2/1 Moses PMPS 121 +3~96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4647

Hooray it's February! Happy first Lantus Land!

Libby and Lucy asked me this yesterday, "Isn't it comforting to have data so you know what Moses will be doing while you're sleeping or working?" And my answer? Ohhh ya! :cool:

It's so good, I can rest assured thanks to the data collections, the FMBD and God. Moses has been a little sleepy during the day, but at night he is pumped up! Now he comes blasting out of the kitty litter box and romps around the upstairs, sounding off how gross the litter is. He's so funny! He's definitely a tidy kitty.

*Questions:

1. I'm starting to bump up Moses' test/injection time, b/c I want to allow a nice stall window before I go to work, if necessary. Would you suggest a 1 hour stall window? Or is 30 minutes okay? What's the safest?

2. His AMPS the last two days has been around 120. Based on the data I collected yesterday, I don't feel comfortable leaving the house for work without leaving a little MC. Would this be a good routine to have? B/c I don't want to lose momentum.

3. If feeding him a little MC is alright on a daily basis, my next question is about preparing it. The option I did this morning was put a tiny teaspoon of HC in with his normal 4 ounces of LC and mix it all around. I like this because it encourages him to munch throughout the day (b/c it's extra tasty) and I don't think he experiences eating anxiety when gravy's involved. Or I could set a little HC to the side of his LC breakfast. This option would mean that Moses may eat all the HC up separately right away and just nibble on LC later. Which preparation option is the best? This is nit-picky, but I really want to be feeding him correctly and effectively in gaining a healthy blood glucose.

Thank you! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/1 Moses AMPS 121 +6.5~107 Question

This is way over my head. Sorry, can't help.
I think I would let the food out during the day. I'm free feeding. But you know your cat better of course. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/1 Moses AMPS 121 +6.5~107 Question

1. One hour gives you more time to stall. If you get a number too low for comfort to shoot, you pick one of the 3 options:
    a) stall until number is rising or steady
    b) shoot a reduced dose
    c) skip the shot

I'd hate to see you stall for 30 minutes and still not have a number you could shoot, because then you might have to do a reduced dose or skip a dose. Those might cause a little lost momentum, but you do whatever is safest for the kitty.

2. I don't see real problem with the MC since the preshots are lower and you can't be there. Usually LC will work, but for peace of mind, I would rather you feel Moses is safe. Many kitties do just fine with lots of LC food left out, but you know Moses the best.

3. I would definitely mix the LC and HC so Moses won't eat all the HC first. Haha! It's like eating dessert before dinner and then not having an appetite for your healthy meal.

I hope this helps!
 
Re: 2/1 Moses AMPS 121 +6.5~107 Question

I agree with CD. I try to give myself 2 hours between shot and out the door times. It gives me a reasonable sense of where Gabby's cycle is going to go most of the time.
 
Re: 2/1 Moses AMPS 121 +6.5~107 Question

Erica,
is this an on-going issue for you?

Have you given MC before and seen how much higher it raises Moses numbers?
How long it takes to clear?

I'm just thinking this could also be too much for pancreas and lose momentum, bit of a difficult one.
You also don't know what %carbs is mixing HC with LC.

Sorry if I'm playing devils advocate, I'm just trying to look at this from all angles.
What about one of the higher low carb varieties? So literally on that 10% carb line.

If he clears the MC quick, it may not lose his momentum as he has 12 hrs with just LC, just depends on a healing pancreas.

Like Carolyn said you know your kitty :smile:
 
These answers are great! I'm a processor so I'll need to think through this but my questions were 100% answered. Thank you! And! I'm off on Wednesday so perhaps I can get a good LC testing day while monitoring. That should bring about some good data for further decisions.

Thanks again for your help!

Moses has been good! He's been sluggish though. Really tired today. Ah, somebody told me with the flatter days the sugar kitties can be more lethargic, hmmm. I'll give him a good rub down and we'll see!

bcatrun_gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top