2/1 BOUNCE ADVICE DAVIDSON +5.5 70 +6 91 +11 19.7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Happy Feb 1st............

Davidson started off this morning +9 at 244.........so see where he goes today as beginning of his 9th cycle and perhaps as the day goes on you can let me know if we should look at increasing the dose on Monday

Enjoy your Saturday!
Shawna
 
Re: 2/1 DAVIDSON AMPS 280

WOW o WOW Davidson hit his FIRST GREEN............+4 is 96, sorry could not get the +2 as I had to get my tenants sorted out in the other house and couldn't be here. I will give him a shot each hour and make sure he is stable..........

QUESTION - what should I look for as he has never been this low

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96

Shawna

That's a pretty good drop but great to see him in green!!

I would give him two good tsps of low carb food and test at +5. I'm not able to stay with you but this post on How to Handle Low Numbers should help. There might be others around in an hour if you need help so you can post. There is usually someone around. I'm sorry...normally I'd hang out and help you but it's my DH's birthday.
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96

You mean give him a TEST each hour, not a shot right?

Let us know. You may need to take action if he drops under 50 depending when that is in the cycle.
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96

Good morning! :cool:

First Green - fabulous!

BK has a message for Davidson:


:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I'll pop in from time to time and check on the two of you.

You are doing Great!

Go Davidson :RAHCAT
 

Attachments

  • totally off the hook chichilla-boy (441x550) (401x500) (401x500) (321x400).jpg
    totally off the hook chichilla-boy (441x550) (401x500) (401x500) (321x400).jpg
    116.5 KB · Views: 552
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96

yes, give him a TEST in 10 min...........post shortly...........should be interesting now that he's entered the GREEN zone............
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96

Woo hoo on your first green! :mrgreen: :RAHCAT You'll do a great job. Happy Caturday! :-D
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96 +5 75

I gave him food at 30 min before and he grazes and I gave him high protein dried turkey treats........did I mess up?? oh-oh.

He seems fine, wide away and sitting and watching me.........
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96 +5 75

So he had food last at +3.5 . Let us know the amount and if it was LC or not.

Feed 1 tsp LC at this point and test in 30 mins.

These are great numbers!
You want to keep him steady - on a nice green surf - that's the goal.
So don't over feed - easy does it.

You are doing fine :cool:

eta - I've got to pill one of my cats so will step away a few minutes, I'll be back
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96 +5 75

Hi Sandy - THANKS!! he ate between +4 and +5 (13:30 AND 14:30) and he doesn't want to eat now - but I will try.........he ate about 2 tblsp. of LC Fancy Feast liver pate
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON AMPS 280 +4 96 +5 75

Beautiful ! :cool:

Grab a +6 and see if he has jumped on his surf board and riding the green wave.
No worries if he is not in the mood to eat right now.

I'm going to step away for now and will meet you back here to see the +6 .
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON +4 96 +5 75 +5.5 70

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Surfs Up!

Well done! :cool:

Test periodically for the rest of the cycle in case of any surprises and also to gain valuable data on his reaction to this beautiful green streak.

I'll pop in periodically between now and 6:45pm eastern when I will be going out for the night.
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON +4 96 +5 75 +5.5 70

Thanks Sandy and everyone............I guess this is the correct dose and will do another test at +8 - +9 as safe to leave now.

Enjoy the afternoon

Shawna
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON +4 96 +5 75 +5.5 70

Beautiful cycle for Davidson today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Great job Shawna. :-D

From the protocol (relevant bits highlighted):
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON +4 96 +5 75 +5.5 70

Davidson is rising. It looks like the nadir is +6. The key is to get him within the 50-120 range, which will help heal the pancreas better. He's starting to look great. Keep up the excellent work.
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON +4 96 +5 75 +5.5 70

Just saw this and wanted to congratulate Davidson (and you, too, Shawna!) on his first surf in the Green Lagoon. The LagoonMeister is mighty proud of him.

Ella & Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
Re: 2/1 GREEN ZONE ADVICE DAVIDSON +4 96 +5 75 +5.5 70

Appreciate the feedback........

So to recap his 'low' levels he was +5 75, +5.5 70 and +6 91...............so is his nadir +5.5? I will test again before his shot tonight and then again at +2. I guess if his +2 is lower then the PMPS then is it safe to sleep thru the night or do I have to have a PJ party?

Shawna
 
Hi

So - is this a BOUNCE? +11 is 19.4...........was +6 91

Do I need to do anything differently tonight? Giving Davidson his shot in an hour and not sure what to expect after a green day.

Thanks

Shawna
 
19.7 = 355
Yup, Davidson is bouncing cause he got lower than his liver is used to. The only thing you can do is sigh, and depending on his before bed test, you might get a good sleep tonight. ;-)
 
Like Wendy said, this is a bounce. Davidson isn't used to hanging out in normal numbers. As a result, his liver and pancreas panicked and released a stored form of glucose, along with counterregulatory hormones. These cause BG levels to spike. It can take some kitties roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. The more time Davidson spends in normal numbers, the more his body will get used to being in that range and the bounces will become shorter and/or less dramatic. So, for tonight, get a couple of tests and it's likely that you can get to bed early.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top