2/1 Darcy, AMPS 331, +3.5 306, +7 347

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Hello everyone! Today Darcy is at 10 units. I feel kind of depressed... but we will keep going... we have no other choice... if you look at yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-31-darcy-amps-316-havent-posted-for-a-couple-days.242371/#post-2731017
it describes some of my fears and anxieties about Darcy's tests that we submitted today (at the bottom of the thread where I replied to Wendy.) He sure has a big appetite this week! He is loving Tiki Cat After Dark chicken and quail egg and Weruva BFF Play pate flavors.
 
Hang in there! The high doses are scary, but the cats need what they need. Oberon went up to 10 U, down to about 4, and now back up to 9. In November as he started to come down the dosing ladder I think I went a little too quickly and ended up chasing insulin resistance again. I'll be following the TR protocol a bit more closely this time around. Good luck with the tests! Even if the answers aren't what you're hoping for, you'll be able to manage him more effectively with more information. :bighug::bighug:
 
I feel for you! I am starting to get into the territory you are in right now and it's pretty scary. Not sure how to deal with it.
Hoping you get negative tests back for acro/iaa and that yo find the magic dose soon. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hang in there! The high doses are scary, but the cats need what they need. Oberon went up to 10 U, down to about 4, and now back up to 9. In November as he started to come down the dosing ladder I think I went a little too quickly and ended up chasing insulin resistance again. I'll be following the TR protocol a bit more closely this time around. Good luck with the tests! Even if the answers aren't what you're hoping for, you'll be able to manage him more effectively with more information. :bighug::bighug:
Hi Lisa and the gorgeous Oberon! Do you mean that you reduced doses too quickly? Thanks for the support. It’s soooo nice to know that other people understand what this is like!
 
Thanks, Sandra. You know, I was just looking at Buddy’s SS earlier today because you said that rhe higher doses didn’t seem to be helping. I was thinking that maybe he had his lowest numbers at around 4 units? Did you try going back down to that dose? I’m not giving dosing advice, but simply inquiring. His numbers don’t look too bad to me, but my baby spends most of his time in the 300s
 
Hi Lisa and the gorgeous Oberon! Do you mean that you reduced doses too quickly? Thanks for the support. It’s soooo nice to know that other people understand what this is like!

I think that's what happened. Because he's got IAA (insulin autoantibodies), he needs a lot of insulin but the antibodies can fluctuate so his effective insulin load can change abruptly. Because of that, we decided I should play it a little bit safer and take reductions if he went below 70 instead of 50. A lot of the time he went below 50 anyways, but there were times that he got a reduction that he wouldn't have gotten under strict TR guidelines. And as he got into lower doses I didn't lower the reduction amount- I kept it at 0.5 instead of 0.25 U once I got below 5 U. When he hit about 4 U he started to need more and has gradually climbed back up to 9 U. I can't be sure that it was because of my dosing; there could have been something else going on but I couldn't find anything obvious. My guess is that we reduced a bit too fast and either the antibodies grabbed hold again or glucose toxicity kicked in, and I had to chase it back up the dose ladder. His current dose has him in much better numbers. I'm eager to bring the dose back down (I keep looking for excuses!) but I need to remind myself to be patient and wait for him to tell me he needs less.
 
Back
Top