2/10 Disco AMPS 302,+3 278, +6 337, +11 390, PMPS 315, +2.3 206, +11 344

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday 2/9: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...18-pmps-228-3-217-11-294.225429/#post-2523868
Well, we’re starting the 2nd cycle on the reduced dose of 2.75, looking forward to seeing if this dose works for Disco this time around.

I think I am going to start using the timed feeder for so Disco can snack while I’m asleep (even though all 3 cats sleep with me and I prefer not to separate them) to see if that can help get his numbers into to blue more often. In the past the couple times I used it when I was going to be gone overnight I never got around to putting it away for a few days, I recall when Disco heard the motor start, he would hop out of bed to see if there was any morsels there LOL. What are others experiences when they started snacks in the PM cycle.
 
Last edited:
I tried the snack set up in the auto feeder in the middle of the night in hopes of getting Luci's numbers down a bit by the AMPS - it didn't work for her. Let's hope someone else had a better result by offering a night-time snack. The objective is of course to help regulate that blood sugar a bit...Luci doesn't read the rule book at all...

Congratulations on the reducie! I hope Disco works that juice :)
 
Freckles OWNS the automatic feeder despite there being 3 other cats in the house. In fact, I moved her bed very close to the feeder so she can guard it. I don't know about the feeder helping with the blues... but I think Freckles is resistant to insulin so that's another whole different deal. But I do like that she can eat small snacks during the day when I'm at work and also at night. Numerous forum members said that small snacks throughout the day/night are easier on her little body.
 
Freckles OWNS the automatic feeder despite there being 3 other cats in the house. In fact, I moved her bed very close to the feeder so she can guard it. I don't know about the feeder helping with the blues... but I think Freckles is resistant to insulin so that's another whole different deal. But I do like that she can eat small snacks during the day when I'm at work and also at night. Numerous forum members said that small snacks throughout the day/night are easier on her little body.

i've also read that food should be given only before nadir, so that confuses me. is one supposed to feed "meals" before nadir but some amount of nibbling/snacking/grazing through the day is okay?
 
You should use this opportunity to catch up on sleep for the sleepless nights ahead! :D
Oh no… What do you know that I don’t know? I know I’m on TR but do you really think they’ll recommend me trying to go up to 3 again? Or will they have me do that “skinny” stuff which I have trouble seeing anyway even with my lighted magnifying glass and light box LOL
 
i've also read that food should be given only before nadir, so that confuses me. is one supposed to feed "meals" before nadir but some amount of nibbling/snacking/grazing through the day is okay?
Yes I just read that note about grazing only before nadir and to tell the truth haven’t quite figured out what Disco’s nadir is yet
 
i've also read that food should be given only before nadir, so that confuses me. is one supposed to feed "meals" before nadir but some amount of nibbling/snacking/grazing through the day is okay?


The post on " not " feeding after the nadir was just in regards to trying to steer the numbers and prevent the cat from diving at the onset. Feeding after the nadir or maybe +4 after the onset is fine, it just doesn't serve the same purpose (and it can sort of burn up the insulin that was dosed and shorten the duration).
 
The post on " not " feeding after the nadir was just in regards to trying to steer the numbers and prevent the cat from diving at the onset. Feeding after the nadir or maybe +4 after the onset is fine, it just doesn't serve the same purpose (and it can sort of burn up the insulin that was dosed and shorten the duration).

i am really confused now.

(a) what does one do with cats that are grazers ?
(b) didn't someone say that spreading out meals over the course of the day is beneficial to the extent that it doesn't cause large BG spikes?
(c) i find that large gaps between meals (more than 8 hours) gives bandit acidity and she tends to puke out bile.
 
i am really confused now.

(a) what does one do with cats that are grazers ?
(b) didn't someone say that spreading out meals over the course of the day is beneficial to the extent that it doesn't cause large BG spikes?
(c) i find that large gaps between meals (more than 8 hours) gives bandit acidity and she tends to puke out bile.

I'm not sure what you mean...there is no harm in feeding small, frequent meals. It is frequently recommended- as you said. I don't think that feeding after the Nadir causes large BG spikes and that's not what the post I read said.
I just meant that the point of the post that mentioned feeding before the nadir and with the onset was for slowing those larger drops that some pets have at the onset and before their usual nadir.
 
I'm not sure what you mean...there is no harm in feeding small, frequent meals. It is frequently recommended- as you said. I don't think that feeding after the Nadir causes large BG spikes and that's not what the post I read said.
I just meant that the point of the post that mentioned feeding before the nadir and with the onset was for slowing those larger drops that some pets have at the onset and before their usual nadir.


argghhh! :-) i think we're saying the same thing without realizing it.
i saw a post that said feeding after the nadir can reduce the duration of insulin. i presume that doesn't apply to snacking/grazing? or it does but cannot be helped?
 
I don't think that feeding after the Nadir causes large BG spikes and that's not what the post I read said.
You can see large spikes to preshot if duration is shortened by feeding carbs after nadir. The recommendation is small meals, preferably before nadir. It's fine if cat is a grazer, that's a hard habit to break. If you must feed after nadir (and I did if I wanted to keep my fingers :p) then as low a carb as possible. You might wish to read this post on Feeding the Curve, which is making sure there is fresh food on board to slow any fast drops at onset.
 
argghhh! :) i think we're saying the same thing without realizing it.
i saw a post that said feeding after the nadir can reduce the duration of insulin. i presume that doesn't apply to snacking/grazing? or it does but cannot be helped?

I think as Wendy said it might depend on the cat first and the carb content also. I don't noticed large spikes in my guy, but we feed the No carb/ Low carb after +4 or just broiled chicken.
When I was carb loading Makoto at the shot time- that's when I was trying to " feed the curve". I guess it depends on what they are grazing on and the individual cat. Bandit doesn't seem to have huge spikes to me but I don't know when she really snacks :)
 
You can see large spikes to preshot if duration is shortened by feeding carbs after nadir. The recommendation is small meals, preferably before nadir. It's fine if cat is a grazer, that's a hard habit to break. If you must feed after nadir (and I did if I wanted to keep my fingers :p) then as low a carb as possible. You might wish to read this post on Feeding the Curve, which is making sure there is fresh food on board to slow any fast drops at onset.

Thanks for clarifying.


I think as Wendy said it might depend on the cat first and the carb content also. I don't noticed large spikes in my guy, but we feed the No carb/ Low carb after +4 or just broiled chicken.
When I was carb loading Makoto at the shot time- that's when I was trying to " feed the curve". I guess it depends on what they are grazing on and the individual cat. Bandit doesn't seem to have huge spikes to me but I don't know when she really snacks :)

Bandit is eating only YA Zero kibble for the last month. I get her to eat a bulk of her food in 2-3 small meals every half hour starting pre-shot. She does nibble on it a couple of times at night and once during the day. For her, onset is at +2, nadir around +4/+5, then she goes higher and dips again at pre-shot.

You're not carb loading Makoto at pre-shot any more?
 
Thanks for clarifying.

Bandit is eating only YA Zero kibble for the last month. I get her to eat a bulk of her food in 2-3 small meals every half hour starting pre-shot. She does nibble on it a couple of times at night and once during the day. For her, onset is at +2, nadir around +4/+5, then she goes higher and dips again at pre-shot.

You're not carb loading Makoto at pre-shot any more?

No, I haven't been. It seemed like it stopped making a difference once he hit that patch of higher numbers.
We just feed the 3% and broiled chicken/eggs during the day and Zero carb overnight.

Yesterday 2/9: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...18-pmps-228-3-217-11-294.225429/#post-2523868
Well, we’re starting the 2nd cycle on the reduced dose of 2.75, looking forward to seeing if this dose works for Disco this time around.

I think I am going to start using the timed feeder for so Disco can snack while I’m asleep (even though all 3 cats sleep with me and I prefer not to separate them) to see if that can help get his numbers into to blue more often. In the past the couple times I used it when I was going to be gone overnight I never got around to putting it away for a few days, I recall when Disco heard the motor start, he would hop out of bed to see if there was any morsels there LOL. What are others experiences when they started snacks in the PM cycle.

My guy also recognizes the sound of the feeder now , so at night I know he runs in there to get his snacks. When I am home...he seems a bit confused, like ' why can't you just feed me', but he doesn't wake me up for meals.

Paws crossed you see some movement tomorrow on this dose :)
 
Back
Top