanks Jill, I set the clock back an hour :) I'm bookmarking this too.

I dont want to overfeed her but I dont know how much to feed her. She and Gordo always free-feed dry food. :_(

She is about 7.5 pounds. In her website Dr. Lisa says that a cat of about that weight should be getting 125 calories....Somewhere I saw a table that has the carb, proteine, fat and caloric content of wet food but I cannot seem to find it. :(

Thanks everyone for your thoughts and help.

Enana's +2 is 335, Ketones down to 0.4 :)
 
Re: 2/10 Enana AMPS 310, +9 333 +10 362 KETONES 0.9 HELP Ple

Just checking in...you're doing great Natalia and you've got great people advising you. Hoping to see some good numbers for Enana tonight and the ketones coming down.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335, Ketones dropped to

this page has links to the following DIET-RELATED DOCUMENTS:

Canned Cat Foods Table -- US
Dry Cat Foods Table -- US
Non-US foods, canned and dry
Food Table Questions & Answers
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335, Ketones dropped to

That's the table! Gosh I have looked for it like crazy!

Thanks Jill!
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 HELP

tESTED HER AT +3 GOT 373, retested her a second later and got 342.

Why is her glucose raising again???

Could it be that she was playing?

What should I do??
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 HELP

Sometimes when you raise the dose, the numbers will go up....it's called new dose wonkiness (NDW). It shouldn't last for more than a day. Also, there can be up to 20% variance in the meter readings..so those numbers are really pretty much the same. She is pretty flat, but that is not unusual for a dose increase cycle.

Keep up the good work! You're doing a great job, I know it's unnerving to see the higher numbers, but try to breathe....
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

Thanks Laurie.

Should I test again at +4? Im so afraid of Ketones. So afraid.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

You are doing a good job staying on top of the ketones, with the blood ketone testing you get an earlier warning than you would with just urine testing. I don't have direct experience with ketones, so I would defer to what Libby, Sienne and Jill have told you. I believe that Jill said to get another ketone test tonight (which you did) and a few spot checks. If you want to get a +4, that's fine...you don't need to test all night though, you should get some sleep!

It would be fine to offer some food....add some water to it too.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

I'm glad to see the ketone's coming down.

You might want to pick up a box of Ketostix. Rather than spending a fortune on the Precision strips, a box of 100 Ketostix is about $15. The test is not as precise as the meter and you have to catch your cat in the litter box, but the cost is so much less. Once things settle down with Enana's ketones, using the urine strips may be a good option.

Food will also help with ketones. I'm glad you found Dr. Lisa's formula. Is Enana's weight where you want it to be? You may need to adjust the calories if you want her to gain weight.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

I bought the Ketostixs but I cannot imagine getting close to her while she pees. She is a very shy girl.

She is not in the weight I would like her to be. She has lost about 4 pounds.All of this has been so fast. A month ago, she had the most beautiful, perfect, shinny fur. She got sick so fast.

Thank you for helping me ladies.

Should I give her 0.75 dose tomorrow morning too?
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

I stopped by to say hello and good work! Usually you want stable doses -- but if you don't get a firm answer tonight, get a +11 or +11.5 and post in the morning.
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

You want to hold the current 0.75u dose. It's your new dose. Just remember, you need to adjust your shot time in the AM given the early shot this evening.

If you want to use the Ketostix, others can give you some tricks. Apparently, Gabby isn't anywhere near as shy as Enana!
 
Re: 2/10 Enana PMPS 387, +1 371, +2 335,+ 3 373 and 342 Norm

Oh, there's tricks for getting urine tests...you don't have to stand there if she won't cooperate with that. I'm lucky, Tinkles has no modesty! :mrgreen:

Yes, shoot 0.75u again in the morning.

I see Sienne already answered...I got booted off the board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top