Re: 2/1 Terra +12 87 +13 85 +13.5 98 late shot
Good morning Karen:
I'm a little late getting started but am also much further west than you are. Great job this morning!!! What a wonderful AMPS for Terra and you did super by stalling.
It would also help us track her today if you could please update your subject line when you get a chance. I believe you shot the 98 so it would look like this:
2/1 Terra +13 85 AMPS 98 +1 96
That way we can easily see (quickly) if we need to hop in your condo to offer any suggestions. Thanks!!!
As I was reading through your earlier posts and saw the peeing small amounts frequently, I knew that she is having some kind of cystitis. Sienne is correct that the majority of cystitis episodes are caused more by stress than infection. Gracie had chronic sterile cystitis for a couple years....meaning never any infection or crystals present. We were very blessed to have found a vet that was able to determine the cause was high levels of aluminum in her system and once she detoxed her, she has not had another episode. That doesn't mean that's the issue for every kitty with cystitis. Unfortunately, vets automatically throw antibiotics at the condition and kitties, like people, shouldn't have antibiotics they don't need. But if kitty presents with the symptoms, it takes a few days to get a C&S back from the lab and if it IS a urinary tract infection, then you've lost a couple days of treatment so vets treat the symptoms and not the cause. Sienne has given you good info on testing for bacteria; however, once you start the antibiotics, it doesn't do any good to test and most vets won't....and you should save the money. She is also on target on the pain med. The other thing I would highly recommend is that while she is on amoxi, it would help her to have acidophilus so it doesn't upset the balance of her good bacteria. You can get Fortiflora and sprinkle it on her food...most cats love it. Lastly, infection can affect the BG; usually we see it go up so it's interesting that hers is down today. The amoxi won't affect her numbers.
Thanks for working to improve your SS for us to read. Cathy has a good idea, however, for those of us helping you or looking back on your SS, the actual times of the tests don't mean alot to us since we are all in different time zones. If you think of the clock being divided into four sections, then if 15 minutes has passed, it's .25 of the hour. I shoot on the hour so if I test at 15 mins after, then it would be, for example, +6.25; 30 mins after would be +6.5; 45 mintues after would be +6.75. I don't stall with Gracie on levemir but if you click on the link to her SS and then click on the "Gracie's Lantus SS" and scroll down to 8/15/11, you'll see a good example of how to do it and how to report if you don't shoot; since you shot at +13.5 today, in the AMPS column I would put 98 @ +13.5 so we know how long you stalled. You can see an example of this on 8/17/11 on Gracie's Lantus SS.
Thanks Karen...have a great day. Hope she feels better.