2/1 Kai AMPS 375, +4 422, PMPS 354, +4 177

Maddie & Kai

Member Since 2024
Yesterday's Thread

Yesterday was not a good day. Kai had an IM appointment and they basically told me what I already knew, which i guess is a good thing. It means i'm not missing anything and Kai is only jumping around because he is still not use to the green numbers yet..... We knew that.

On another note, they were able to draw some cells from the bump on his side that appeared a few weeks ago. I'm hoping its just a fatty tumor and nothing serious but it concerned me. It dosen't feel like a normal fatty tumor because its very solid and attached under the skin. We should get the test results back early next week. Paws crossed its nothing serious.

This morning is rough. My boy has an upset stomach, most likely from fasting all day yesterday and then scarfing his food down last night. And i'm sure the meds they gave him yesterday to sedate him also do not agree with his stomach. Kai ended up staying at the vet for most of the day. They had to sedate him in order to draw a sample from the bump. So he went without food until that evening. Obviously he ate really well last night when we got home but this morning he had some diarrhea and he dosen't have much of an appetite. I can tell he dosen't feel great. I am going to only give a token dose of 0.5 units for this morning, because he is not eating much at all.

I hope everyone else has a good day today!:cat:
 
Last edited:
Oh poor Kai. I’m so sorry it was such a tough day:(

Sending lots of love and prayers for him to recover and rest today and get back to his normal routine.

Sending positive wishes for the bump to be no issue.
Thinking of you both :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yesterday's Thread

Yesterday was not a good day. Kai had an IM appointment and they basically told me what I already knew, which i guess is a good thing. It means i'm not missing anything and Kai is only jumping around because he is still not use to the green numbers yet..... We knew that.

On another note, they were able to draw some cells from the bump on his side that appeared a few weeks ago. I'm hoping its just a fatty tumor and nothing serious but it concerned me. It dosen't feel like a normal fatty tumor because its very solid and attached under the skin. We should get the test results back early next week. Paws crossed its nothing serious.

This morning is rough. My boy has an upset stomach, most likely from fasting all day yesterday and then scarfing his food down last night. And i'm sure the meds they gave him yesterday to sedate him also do not agree with his stomach. Kai ended up staying at the vet for most of the day. They had to sedate him in order to draw a sample from the bump. So he went without food until that evening. Obviously he ate really well last night when we got home but this morning he had some diarrhea and he dosen't have much of an appetite. I can tell he dosen't feel great. I am going to only give a token dose of 0.5 units for this morning, because he is not eating much at all.

I hope everyone else has a good day today!:cat:
Awww...sending healing 'vines' to Kai! I hope he gets better soon, and I hope the report from the biopsy is a positive one.
 
Last edited:
I seriously jinxed us the other day when I said "Kai has never had any issues with his kidney levels" :banghead::banghead::banghead:

The test results from his senior lab came back today and the vet said that he was very surprised that his kidney values were significantly elevated. His kidney values were
borderline increased a year ago but have apparently significantly progressed...4.8. o_O We do not know the cause of his kidney injury, there is no evidence of a urinary tract infection in association with his diabetes or anything. The vet recommended an abdominal ultrasound evaluation to assess the kidneys and associated structures (e.g., ureters) for this Monday. Until then I need to give him 100ml of fluids every 24 hours. On top of that, the vet is really concerned about the bump and he thinks it may be a sarcoma which will result in a really big surgery. We wont know for sure until the analysis come back Tuesday.

I just don't understand. :( I thought we were doing so well. Kai has acted like he has felt good the past several weeks. He hasn't had any vomiting, diarrhea, or any kind of distressing signs that could hint towards all of this stuff being wrong. It feels like 2025 is just out to get me. But whatever, we will deal with it and move forward just as we always have. For now, I'm going to go watch youtube tutorials on how to properly administer 100ml fluids to a cat.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

For the future, if Kai is off his food, even cats that cannot eat due to getting anaesthesia can get a half dose. Since he was so high this morning, you probably could have given him more insulin. He probably feels icky in high numbers too.

Do you think Kai might have been dehydrated for the blood draw? That can make a huge difference in kidney numbers if so. My vet always rechecked blood work two weeks later if a number was off, to see if it was just a one time thing. Kidney blood work does not need fasting. Another thing that can impact is a kidney infection, which wouldn't show up as a urinary tract infection with the urine tests. I'm glad he's getting an ultrasound, that can be helpful in that diagnosis. If it is a kidney infection, the treatment is a longer course of antibiotics and his kidney numbers would come down.

Did the vet check his heart out? I am double cautious about giving fluids with potential heart issues - that sent Neko into congestive heart failure - twice. The first time is how we found out she had a heart issue. :( Maine Coon types are more prone to heart issues, which was Neko and a previous one with MC heritage.

This video by Marje is my go to:
The website for kidney disease (which is not injury): https://www.felinecrf.org/
 
I seriously jinxed us the other day when I said "Kai has never had any issues with his kidney levels" :banghead::banghead::banghead:

The test results from his senior lab came back today and the vet said that he was very surprised that his kidney values were significantly elevated. His kidney values were
borderline increased a year ago but have apparently significantly progressed...4.8. o_O We do not know the cause of his kidney injury, there is no evidence of a urinary tract infection in association with his diabetes or anything. The vet recommended an abdominal ultrasound evaluation to assess the kidneys and associated structures (e.g., ureters) for this Monday. Until then I need to give him 100ml of fluids every 24 hours. On top of that, the vet is really concerned about the bump and he thinks it may be a sarcoma which will result in a really big surgery. We wont know for sure until the analysis come back Tuesday.

I just don't understand. :( I thought we were doing so well. Kai has acted like he has felt good the past several weeks. He hasn't had any vomiting, diarrhea, or any kind of distressing signs that could hint towards all of this stuff being wrong. It feels like 2025 is just out to get me. But whatever, we will deal with it and move forward just as we always have. For now, I'm going to go watch youtube tutorials on how to properly administer 100ml fluids to a cat.
Oh no! Maddie, I'm so sorry. This surely complicates things for you and Kai. I have administered sub-q fluids in the past to a cat with CKD. It's a bit of a learning curve, but if you've managed his FD successfully, and you have, you'll have no problems. I followed Tanya's CKD website (https://www.felinecrf.org/); there is every sort of useful information you can imagine to help you navigate the issues surrounding feline CKD there, including tutorials on administering sub-qs. I will tell you some tips that I recall from when I had to do this: purchase the finest gauge needle you can--I wish I could remember the needle brand I purchased--it went in like butter, and made things so much easier. It took me a while to find the brand I used (I'm going to look for it for you), and they were more expensive than most, but well worth it. Purchase an IV bag stand--I got mine from Amazon. It's hard to hold a bag up for the length of time it takes to administer the required fluids. My cat was bothered by the cold fluid from the bag; I would place the bag in a crockpot lined with a towel on very low heat. This kept things warm for him. Good luck!

Edited to add: I believe the needle brand was Terumo.
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

For the future, if Kai is off his food, even cats that cannot eat due to getting anaesthesia can get a half dose. Since he was so high this morning, you probably could have given him more insulin. He probably feels icky in high numbers too.

Do you think Kai might have been dehydrated for the blood draw? That can make a huge difference in kidney numbers if so. My vet always rechecked blood work two weeks later if a number was off, to see if it was just a one time thing. Kidney blood work does not need fasting. Another thing that can impact is a kidney infection, which wouldn't show up as a urinary tract infection with the urine tests. I'm glad he's getting an ultrasound, that can be helpful in that diagnosis. If it is a kidney infection, the treatment is a longer course of antibiotics and his kidney numbers would come down.

Did the vet check his heart out? I am double cautious about giving fluids with potential heart issues - that sent Neko into congestive heart failure - twice. The first time is how we found out she had a heart issue. :( Maine Coon types are more prone to heart issues, which was Neko and a previous one with MC heritage.

This video by Marje is my go to:
The website for kidney disease (which is not injury): https://www.felinecrf.org/

Oh no! Maddie, I'm so sorry. This surely complicates things for you and Kai. I have administered sub-q fluids in the past to a cat with CKD. It's a bit of a learning curve, but if you've managed his FD successfully, and you have, you'll have no problems. I followed Tanya's CKD website (https://www.felinecrf.org/); there is every sort of useful information you can imagine to help you navigate the issues surrounding feline CKD there, including tutorials on administering sub-qs. I will tell you some tips that I recall from when I had to do this: purchase the finest gauge needle you can--I wish I could remember the needle brand I purchased--it went in like butter, and made things so much easier. It took me a while to find the brand I used (I'm going to look for it for you), and they were more expensive than most, but well worth it. Purchase an IV bag stand--I got mine from Amazon. It's hard to hold a bag up for the length of time it takes to administer the required fluids. My cat was bothered by the cold fluid from the bag; I would place the bag in a crockpot lined with a towel on very low heat. This kept things warm for him. Good luck!

Edited to add: I believe the needle brand was Terumo.


I was too scared to give him half a dose, especially when I know he wont eat later. His numbers can be so unpredictable sometimes, i just had a gut feeling to stick with a token dose this morning.

It is very possible that Kai was dehydrated for the blood draw. And part of me wants to believe thats what it was. I know that fasting didn't cause the dehydration either but I wonder if it didn't exactly help, because i usually add water to Kai's food every time i feed him.

Oh god, i hope it has nothing to do with his heart. About 5 years ago he had a heart murmur and they did an EKG. It was very very mild and "innocent" and eventually is just POOF went away. I didn't know fluids could send cats into heart failure!!! The doctor did check his heart out but said it sounded fine. He didn't make any other comments on it so I assume that means everything was okay sounding. I'll call tomorrow and double check. I have asked them to forward me all of the current test results and notes from his exam. Hopefully they send those over tomorrow too.

For right now we are only going to have to do 2 days of fluids just until we can get the ultrasound on Monday and can 100% confirm it is CKD and not just dehydration. I hope it was just dehydration. But I am kind of glad they are doing an ultrasound, that was originally what I wanted them to do to begin with but at the time (before his lab test) they told me it wasn't really necessary. Oh the irony....

As far as giving fluids tonight... Kai was a champ! He growled at me and swished his tail for a bit but then got over it after I gave him a couple FD treats to munch on. Its was much easier than I thought it would be. I think warming up the bag really helped him adjust quickly too! I appreciate the video links and all the helpful tips! Thank you so much!:bighug:
 
I'm glad the vet checked the heart, you should be OK. Sorry to worry you, but I've just had some bad luck there so am paranoid.
I wish I could remember the needle brand I purchased--it went in like butter
Terumo thin wall were great, that's what Marje recommends in her video. Often the vet will give you 18g harpoons, but the 21 or 22 g Terumo were much less intimidating (for us).

I didn't use an IV stand, I put the bag on a hanger and hung that from the shower curtain. Bonus, the bathroom had a nice hot air vent and I'd park a heat reflective bed in front of it, and littered it with freeze dried chicken bits to keep kitty busy.
 
I'm glad the vet checked the heart, you should be OK. Sorry to worry you, but I've just had some bad luck there so am paranoid.

Terumo thin wall were great, that's what Marje recommends in her video. Often the vet will give you 18g harpoons, but the 21 or 22 g Terumo were much less intimidating (for us).

I didn't use an IV stand, I put the bag on a hanger and hung that from the shower curtain. Bonus, the bathroom had a nice hot air vent and I'd park a heat reflective bed in front of it, and littered it with freeze dried chicken bits to keep kitty busy.


Oh my god lol thats what they gave me! The 18g. I pulled that sucker out to hook it up and was like o_Oo_Oo_O I don't think i have ever seen a needle that big! It really does look like a harpoon lol

I used the hanger trick tonight, except I hung it on a coat hook on my closet door. I thought about doing it in the tub but figured i better not cause Kai associates the bath tub with bath time :rolleyes:
 
I asked my vet for thinner needles, she had the Terumo's. Which would have been easier for just a couple days.

Glad to hear the fluids went well. If nothing else, he'll be well hydrated for his next vet visit.
 
Maddie you are a freaking rock star mommy champ. This is a lot to process all at once and boom you lay out the plan, next steps, check details, ask the necessary questions and just forge ahead to manage it. Wow. To say you are doing everything possible for Kai is an understatement. The only thing I can think to add is to maybe chk his respiratory rate while he is sleeping (or at least at rest and not purring). I’ve had cats with HCM and no sign of murmur and I would keep eye on respiratory rate. I count breaths for 15 seconds watching rise/fall of chest and multiply by 4. 20s is great, 30s fine, 40 or higher concerning.

I have never had a kitty w/ a sarcoma (knock on wood) so I can’t comment on that other than a faint recollection that vaccination sites used to be a possibility for this but I’m pretty sure vets rotate sites these days to reduce that risk. Is this lump at a place on Kai that is typical injection site? I think if it were to be sarcoma, given Kai hasn’t had signs that could suggest metastasis, it could be early diagnosis which is certainly much better regarding prognosis.

Hang in there champ. Sending positive vibes. :bighug:
 
Maddie you are a freaking rock star mommy champ. This is a lot to process all at once and boom you lay out the plan, next steps, check details, ask the necessary questions and just forge ahead to manage it. Wow. To say you are doing everything possible for Kai is an understatement. The only thing I can think to add is to maybe chk his respiratory rate while he is sleeping (or at least at rest and not purring). I’ve had cats with HCM and no sign of murmur and I would keep eye on respiratory rate. I count breaths for 15 seconds watching rise/fall of chest and multiply by 4. 20s is great, 30s fine, 40 or higher concerning.

I have never had a kitty w/ a sarcoma (knock on wood) so I can’t comment on that other than a faint recollection that vaccination sites used to be a possibility for this but I’m pretty sure vets rotate sites these days to reduce that risk. Is this lump at a place on Kai that is typical injection site? I think if it were to be sarcoma, given Kai hasn’t had signs that could suggest metastasis, it could be early diagnosis which is certainly much better regarding prognosis.

Hang in there champ. Sending positive vibes. :bighug:

Thank you Laura! I am happy to report he is doing much better this morning!
But i will definetly check his RR today when he starts to nap. Thats a really good idea!
Unfortunately, the bump is no where near his typical injection sites. It is on his side close to the front of his stomach. I'm hoping if it is anything serious we caught it in time before it could progress.
Thank you for your kind words and positive vibes! Give Minner a kiss for me :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top