2/1 Lolly 1st OTJ Test--AMBG/154 +3/54, +6/62

Status
Not open for further replies.
Absolutely!!

One thing we tell people new to the OTJ trial is if you get a "higher than desirable" test at AMBG/PMBG, feed them and retest in 2-3 hours.....if the pancreas is working, the number should come down! (Because the food stimulates the pancreas to produce it's own insulin!)

During your OTJ trial, instead of posting your AMPS/PMPS, you'd change it to AMBG/PMBG ....since you're not shooting, there's no "Pre-Shot", so it's AM Blood Glucose and PM Blood Glucose
 
First, here is the link to Lolly's 1/31 Condo.


I know this is an exciting time, but if you could please link the previous day's condo, Martha, in the current day, that would be really helpful for us. We have so many kitties in this forum that we can easily and quickly catch up by just clicking the link instead of having to search for that condo and the previous ones to figure out what happened. Thank you!!! :):)


It appears you've started a trial. Just so you have the official OTJ instructions (we usually like you to start a trial on a green PS so we probably wouldn't have had you start today but.....she did come down):

  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!!
 
First, here is the link to Lolly's 1/31 Condo.


I know this is an exciting time, but if you could please link the previous day's condo, Martha, in the current day, that would be really helpful for us. We have so many kitties in this forum that we can easily and quickly catch up by just clicking the link instead of having to search for that condo and the previous ones to figure out what happened. Thank you!!! :):)


It appears you've started a trial. Just so you have the official OTJ instructions (we usually like you to start a trial on a green PS so we probably wouldn't have had you start today but.....she did come down):



Good luck with the trial!!!

Thanks Marge- I didn't know about the blue rule-- I hope it works out now:nailbiting: She's had only one green day though- the one where I almost killed her :(
 
It shows that Lolly's pancreas is working again. YAY!

You only have to test at the previous pre-shot times, no need to get extra checks during the day. Congratulations on going on the trial.
 
OK-- couldn't help feeling nervous when I saw her heading down, though with no insulin on board, I know that makes no sense. Lately, it seems I've been testing every hour.... I'll test next at +5, then at PMBG.

Her ears thank you!
 
It is okay if she goes lower when she is not on insulin. There were times when Sami was in the 40's and 50's when she wasn't on insulin.
 
Part of the purpose of the trial is to wean you off testing. Most people find that the hardest part. ;)

We've had kitties on a trial test in the 40's. We don't want cats on insulin to go that low because there isn't room for error. 50's are perfect. The civie on my lap likes the low 50's.
Happy day one of the trial!!
dancing-cat.gif
 
"feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!"

OK- per the instructions, since she was 154 at her AMPS, I need to feed a little bit then test 3-4 hrs later. Shouldn't I test before she eats then?
 
Its an option - up to you.
If you test when you feed in the am, you'll see if the numbers suggest insulin may still be needed.
 
ok -- I was trying to follow the OTJ instructions Marje provided.

I already saw when I gave her her regular am meal, her numbers dropped from PSBG/154 to +3/54

I tested at +6, (normal nadir test) she was 62. She doesn't normally get fed till +9 and +10, but since Lolly tested in the blue in the morning, I gave her a small meal after testing at +6. I guess I'll see if her numbers drop or stay flat by +9.

Hopefully I've done this right!

Paw crossed!!!:nailbiting:
 
I messed up - the small meal was supposed to be in the am, 3-4 hrs after psbg Oh well, we'll see. Lolly's been pretty forgiving of me up to now.
 
You test at your usual Pre-shot times (whatever that was)....Since when we give insulin, we Test/Feed/Shoot (all within about 10 minutes) then you should test at your normal "shot" time and feed

IF the test shows a higher reading (in the blues or higher), then you want to make sure to get a test in about 3 hours later (to see if the feeding "activated" the pancreas to produce insulin on it's own)....If the test is already in the greens, you don't need to test again until it's "pre-shot" time again
 
Lolly just tested PMBG = 102!!! She had her normal meals today (8am, 5pm, now her 8pm). Anything else I need to know other than what Chris says above? During the week, DH can't test until 1pm. Lolly always seems to start day in the blues, so a second test would be 6, not 3 hrs after the meal.

Thanks :joyful::joyful::joyful: and hugs from Lolly and me for helping us get this far! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top