2/1 Tessie Lou AMPS 328 - Is it a bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Last night's post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35732

Good morning everyone, we are SO snowed in today, along with half the country I hear. It's really beautiful!

Tessie Lou had her lowest AMPS ever yesterday (201), since going on Lantus 1/17. So, I was getting excited, thinking she was trending down again on the same dose. Now, I don't know what to think, other than it's just a bounce from yesterday. Our follow up vet visit for brother T.J. (lily poisoning survivor) is scheduled for tomorrow, but I'm thinking not gonna happen with this snow storm we're having. Vet said we would talk about Tessie's next step then. If she wants to leave her dose alone for awhile longer, does anyone see a down side to doing that?
 
It could be a bounce on the 112..Or Tessie Lou maybe going lower at night & bouncing in the am--The essential tests for lantus,
which would be a mini curve, would be amps, +3, +6, PMPS, and at very least a test before going to bed--Or if you can in the evening, do a +2 & + 4 before bed test...
Moonie for many yrs. was always dropping during the daytime, recently she has started to drop in the evening!! So I need to test her now a bit more at night--
She is doing just fine--We have dosing helpers here so you could ask if they feel you should increase the dose--
Dose increases and reductions are done by 0.25U increments...Please check with us here, before you change the dose--OK?
 
I think there's a good chance it's a bounce. From what it looks like, Tessie Lou isn't used to spending time in the blues. She's seen some blue but may not yet be used to spending at least 6 hours in blue numbers and, like Roni notes, she may not be used to being in the lower blues. Now, the interesting thing to keep an eye on will be how long it takes for the bounce to clear.

I wouldn't do anything with dose until the bounce clears. You've been at this dose for a while, so once we know where Tessie Lou's numbers are at, you may want to evaluate the dose.

Since you're seeing some blue numbers, it becomes even more important to get at least a before bed test. Many cats seem to have lower numbers during the PM cycle so getting those tests routinely is essential for safety reasons.

We're in the early stages of that same storm that you've had. It's nasty!
 
Thanks Roni and Sienne,
I just did a +6 and she was 224, so hopefully she's cleared the bounce already. I'll be curious to see where she is at PMPS time. I'll try for a +2 and maybe a +4 tonight to see how low she's going at night. I hope she gets used to blues soon so we can omit this bounce business. I'll be sure and post before I change a dose--I want my vet and this board to be pretty much in agreement on her treatment plan, if possible. So far, she has been very open to learning more about feline diabetes--for example, she asked me to bring in a SoloStar pen when I come because she's never seen one and wanted to be able to recommend it to others! So, I feel we're in good hands. :smile:

Sienne, hope you're braced for your weather. It looks like you guys are going to get a lot more than us! Stay safe!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top