





I would say Myagi needs to stay on 0.5u because he is still blue at PS times. If they were all green, then I would have said go ahead and try a reduction, but alas, he is not at this time.
Awesome!!! Gracias!!I don’t see any glucose toxicity, I think that refers to when the numbers are not in a good range and they get comfortable there. His numbers look really good, likely all below renal threshold, but I don’t see a need for a reduction. Like you said, his pm cycles are a bit on the high side for that. If you dropped his dose, likely all those bookend and pm numbers would rise. You want to lower those, not increase them.
If all the numbers aren’t where you want them to be, giving less insulin won’t fix that. I think when it’s clear a cat wants a reduction, it’s pretty obvious and sometimes you can’t stop it no matter how much steering you do (been there, done that). Steering him out of dropping below 50 like your doing, especially if it’s not difficult and is working is a great thing and gives him time to get the other numbers down with more insulin on board. Until the end numbers come down (or he throws you a random lime green despite your best efforts), I would keep this dose. Perhaps do some food experiments trying to lower the pm and preshot numbers.![]()


I think I read that too.... we can play around. He'll like that since he loves loves loves 11 carb.I can't remember who, but someone recently said her cat did better on 8% compared to 0%. Why not experiment?![]()
Myagi's numbers look really good, but I don't think he's ready for a reduction yet. He is still giving you those mid and high blues. The criteria for a reduction is if he drops below 50 or he stays in normal numbers for a week. The longer he stays in good numbers, the more time it gives his body to heal. You're doing a great job managing things with him.



Awesome!!! Gracias!!
When you say food experiment could it be trying a higher carb? Sounds like a stupid question except Myagi eats 0 to 5 carb only as regular (with exception of 6 carb dm was given us and doesn't seem to change his bgs).![]()
I've read some but it always helps to look at things 1) over again and 2) from the perspective of how it applies to you. So please post and thank you!I think anything under 10 carb is still considered low carb. I don't have much personal experience in feeding different carb foods because Asia eats one food only, I manipulate with Karo. Some cats do better on slightly higher carbs. There are a couple of awesome posts about feeding the curve though, want me to post them to your condo? Or have you seen them already?
Look at that face!!!It was @Marje and Gracie that said her pusscat did better on the higher end carbs. She told me that 10 carb could still be considered low carb.



GraciasHere's a couple:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feeding-lowest-zero-carb-vs-lower-carb-foods.144220/
There's others, but mostly referring to bouncy cats.


So what's intriguing is I've already been feeding his curve both by design (osmosis I think) and inadvertently (he's always been a grazer, so accommodating his lifestyle). But other than trying to use the lowest carb possible to raise him (so as not to pull out the big 20 to 30 carb guns and truly impede his progress), i have not looked at his lower carb meals with any intent other than "that's ok to give". The only exception to this is the dm we were recently given. It's 6 carb and I was kind of panicked it was too high fur daily consumption. It hasn't seemed to makes a difference, except maybe it's having a positive impact and I didn't realize??? I'm helicopter and obsessed enough without adding something else. So I will make notes in the written log I keep but unlikely to add to ss. I don't have the resources to play around with his food options, but as a starting point, I can pay attention to and note what he is getting and how it's affecting him.Here's a couple:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feeding-lowest-zero-carb-vs-lower-carb-foods.144220/
There's others, but mostly referring to bouncy cats.


I think Myagi is looking good at this dose. The goal with Tight Regulation. Is to eventually get them to a point where they spend all their time in green. Maximizing green time, but safely, is how you get there. Since you are following TR and he didn't go below 50, he didn't earn a reduction. Similarly, with nadirs in the 50's, there's not much room for an increase. The next move is up to Myagi.![]()
@Wendy&Neko 
@Stacy & Asia. Wow!!! It didn't make sense to me that it would be the same, but since told you can do either, I figured out must be same. So Myagi gets way more shoulder shots than scruff shots simply because while I rotate locations, I shoot while he eats so grabbing a side is easier fur us both. I will try that for both, but especially as you said Stacy, his am onset is hard and fast (yet another example of how our kitties change patterns! Wendy, Marje and Chris all had to twist my arm fur +2s cause I didn't want to waste a test strip on no onset lol).Also, this old thread. His onset in the am cycle seems to be right away, and I assume duration is lost as some point later in the cycle, giving you higher PMPS. Why not try shooting an am shot in his scruff and see what that does? Worth a "shot" right?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...adventure-amps-409-91-at-4.14802/#post-148551




@Wendy&Neko
@Stacy & Asia. Wow!!! It didn't make sense to me that it would be the same, but since told you can do either, I figured out must be same. So Myagi gets way more shoulder shots than scruff shots simply because while I rotate locations, I shoot while he eats so grabbing a side is easier fur us both. I will try that for both, but especially as you said Stacy, his am onset is hard and fast (yet another example of how our kitties change patterns! Wendy, Marje and Chris all had to twist my arm fur +2s cause I didn't want to waste a test strip on no onset lol).
I also need to see how he and Millie adjust to a slight meal change. Because of the grazing, I always give a mini meal at +9.5 before food pick up. This could be the big reason why his pmps cycle is higher than his amps cycle ? That's one for me to ponder and figure out.
So much great info and input from everyone! Myagi and I are, as always, truly and profoundly grateful!![]()
She doesn't get that snack overnight and her am preshots are higher than the pm ones, go figure!
Ok @Chris & China this is totally a teaching thread! So You are Welcome to share as needed!It could be the lack of a snack in the wee hours of the morning, but it could also be something called "Dawn Phenomenon"
That AM number is usually the last one to come down and stay down
