2/1 - Ruby

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 155
Beautiful blue!

Should I wait an hour and see how much of a food spike she gets before I shoot?
 
When they test low like that, we wait to feed so we can test again in 20-30 minutes to be sure they are rising before determining dose. If you've already fed her, test in 20 minutes (before food hits bloodstream).
 
I tested her right at 5:00 and fed her. She's eaten about half of her serving. Its now 5:50 and she tested at 244.
She's a little on the quiet side this morning but was really eager to eat when I got up.
 
I'm thinking this morning I might need to err on the side of caution and skip the dose. She was lower this morning (at +12 from last night's shot) than she was at +5 last night.
This is one of the times the numbers don't make sense to me. Shouldn't she be higher at +12 than she was at +5? Its not the first time this has happened.
 
It can mean the pancreas is helping out. If so, that is wonderful but does confuse the whole picture.

The usual advice is to give a token dose, as long as she is rising. But can the food be causing the rise? If you aren't sure, I would skip.
 
She was a little quiet this morning and while she ate most of her food, she didn't dive into it face first like she has been lately. Between that and knowing that I won't be able to get home mid day to check her, I skipped the dose. I'm going to put together my notes today and send them and the curve charts over to the vet.
 
I didn't get a chance today to compile all my notes and send them Dr. K. My Boss #1 is out of the office tomorrow, so I should be able to get it done then. I will let you all know what Dr. K says when I hear back. I'm hoping to go in and have a face to face with her. I'm a visual thinker so I think it will be easier for us to talk in person. I'm willing to pay for a regular office visit.

I ended up not dosing Ruby this morning because I wasn't sure where she was headed. I still don't get why she'll come in lower at +12 than she does at +5. She's done it more than once.

Anyway, PMPS was 407. Not shocking at all. She had a good dinner of FF and a bit of playing. She's perked up from where she was this morning and at +4 tonight she's 184. I'm hoping for a decent number in the morning so we can get back on track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top