2/10 Akane - PMPS 384, +3 282, +5.5 112, +7.5 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

dosgatos

Member Since 2010
Thank you for your posts on his morning post. This morning

He was AMPS 289, +4 364, +8 372.. I am very sad.. I dosed him the same amount but felt more "length" when I pushed the plunger.. Why does he keep rising..? Will hold the dose and do spot check at around +3 and +6.

ETA
If that is insulin resistance, how can it be broken?
 
Re: 2/10 (in Japan) Akane - PMPS 384

dosgatos said:
Thank you for your posts on his morning post. This morning

He was AMPS 289, +4 364, +8 372.. I am very sad.. I dosed him the same amount but felt more "length" when I pushed the plunger.. Why does he keep rising..? Will hold the dose and do spot check at around +3 and +6.

ETA
If that is insulin resistance, how can it be broken?
when a kitty is showing insulin resistance, we gradually increase the dose until we see a break through.
it looks like there's room to increase the dose, but see how the rest of the cycle goes tonight before adding a drop or two to akane's dose.
 
Re: 2/10 (Japan) Akane - PMPS 384, +3 282, +5.5 112

Thank you for bumping and welcome, Karrie. Thank you, Jill. He dropped.. Full of "!?" and "?" in my head ..
 
Re: 2/10 (Japan) Akane - PMPS 384, +3 282, +5.5 112

it's probably the middle of the night there, but can you retest at +6.5 to see if akane has dropped any lower?
it would be good to know how low this dose is taking him.
 
Re: 2/10 (Japan) Akane - PMPS 384, +3 282, +5.5 112

Isn't amazing how just when you feel most frustrated with a dose, our kitties have a breakthrough? Reading your first post, it so echoed my frustrations over the past two months. Just remember... it's a marathon. :-D Good luck! And remember... Akane may well have a bounce off of the low numbers seen in this cycle. It is part of the process, and while frustrating, is to be expected. Akane will hopefully start clearing them quicker and quicker as time goes on.

Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 2/10 (Japan) Akane - PMPS 384, +3 282, +5.5 112

Jill, sorry I just tested and it was 87 at +7.5 after eating 0.7oz of food and pooped.. Will test him again. Thanks for the encouragement, Christie!

ETA
He is 152 at +8.
 
you mentioned how difficult it is to measure doses accurately because you do not have access to syringes marked with half units. i'm wondering if you might be able to get some half unit marked syringes if you were to contact a human doctor, pediatrician, or children's hospital. syringes with half unit markings are often used for measuring small doses for children.

it's good to see the bounce has broken! hold the dose until we can figure out a method for you to measure doses consistently.


edited to add:
never mind what i said about finding half unit marked syringes. laurie just told me you've ordered Monoject syringes, but they were stopped at customs and that you've filed a form and are waiting to get them. bet you can't wait until they're released to you!
 
Jill's suggestion is great!

One other thing that we often suggest when people have someone taking care of their cat if they are traveling, is to set up a sample syringe. In your situation, using some colored liquid and fill a used syringe to the desired amount. You can then compare your Lantus syringe to the sample syringe. This may help you to be more consistent with your dose until you get the half unit syringes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top