2/10 Boomer AMPS 122 +3 72 +5.5 86 PMPS 86 +3 79 yay we have green!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 122 shooting .75u
Nothing is working to get these PS numbers down. Got a new vial of insulin because the old one was 8 months old. Nothing. Tried moving the snack to +8.5. Nothing. Tried giving a snack at +6 and a meal at +9. Nothing. I was going to try giving a slightly higher carb, 4%, at snack time but realized that's what he had last night. Nothing. And his numbers were better on .1u. Seriously considering taking him back there to see what happens. Have seen a couple of kitties lately get higher numbers on more juice.
 
Typically it's not recommended to drop the dose down but Booms is an ECID case. :confused: Personally I don't see any harm in trying it and worse case you return to the current dose. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
sorry it is so frustrating.. we all want good numbers for our kitties and when we do everything we can and more and it doesnt happen it feels like we failed... but we didnt and you havent... you will get him more green and figure this out for him... deep breath you got this... come on Boomer help a bean out buddy... prayers for Allen :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If it were me and was going to try it I'd drop all at once, hold the dose for a good 4-6 cycles and go from there. To me, with meter variance his numbers haven't changed much regardless of dose.
 
My theory is...worse case you go back up. Best case, it works and Boomer has another party! ETA: Any lurkers, this is just for Boomer as ECID and would not normally be suggested so do not follow dosing.
 
He's getting nice nadirs on this dose. Dropping the dose doesn't usually help the numbers, unless kitty was seriously overdosed - ie. vet started dose too high or caregiver did not increase safely (which you do). Sometimes cats just need more juice.

If you want to try the cut back experiment (I did once and it failed then too), make sure you check for ketones and don't hold the lower dose long if you see numbers creeping up. In Neko's case it was possible due to her SRT (radiation therapy) that she did suddenly needed less insulin. But she didn't - just needed more juice. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top