2/1 Ruben pmps 308 +2 380

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/1 Ruben +3 315 +5 85 +5.75 103 +6.25 135

thank you so much guys, i trying my absolute hardest.
it just kills me to see him just lying there and so so so needy of me. he wont leave my side...at all, its indearing but i know its cause he feel crappy. my huge heart feels like its getting ripped out of my chest. im grateful you guys understand my love and validate it. i need that and i super need these words of encouragement. honestly, swear to god could not do this w/o you all. thank you. i just want peace for him and i. hes so sweet and tender, always makes me feel better when i hurt and want to do the same for him, seeing his little body all tucked in not moving all day, tortures me.
i love you ruben
i can do this for you tho buddy, i have to and i will
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben +3 315 +5 85 +5.75 103 +6.25 135

Alternative interpretation: Ruben is glued to you because you're upset -- not because he feels bad. Cats can be very empathic. Ruben cares as much about you as you do about him. If you're upset, he'll do what he can to comfort you. Cuddling works for you both. Most cats hide when they're sick. He's not hiding!
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben +3 315 +5 85 +5.75 103 +6.25 135

RubenTheCat said:
thank you, you can never say it enough. never

I don't have the knowledge, experience, or confidence to perhaps ever give more than suggestions when it comes to dosing advice, but I'm always willing to be your own personal cheerleader whenever you need it!
:RAHCAT Just as Ruben needs the insulin, Mamma needs (and deserves) the accolades and support. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben +3 315 +5 85 +5.75 103 +6.25 135

OH SAM! I AGREE WITH SIENNE! Most cat's DO hide when they feel bad...look who you've got beside you!

ANOTHER HAPPY DANCE!!! (...and breathe again....)
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

pmps 308 confused, maybe .25 but will i be testing all night on that amount, could i do less to be safer? so cofused. syring feeding sucks but he does eat at night, but he also tends to drop faster at night, hasnt eaten a whole lot either. ugh so confused. left hand now icy and numb, not an excuse, just stating fact, vet says do not soot, but i trust you guys more
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Sam,
This is, as always, totally "your call". My opinion though, is that .25u on a 300 is fine.
Try to see if he wants to eat anything on his own between now and 10:30.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Sam

Just popping in to check on you all. Would Ruben benefit from .25u. Yes. But you have to decide based on how you are and what you can deal with. Your health must come first.

If you shoot, I'd get a +2. I will try to check back later. Hugs.
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

You will want to test again at +2 and +3. That should factor into your decision. After +3, that will depend on his numbers up to that point.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

I agree with Sienne, too. My kitties, as much as we love each other...when they feel yucky, they do not want to be around me, and get annoyed when I hover. Ruben is returning his love to you by being near you, to comfort you. What a very special boy you have there!!!
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

kk gonna do it, carl will u st6ay w me? marje- you put it great perspective
pray for us both. right hand twitch came back and right is now numb, but im stronger thaan my symptoms, im that little engine carl. nervous when my vet checks my ss lol give him zofran too? he's due
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Sam,

Yes, I am not working tomorrow and I can stay up as late as you need me to.
Not sure on the zofran but I'm finding out.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Sam,

Is this Ruben first dose of Zofran or has he had it already in the past couple of days?

If your vet prescribed it, and you give the prescribed amount, it should be fine to give to him.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

kk its done im commited now. sometimes the hard choice is the right one. to be honest it might have been a little less than .25u i put the plunger a hair higher than the picture, but its all a educated guess anyway. i gave him 3 temptation treats just to be safe, i know not the greates but aatleast he eats those on his own. tho i used to think those treats added to the blood after poo, but i never knew for sure. again pray please-manifest. im trying to feel good besides the neurolgia...lol
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

carl- he's been on it since wed night, gonna wait an hour give him and me a break
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Read back to all that "breathing advice" earlier Sam. It'll help. This is not a big huge deal, really. It's a very small dose of insulin. We aren't looking for Ruben to take a dive into the 50's here. We're just trying to get some insulin into his system to lessen the risks of anything that can happen without the insulin there.
You don't need to test him again for a couple of hours. Just keep an eye on him. Don't force him to eat right now, but allow him to if he shows any interest.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

I'd also encourage you to keep Libby's suggestion in mind: keep a log of how much Ruben eats. If he's grazing, by the time you total up how much he's eaten, you may be surprised how much a bite now and then adds up to.
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

I'm on Pacific time so it's still early for me. Plus I don't work on the weekends, so you've got me all night long cheering on with MJ. :-D
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Just checking back in between gifts and cake while I post Gracie.

Good job!!! I'm proud of you for being so brave when I know you aren't feeling well. I'll pop back in at your +2.

Thanks Carl, Sienne, MJ, Kay.
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

To emphasize Sienne's point, Sam...

How much does Ruben weigh? You definitely need to try to keep track of his daily intake of food. All those little meals and syringes full add up. As long as he eats enough calories, it doesn't matter whether it's in big servings or a dozen small feedings. As long as you can get it into him. I'd highly recommend the "keep a log" idea.
In yesterday's (I think) condo, people mentioned MaxCal and a/d as possible higher calorie sources of nutrition. Go back and reread that.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

what does someone say to truely convey what you all mean for me. THANK YOU. could. not. do. this. with. out. you. all. i would be in stroke mode. the love is beyond words.
no words can truley express how eternally gratefull i am. you are all gonna get good karma from this, i promise the universe knows
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

oh guess who just went and took a few bites......oh we are good manifester's people
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

ha, ruben wanted cake too!

carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

I think we've all been in your shoes, and now is our chance to pay it forward.
This is a beautiful place.

I have a baby scale if you want to borrow it for a while to track Ruben's weight. Or maybe that's just another set of data to obsess over... :roll: Let's see what people think.

MJ
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

mj- thank you, either way no matter what at some point, i would like to meet you especially since were close. thank you for your generosity. all i can offer is im a good cook, if you'll eat veggie. and you can count on me to watch your animals if you go on vaca.
ruben just took few licks. he's a night feeder, like his mom..lol
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

i want to pos this b4 i test, just incase...lol
marje- im much better than i was earlier, i re grouped at the moment and trying to surf on that. apparently the days are more stressfull concidering he tends to only eat at night, thank you all on impressing apon me the importance of doing the second dose. i knew it was right, despite what my vet said. he seems more alert at night too. i know cats are nocternal but i think the bupe makes him too lathargic, who knows, i also dont want to not give him pain med if he hurts but think im gonna hold off on the evening shot. seems better tonight without it than how he was with it. going to check. pray.
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

+2 380? < what does this mean?
he's taking a few more bites?
feel like i should pull his food so he'll eat in the morning, bu he's still behind on what he supposed to get. he didnt eat all day and now night time and he's grazing?
do i have to do the +3 test now that he's high? weird, did not expect a higher number
btw- the food is gravy lovers mixed with fancy feast classic (he will only eat gl and wanted to dilute it a but with the reg fancy feast?
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

Hmmm, up a little but not drastically. could be that the dose hasn't hit "onset" yet. Let me think about the +3, but at this point, do not worry. Good that he's decided to be a grazer!
Remember the 3 factors with DKA, which is what we've been concerned about. Enough food, enough insulin, and no infection are the 3 things that will help keep the ketones away.
He's gotten insulin.
He's eating at least some.
And we're not aware of any infection at this time.

So those are three good things. The numbers aren't the only thing in this puzzle, Sam.

Carl
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308

That's ok...with meter variance, that's ok and if he's eaten, could be a food spike. I think it's going to be a slow night if he eats. If you can get a +3 and he's still going up, you could go to bed.

Too late, Carl :lol:
 
+3 it is. could not have done this w/o you guys. i dont think you all really understand the gravity of when i say could not be the person ruben deserves w/o your help. its late and your all still here i feel you all with me now. no words guys. your my biggest exhale of the day. thank you
 
LOL, I thought too long! Thanks Marje. And I agree. I was going to say get a +3, or go to bed now and wake up for a quick +6, but your way is better and safer.

Did you save me a piece of cake?


Sam,
This is good. You got a dose into him, and if we can continue at this dose twice a day, it will help. The numbers might show that he needs a higher dose at some point in the next few days. But by that point, he'll hopefully be eating normally and none of this will be as stressful and traumatic.

One day at time Sam. Give Ruben a pat on the head from me.

Carl
 
Let's see what the number is first. If it's only a few point difference, no biggie.

One day hour at time, Sam ;-)

Carl
 
he's eating his newmans organic kibble now. apparently he's a carb junkie. only few bites. keep food out? nervous he wont eat at am sot time?
 
Yes, you can leave food out. Just try to quantify how much he eats overall.
 
And remember...patience Grasshopper ;-) ;-) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ok...you all have this under control and I promised I'd only hop on quick.

Good night...I will check in tomorrow.

Carl...you would have loved the cake.
 
Sam,
Have you tried syringe feeding him tonight? You'll get better results if you can control his input, and the syringed food would be lower carb.

I'm thinking, if he doesn't drop much by +3, try getting a couple syringes full in him, then I think you'll be able to get a few straight hours of sleep before the morning.

Carl
 
Nite Marje!

Somehow the "idea" of cake isn't quite as ful-filling....but it will have to do. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Ruben pmps 308 +2 380 +3 366

+3 366
save to go to bed, thanks again everyone, partically marje-and carl, thank you for your time and concern. means the world to me. thank you
sleep well, and ill see you around 1030 am...lol really tho
thank you. i did it, and honestly didnt think i could, thats b/c of you guys.
 
OK, Sam, leave food out.

And for breakfast, let's try some yummy syringes full of food for him okay?

I'll check in by AMPS time, and I'm sure others will be up and about long before then.

Great job, Samantha. Ruben too!

Carl
 
I'd say "Sam da Man!" but I don't think that really works here. :? :lol:

Awesome shooting tonight, Pardner!
080508-160625-182007.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top