2/1 Rocky PMPS 301 +2 383 +4 363

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112962

Oh no.. now that the sick stomach has passed, I definitely have some type of flu bug. Have a headaches and stuffed up head, achey all over.

I'm sorry I decided to keep the dose to 1.5u until Monday. Right now I'm too scared to leave Rocky and not be able to monitor him all day long.
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226

Sorry to hear you're feeling bad Tina! Sure hope it's not this "superflu" going around!

Nice sunny start for AMPS Rocky!! Now just gently slide on down to the blue floor!!

Tina, you don't ever have to apologize to us for making a decision that makes you more comfortable. Since you're going to be unable to test for most of the cycle tomorrow, holding the dose is a good idea...then Sunday night or Monday morning you can do the increase.

Try to have a good Caturday, and hope you feel better soon!
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226

Oh, that's a good idea Chris. I will increase Rocky's dose on Sunday night.

Yah, going to feed all of the fosters and then head back to bed for about 1/2 hr. Then get up again to take Rocky's +2.
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 (rt)163

hm.. ok well this is weird. It seems just talking about increasing Rocky's dose has made him dip into the blues, but maybe for only one reading. How strange is that?

Never made it BTB so on my way now until +4.. 2hrs of shut-eye. I need that and even more. I-)
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 (rt)163 +4 76 (rt)82

I don't understand what is happening.. Is this too low for Rocky?

Should I feed Rocky a tsp of high carb food? :roll: I gave Rocky his treat and then retested. It was then 82
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 (rt)163 +4 75 (rt)82

It's a wonderful number! :cool:

No need to whip out the HC at this time.

You do need to keep a close eye on the next few hours. It was a fast drop and you want to be prepared to slow it down if needed.

The goal is for Rocky to surf along at a nice green for as long as possible.

Get a +4.5 and post. When you do post include all details of any feeding Rocky has done so far today.

eta - what does '(rt)' mean?
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 (rt)163

Tina & Rocky said:
hm.. ok well this is weird. It seems just talking about increasing Rocky's dose has made him dip into the blues, but maybe for only one reading. How strange is that?

I think we've all found that the threat often times causes a dip just like what you're experiencing. It's the kitties way of keeping us in check I guess. ;-)
 
Re: HELP! 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 (rt)163 +4 75 (rt)82

Hi Sandy,

Crap. We're going down.. +4.3 is 65.. time to break out the HC?

rt= Retest
 
Re: HELP! Falling- 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 +4 75 +4.3 65

No HC unless he drops below 50

you could give him a TINY snack of low carb food..might help him get up on his surfboard

And it looks like the magic threat of a dosecrease has worked again!! We're sure not going to now! :-D
 
Re: HELP! Falling- 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 +4 75 +4.3 65

Give him 1 tsp of regular food and test in 30mins. and post the results.

You may need to guide the cycle for a few hours so keep him hungry - easy does it with the food - the longer hes stays in this very lovely green range the better.

I've got to hop in the shower right now however will check back here for your next update.
 
Re: HELP! Falling- 2/1 Rocky AMPS 226 +2 100 +4 75 +4.3 65 +

Well, I may have just blown that nice easy slide and stay in the greens.

I got scared when I saw 47 so I fed him 1/4 can of HC and put 1 drop of Karo in it. Should I retrest in 15 minutes or wait 1/2 hour?
 
HELP! 2/1 Rocky AMPS +4 75 +4.3 65 +5 47 +5.15 65

We're back at 65 for 5.15..

I was 1/2 hour late with his 2nd morning meal yesterday, but I did not shift the time I fed him all of his other meals on time.
 
Re: HELP! Falling- 2/1 Rocky AMPS +4.3 65 +5 47 5.15 +65

Great that he's above 50 again, so now you want to not feed him and keep testing for at least another hour. We want to make sure that he doesn't go back down.

Every 30 minutes is enough
 
Re: HELP! Falling- 2/1 Rocky AMPS +4.3 65 +5 47 5.15 +65

Good catch on that 47 this morning Tina! :shock: Congrats on the reduction. I guess Rocky decided he prefers 1.25U :mrgreen: .

Threatening a dosecrease is a very common way to get a cat to go diving. It happens a LOT here. :lol:
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS +4.3 65 +5 47 5.15 +65 +6 122

I couldn't believe it!! That dive freaked me out. I haven't been doing anything different. I bought the Solostar Pen but I haven't used it. Just about finished with this bottle of insulin though. I think maybe I can get one more shot out of it tonight, and then I need to start on another bottle.

This is just too weird. I don't get it.

I feel awful that I'm causing his BG to be like a yo-yo. :sad:

Looks like I fed Rocky too much HC too soon this time, darn it. ohmygod_smile I panicked. I didn't want to run him to the vet because he went too low. I'm still not feeling well and I'm sitting here in my pjs and my robe and I need to take a shower.

It was like, the last time he was at the 1.5u, the dose the vet prescribed, he also did something like this over a few cycles since he was home. He also did this EXACT same thing at the vet where they had to skip a dose or two when he was at the 1.5u.. then he started climbing into the 300s again. We had to decrease, and then his bg was back at this steady 300s again. Poor Rocky.. :sad:

I feel like he is never going to level out into the yellows, blues, or greens.

Am I going to decrease to 1.25u tonight?
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS +4.3 65 +5 47 5.15 +65 +6 122

Tina, we have ALL freaked out at our first low. I don't want to admit what I gave Neko the first time she even went below 100. :oops: But every time we do the low BG dance we learn something. You've learned you can use a lighter hand on the HC next time. Part of this is you learning how carb sensitive Rocky is. Some members can just use higher carb LC, some MC, and some need HC when their cat goes low. You have to experiment to see what works best for Rocky. And Rocky's liver probably panicked too, because of that low.

You have two options for tonight's dose. You could give his new dose of 1.25U. Or you could do something we call "shooting through the bounce" which is to give the old 1.5U dose once only, to help him get over the bounce and then go to 1.25 in the morning. And you only do that if Rocky zooms up between now and PMPS.
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS +4.3 65 +5 47 5.15 +65 +6 122

Tina & Rocky said:
Looks like I fed Rocky too much HC too soon this time, darn it. ohmygod_smile I panicked. I didn't want to run him to the vet because he went too low. I'm still not feeling well and I'm sitting here in my pjs and my robe and I need to take a shower.

He earned a reduction and you caught it.
You aren't feeling well. OK to abort the cycle.
You kept him safe.

It's all good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS +5 47 5.15 +65 +6 122 +7 187

Sandy and Wendy,

It appears right now that his bg is headed upwards for PMPS.

If he is in the 200s at PMPS, should I reduce his dose to 1.25u? If he stays in the 100s at PMPS, should I reduce his dose to 1.25u?

If he is in the 300s at PMPS, should I hold steady at the current dose of 1.5u?

Which cycle is it OK to abort?

Finally getting into the shower now. Those homeless kitties need their clean water and meal too. Will do a +8 for Rocky and then won't be able to do another testing until +10 because I'll be doing the Community Cat circle. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky AMPS +5 47 5.15 +65 +6 122 +7 187

Which cycle is it OK to abort?

She means the current cycle.

Since you DID catch that Rocky went under 50, it's a reduction no matter what after that (unless you do the ONE time "shooting through the bounce)

If he's above 300, I think it'd be fine to give one last dose of 1.5 and take the reduction tomorrow morning.

If he's not above 300, you might want to just go ahead and take the reduction tonight down to 1.25

You panicked a little and fed too much HC which means the rest of his tests on THIS cycle are going to be influenced by that HC food...so instead of continuing to poke Rocky's ears, we "abort" the cycle.

Hopefully some of the more experienced eyes will be along to chime in too before you shoot your PMPS
 
Re: Yikes! 2/1 Rocky AMPS +5 47 5 +65 +6 122 +7 187 +8 307

Poor Rocky.. yes, I fed too much HC. 8 is 307. :-|

I'll wait to hear more and report his PMPG, or sooner, if I am home by then. I won't shoot until I hear more because I'm having mixed feelings about the dosing.

It's obvious I fed him too much HC, while at the same time he was headed down.

I won't be home all day tomorrow. I'm only going to get 3 readings until PMPS,maybe not even the AMPS +1:

Sunday
AMPS
+1
PMPS
+3 or +4
(and the rest I can get because I should be home)
 
Re: Yikes! 2/1 Rocky AMPS +5 47 5 +65 +6 122 +7 187 +8 307

High carb wet food only lasts in the system for a couple of hours. This is likely Rocky's liver objecting to numbers lower than he is used to and bouncing.

If you are worried about tomorrow, you can always go down to the new dose tonight. But your are probably safe to shoot through the bounce if he is high 300's.
 
Re: Yikes! 2/1 Rocky AMPS +5 47 5 +65 +6 122 +7 187 +8 307

BREATHE!!!

Like Wendy noted, pretty much everyone panics when they get their first low numbers. It sounds like your vet even panicked. We don't. Those of us who have been here for a while are used to seeing low numbers and helping you learn how to steer those numbers with food. Vets tend to get nervous with low numbers because they are only used to seeing a cat in crisis. (A lot of vets will tell you to keep a diabetic cat's numbers above 200. We want your cat in better numbers than that.)

Now that things are calmer, you might want to read over and/or print out this post on handling low numbers. It walks you through the process of dealing with low numbers.

You did not cause the spike into the pinks. When a kitty isn't used to spending time in lower/normal BG numbers and numbers either drop into those ranges (or drop fast), the liver and pancreas react. The reaction is a built in safety net since Rocky's body thought this was hypoglycemia and that he was in danger. The result is that his liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones which cause the sharp rise in numbers. It can take some kitties up to 72 hours to clear the bounce.
 
Re: Yikes! 2/1 Rocky AMPS +5 47 5 +65 +6 122 +7 187 +8 307

Thanks guys!

It sounds like if he is NOT in the high 300s in the next few minutes when I take his PMBG that I will want to lower the dose to 1.25u?

It will be interesting to see where he is at.

BTW, that 308 number at AMPS +8 was an immediate retest. The first number I got at +8 was 380 :!:
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMBG 301, what dose?

I would take the reduction to 1.25 tonight. Sometimes the effect of a previous cycle's shot can be seen on the next cycle and you are going to be away for most of tomorrow day so I'd be conservative and take the reduction tonight.
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMPS 301

Thank you Wendy! I did just take the reduction tonight. It did feel safer to take the reduction tonight. :-)
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMPS 301 +2 383

I feel bummed out.. like I really messed things up for Rocky.. here is was in those sunny yellows, and now I've given him too much HC and we reduced his insulin dose tonight.

How much you want to make a bet I see WEEKS of stinky pinky numbers again, and then have to raise it back up to 1.5u again? Just when I thought he might be feeling a bit better.. :-|
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMPS 301 +2 383

Tina, this is a rollercoaster of emotion. We've all been there. I remember the first time Cobb got into the 60s. I panicked and gave HC food. He popped right up. The HC cleared his system and he was fine. You did not cause the spike into the 300s. Rocky's liver is solely responsible for that. It is trying to protect itself. Not from anything you did but because what it sensed was a hypo episode, even though it wasn't.

Cobb has been seeing good numbers and then we had a rash of pink this week. Why? Don't know. It is incredibly frustrating. One minute you're excited because the numbers look great. Then they throw a curveball and you're depressed. We all understand. Remember, you're in this for the long haul. It's not an overnight fix, and the kitties are going to bounce off the low numbers until they learn they are safe.

Think of it like this: you are used to it being 80 degrees outside and suddenly it is 60 all the time. At first you are freezing and you bundle up. You're taking precautions against it being cold. Eventually, if it is 60 long enough, your body will adjust to that temperature and you may start wearing a light jacket instead of a winter coat. That won't happen overnight. But it will happen.

If, IF, Rocky spends the next few days in pink, it won't be anything you did. It will simply mean his body wasn't really ready for the reduction - something you cannot know until the time has passed and the data has collected.
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMPS 301 +2 383

That makes sense. I have a feeling his body isn't ready for the reduction, but that for some reason he took a deep dive down today. I guess time will tell.
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMPS 301 +2 383

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
He earned a reduction and you caught it.
You aren't feeling well. OK to abort the cycle.
You kept him safe.

It's all good :mrgreen:
Hello again :cool:

Sorry for my earlier brevity - I got pinched for time. Let me explain what I meant by ''OK to abort the cycle'.

Rocky hit 47 at +5 and earned himself a reduction, which you caught. That is one very important 'mission accomplished'

It's key to finding the right dose and finding the right dose is key.

Sure, there was the opportunity to learn something about guiding a cycle with food, which takes practice, however in this case it was secondary to catching the signal that a reduction was in order.

And you were not feeling 100% .

In circumstances like this, abort the cycle - once a reduction is earned, bring on the HC - no need to spend the next several hours working at guiding numbers if you need rest.

BK and I had one crazy free fall down the dosing ladder - ~45 units daily to none. There were times where we'd go for 2 weeks solid - cycle after cycle requiring intervention and guidance. I did my fair share of aborting cycles, usually so that I could sleep. Otherwise I was in danger of getting a little too frayed around the edges.

There will be many more opportunities for guiding cycles, many of which may occur on the overnights.... :cool:
Hope you are feeling better,
 
Re: 2/1 Rocky PMPS 301 +2 383

Tina & Rocky said:
I have a feeling his body isn't ready for the reduction, but that for some reason he took a deep dive down today. I guess time will tell.
Keep in mind FD is not the only thing Rocky has going on right now, correct? his other ailments are stressors and can contribute to high BGs
Improvement of any of those other conditions can result in a reduction in the amount of insulin required.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top