2/1 Eddie PMPS = 254, +4 = 146, +5 = 96, +6 = 76

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +3.5 = 268

Love those blues! I would imagine the amps was a bounce, but maybe we will see some other blues today and Eddie will decide they are okay….
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +3.5 = 268

+5 = 250

So far maybe looks like the blues last night made Eddie's liver a little nervous. Hopefully he'll clear it and have a better cycle tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

I don't think it was a bounce. I think he might just need more juice.
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
I don't think it was a bounce. I think he might just need more juice.

What would you suggest? Increase to a full 2.0u tonight?
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

Meant to say earlier "great notes on the SS". A p-titis test would be a good thing if you think it might be an issue.

I think maybe it's the scale. The dose increments might just be too small to have much of a definite effect? In general, over the past couple of weeks, it looks like Eddie is dropping about 100 points, or less, between PS and nadir. Regardless of PS and regardless of dose. So it seems like each dose is having just about the same effect. Just not a big effect.

Bob was Bob, and Eddie is Eddie, so they won't react the same way to insulin. But his scale was more "radical" I guess is the word I'm looking for. DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME, but as a for-instance, when he was on a top dose of 4u, I shot 2.5u on a 250 and 3.5u on 350. Until he got to lower numbers and lower doses, I never had an adjustment of less than .25u, and didn't attempt "finer" adjustments.

Increasing the dose requires two things be considered.
1. Will you be able to get two or three mid-cycle tests, say between +2 and +7?
2. What's the target nadir you'd like to see?
And of course you need to have on hand whatever you'd want in order to deal with any numbers that are "low", like medium or high carb food, Karo, etc. And test strips.
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
A p-titis test would be a good thing if you think it might be an issue.

Eddie used to frequently puke the dry SD "Light" we fed for evening meal, so it has me wondering if p-titis is an issue. I've read elsewhere here that it seems to be pretty common and can contribute to some irregular cycles.

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Increasing the dose requires two things be considered.
1. Will you be able to get two or three mid-cycle tests, say between +2 and +7?
2. What's the target nadir you'd like to see?
And of course you need to have on hand whatever you'd want in order to deal with any numbers that are "low", like medium or high carb food, Karo, etc. And test strips.

1. I can definitely test. Weekends and even PM cycles are good for me to experiment with dose changes since I can test as frequently as I need to.
2. For experiment purposes, maybe shooting for a 100ish nadir might be a good start.
3. I do have plenty of strips, karo, HC food, etc.

So, that said, I'm up for an experiment this PM cycle. For the sake of anyone "lurking," I should put the caveat that I'm willing to try this type of experiment because I can and do test frequently and feel prepared to handle low numbers. Even if Eddie's cycle today does represent a bounce, he didn't bounce off anything that was too low, so there's room to go up.

Carl this thought process appeals to my "science"-oriented brain. So, for example purposes, if I get a 250ish pre-shot and I want to increase the delta (is that the right term?), from approx. 100 to 150, so that my nadir is approximately 100, it can't be as simple as multiplying my dose by 50% since I want to see a 50% increase in the delta, can it? I'm guessing 2u may not be enough since I'm not currently seeing much change between 1.4/1.6/1.8, although the 1.8 was a bit better. I have u100 syringes, so consistently measuring .2 increments is actually easier than trying to eyeball .25 unit changes on my u40 needles. Any thoughts on a dose to experiment with this PM?

Thank you very much for your input!
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

it can't be as simple as multiplying my dose by 50% since I want to see a 50% increase in the delta, can it?
I don't think it's that simple, although the math lover in me wishes it would be. ;-)

I used U40 syringes, so everything was usually in mulitples of .5u for my scale. I could eyeball that in the syringe, but when I tried to adjust by .25u, it was guesswork completely. Using U100s is a benefit, especially if they have half-unit marks on the scale.

This is the scale in the comments on your SS:
180-250/1.6u
250-350/1.8u
350+/1.9u.

I think conservatively, you could make the differences in dose .4u instead of .2u? (Myself, I would have gone with .5u increments due to the syringes I was using but U100 syringes are not "friendly" to increments that end in odd numbers)
And maybe increase overall?
Like
180-250/1.8u
250-350/2.2u
350+/2.6u ?

Or a bit more aggressive
180-250/2.0u
250-350/2.4u
350+ / 2.8u ?

I think the most important thing with sliding scales in not to ditch or adjust the whole scale until you see a dose at a given range fail regularly. Like if you get nothing but preshots between 250-300, and you feel it's too little, don't just increase every range in the scale. It could end up that the ranges themselves need to be readjusted and not necessarily the doses. Make sense?
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

+11 = 271

Hopefully Eddie's PS will be a nice middle of the road number here to experiment with! :smile:

I do have u100's with 1/2 unit markings, which are awesome, except I prefer the longer needles of the u40's. I do intend to see if I can find some u100's with a longer needle than 5/16, although I do still use the u40's if I go with an "even" dose.

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Or a bit more aggressive
180-250/2.0u
250-350/2.4u
350+ / 2.8u ?

Ok, we're going to take the plunge! The 2.8 for 350+ makes me a bit nervous nailbite_smile, but I haven't seen a 350+ pre-shot in a while anyway, since it's a full unit increase from what I shot the last two cycles, but for the 2.0u, that's a pretty minimal increase, and the 250-350 range is only roughly a 1/2 unit increase as well. Just two weeks ago, I increased from 1.5 to 2u without disastrous results, other than some cycles where Eddie surfed in the blues well past +12. But we haven't had that in a couple weeks either.

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
I think the most important thing with sliding scales in not to ditch or adjust the whole scale until you see a dose at a given range fail regularly. Like if you get nothing but pre-shots between 250-300, and you feel it's too little, don't just increase every range in the scale. It could end up that the ranges themselves need to be readjusted and not necessarily the doses. Make sense?

Yep! This totally makes sense. For example, if the 2.4u works well for 250, but not so much for 300, the parameters of the scale itself can be tweaked. Or, if I'm too chicken to shoot 2u on a 180 pre-shot, I can adjust that as well. :-D

A scale, even if it changes regularly, is a necessity for my brain. We do shots at 6AM/6PM, so when my very cooperative and patient DH tests at 5:50AM and asks an asleep me what to shoot, having a scale to fall back on is a must, rather than trying to study a spreadsheet and do math in my head while still asleep before figuring out what to shoot. haha_smiley

Ok! Shot time in 30 minutes! Fingers and paws crossed for good numbers and no disasters!

Thank you!!
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie AMPS 323, +6 = 243

A scale was perfect for me as well. I was always looking at percentage and ratios when comparing PS's to nadirs and one dose to the next. It made things at least feel more logical.

I'll check back during the evening. I'll be up until at least your +5 since I get to sleep in tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie PMPS = 254, +3 = 170, +4 = 146

Looking good so far

AMPS = 254 (2.4u)
+2 = 248
+3 = 170
+4 = 146
+5 = 96
+6 = 76
+7 = 83
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie PMPS = 254, +3 = 170, +4 = 146

I would agree with that. :-)
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie PMPS = 254, +3 = 170, +4 = 146, +5 = 96

Love the +5 too :-)
 
Re: 2/1 Eddie PMPS = 254, +3 = 170, +4 = 146, +5 = 96

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Love the +5 too :-)

Yes! First green number in almost 3 weeks. Will continue to monitor closely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top