2/1 Rosa AMPS 258 +3 295 +5 106 +7 87 +8 124 PMPS 108 +2 131 +4 42 +4.5 43 +5 40 +5.5 51

Status
Not open for further replies.
No more hc - unless she seems hungry I wouldn't give more food just yet - unless she's hungry or its a usual meal time or something.
 
That's fine - I took the lc away when she dropped low so she wouldn't eat any of it when I needed her to want the gravy. I don't think she's all that hungry - she was just enjoying feeling special and being spoon fed on my lap! I'm thinking test in about half an hour - does that sound about right?
 
I was thinking she's a free fed kitty, it's ok to put the lc back down now so she can have it if she wants - or not - up to +10. Yes check again in half an hour to make sure she is coming up herself and it's not just gravy we're seeing. I think the last lot was a half hour ago wasn't it.
 
OK, I was thinking of holding off just until the next test to make sure she doesn't drop back down again - I need her to be interested in the gravy if she does. That's only about 15 minutes away now and by then it'll be an hour since I last gave her any gravy.
 
Teehee just reading back it sounds like Rosa has really enjoyed her special low number time - what a great kitty :) The numbers she's had tonight are numbers that 'normal' kitties would have it's just that when they're on insulin we've got to make sure that they don't keep going down and get into trouble. If you had taken her to the ER they would probably have filled her full of sugar so it is much better (and cheaper) to manage it yourself which you can do when you're testing.
 
I think she has - no other cats in here to bother her and lots and lots of attention, which she loves. :) She's getting a little tired of the testing and having a little grumble at me, but once she realizes I'm going to test anyway, she settles right down and cuddles. :D I did read that normal kitties can quite often be as low as 40, but of course they're not being forced lower artificially by injected insulin so it makes sense to bring her back up at least a little above that. Our local ER is about $1000 just to walk through the door, so managing it at home is certainly a better option where possible and of course if she gets filled with sugar it'll take days to get her back down to a reasonable level. At least with the gravy, although it's high-carb, it isn't pure sugar so she should (in theory anyway) get back to normal from that faster once she clears whatever bounce she throws me after tonight. :)
 
And we're up to 83 - she's had no food now for the last hour. I'm thinking I'll let her have her lc back now. Do I need to get another test from her before I can assume she'll be OK for the rest of the cycle?
 
That works - we can do that for sure. As long as she's OK at that point, I think we're going to crash for a bit - and probably call it a btb after her shot in the morning too! ;)

He did - he's been helping with giving her cuddles and fetching me anything I need so one of us can stop her getting out of the room while the other one brings back snacks and drinks. :)
 
Well I did have to move from the UK to the US for him, but he's more than worth it! :D I agree, I hadn't done a btb in years until a week ago - now it's the best part of the day...that extra 2 hours sleep makes all the difference. :)

I'll post up the number for her last test, but I'm not expecting anything too terrifying - I'm pretty sure she's going to start a bounce anytime around now after this. Thank you so much for your help tonight - we couldn't have got through it without your level-headed advice. :)
 
Actually I think you could have, your study showed and paid off but you're very welcome - I still remember the rush I had when Vyktor had his first lows and although I had also studied up I was very grateful to have someone holding my hand too :D
 
I agree, it's exciting and terrifying all at the same time. Exciting because she got into really good numbers and earned a dose reduction, but terrifying that I'd do something wrong and she would finish up in the ER or worse. It helped so, so much to have you here advising me on what I don't know and confirming the things I managed to do right. :) Even though I try to make sure I know as much as I can about anything in life I need to deal with, it's very different when I'm effectively holding my precious cat's life in my hands with her needing me to get everything right first time whether she understands what I'm doing or not. Feeling pretty tired now she's back up a bit though so I'm really hoping she doesn't take another dive before the next test - my bed's calling me but I won't leave her until I'm sure she'll be safe until morning. :)
 
And she's up to 123. Probably the start of a bounce, but I'll worry about that in the morning. Heading off to get some sleep now. Again, thank you so much for your help tonight. :)
 
I would only shoot through the bounce at the old dose if she has hit the stinky pinkys at AMPS and if you do only do it once irrespective of her PMPS, otherwise take the reduction immediately

ETA - sorry I'm a bit of a split personality on the board, it's still Vyktors Mum (Serryn), I forgot I was logged in as Purrdy (my mum's cat)
 
Last edited:
good job April and rosa. I can tell you have prepared yourself for this situation. I agree reading everyone elses posts and spreadsheets really helps.
 
Thanks everyone. And Serryn, I'll know to look out for you under both names now thank you - I doubt I could keep up with having 2 separate accounts, much less handling this for 2 different cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top