2/1 Fred +10 402 ultrasound day

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-31-fred-amps-326-fasting-dose.258656/#post-2907808

To all who chimed in...thank you SO much for all your kind words. It really means a lot. @Suzanne & Darcy I took your advice...had a stiff drink (or 2) zoned on a bit of TV, and loved on Fred until I had to put him in the other room for the night. He was NOT happy about that at all. I have a camera in there, and I didn't once see him appear. He must have been hiding somewhere. :-(

I dropped Fred off at the vet about 90 minutes ago for his ultrasound. He was high this AM at +10...409. I think it was the small dose of insulin, stress at having to be confined to another room, and a bounce from yesterday. Or, I need to listen to @Wendy&Neko and give him a higher fasting dose. :-) I was actually very surprised when I tested him at +5 to see he had dropped 52 points, as that was only 2 hours after he last ate! (and the token dose)

I'll update when I hear anything. All thoughts and prayers are appreciated!
 
I hope that they will be able to do the ultrasound quickly. Also hope they will provide you with a detailed written report with measurements. Major hugs to you today, Cat Mama!
 
I never thought I'd be so happy to write that Fred has...."low-grade pancreatitis/flare"!

I do not have the written report as of yet, but they said everything else looked "perfect". Even his kidneys appear better on this scan than they did 5 years ago. I've no idea how that can be, but hey, I'll take it!

They diagnosed based on the fact that when they pressed "firmly" on his pancreas (read: jammed the wand in there) he reacted as "being a little sore". Additionally, his pancreas was a bit more echogenic. On physical exam, he showed no signs of pain. I asked if she felt he needed any pain meds, and she said no...and she didn't want to backtrack his hopefully improving nausea.

I want to double check the time they gave it, but they only gave him 2u of insulin. The vet said that even after the scan, he would not eat, and she didn't want him crashing. I figured as much; he never eats at the vet. He's been through the wringer, poor boy. I asked them to give him fluids and an ondansetron for good measure.

So, it's great news on the other evil possibilities, but now I have to focus on both getting him through this flare, and preventing any in the future. The latter is the hardest part, I know.

I was sent home with "keep doing what you're doing" in terms of support, and to see if I can pinpoint anything that may have triggered this. I asked to have the fPLI sent out, as well as a kidney panel and a recheck of the potassium. He's very hungry and full of adrenaline now, as is usually the case when returning home from the vet. And, a poor bald little tummy!

Thank you, thank you for all the support and wishes! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh wow! I was getting ready to freak out if you didn't post soon!

This is an answer to my prayers. I prayed it would be nothing more than a treatable pancreatitis flare! I'm so happy!!!!
 
We love nekid belly pics here
I will have to get one!

And take a little more of Dr. Suzanne's recommended remedy tonight
Oh, no encouragement needed! I have to be out this evening, but then there is a nice bottle of Cote du Rhone with my name on it!

Of course, Sir Puss did not want to eat his wet food tonight. :rolleyes: He's getting a pass because he had a rough day. He is now completely zonked.
 
I'm really glad to read this report, Kathleen. You must be so relieved!

Ruby still has a bald patch from her ultrasound in November. Dunno why as it usually grows back quickly. It's cute to see her pinkie tummy though. :p
 
Back
Top