2/1 Buddy AMPS 212 (0.75u), Out of Town Dose Suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sommerbethel

Active Member
yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4687

Buddy was playful and sweet this morning :)

I'm leaving town this Thursday and will not return until Monday. I'd like to get some suggestions on dosing for when I'm gone.

DBF will be shooting and finding 0.75 on the syringe is not going to be possible...with Buddy's numbers right now I'm not sure what to do so I need all the help I can get. I'm thinking that if we go down a little it won't be enough insulin for him and if we go back to 0.50 that may be too much...suggestions???
 
If u stick with the same dose or whichever is best, u have time to show him how to measure it plus u can leave a sample syringe so he can compare.

Where ya going? I'm nosy :lol:
 
sommerbethel said:
yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=9&t=4687

Buddy was playful and sweet this morning :)

I'm leaving town this Thursday and will not return until Monday. I'd like to get some suggestions on dosing for when I'm gone.

DBF will be shooting and finding 0.75 on the syringe is not going to be possible...with Buddy's numbers right now I'm not sure what to do so I need all the help I can get. I'm thinking that if we go down a little it won't be enough insulin for him and if we go back to 0.50 that may be too much...suggestions???
Did you mean to say if you "go back to 1.00u that may be too much?

I would not increase the dose, no.
As Ronnie said, can you have DBF practice with the .75u?

If not, then to be safe, you would drop to a dose with a syringe marking... and that would be 0.50u. You can regain the momentum when you return. But increasing the dose is not a good idea.
 
I would reduce to 0.5, nice and easy to measure. Last time we gave a no-shot number, do you remember what it was? :lol: I think it was around 120. And I remember that Buddy did great. Maybe that will help answer the question about whether he is bouncing, too, if his numbers improve with less juice.
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
If u stick with the same dose or whichever is best, u have time to show him how to measure it plus u can leave a sample syringe so he can compare.

Where ya going? I'm nosy :lol:

At the school where I am a Dean I also coach their Girl's Dance Team and we are traveling to the UDA National Dance Team Championships on Thursday to compete :) You've probably seen these competitions on ESPN:) We are pretty good...fingers crossed we come home with a big trophy!
 
CD and BigMac said:
sommerbethel said:
yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=9&t=4687

Buddy was playful and sweet this morning :)

I'm leaving town this Thursday and will not return until Monday. I'd like to get some suggestions on dosing for when I'm gone.

DBF will be shooting and finding 0.75 on the syringe is not going to be possible...with Buddy's numbers right now I'm not sure what to do so I need all the help I can get. I'm thinking that if we go down a little it won't be enough insulin for him and if we go back to 0.50 that may be too much...suggestions???
Did you mean to say if you "go back to 1.00u that may be too much?

I would not increase the dose, no.
As Ronnie said, can you have DBF practice with the .75u?

If not, then to be safe, you would drop to a dose with a syringe marking... and that would be 0.50u. You can regain the momentum when you return. But increasing the dose is not a good idea.

Yes that's what I meant...oops
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I would reduce to 0.5, nice and easy to measure. Last time we gave a no-shot number, do you remember what it was? :lol: I think it was around 120. And I remember that Buddy did great. Maybe that will help answer the question about whether he is bouncing, too, if his numbers improve with less juice.

The no-shot number was 125...sounds like a good plan to me.

One concern...I need to push Buddy's shoot time to 9am and 9pm, he is usually shot at 7 and 7, I don't have the ability to move his time gradually so I'm thinking I shoot normal time Wed night and DBF shoots him 2 hours late Thurs morning, 9am...When I return late Mon night DBF will have already given him his shot and I need to be back on schedule at 7am Tuesday morning...so I'm thinking DBF not shoot him on Monday night that way I can just shoot on time Tuesday morning?

Does that sound like it will work?
 
I think the time shifts will work - not ideal due to the skipped shot, but it will work and it sounds like it's the most feasible plan given your schedules.
 
2/1 Buddy PM +1 234, +3.5 248, +4 238

OMG...UGH... grr_red

angry(2)_cat

I think I heard a hairball when he was purring tonight so I gave some vaseline...maybe he just has the mother of all hairballs?!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top