2/1/15 Tabitha PMPS 145+2 118+3 91+3.5 80+4 79+4.5 74+5 68+6 91+7 122

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow, after last night I would have thought you would be able to try going without a shot this morning, but I really don't know. Hopefully an expert will jump in and help.
 
Morning, Tina & Sami. She's starting out nicely this morning. If Sami was my cat, I would've shot that #, however, being it's your first lower AMPS, I would wait until someone with more knowledge comes by to help you. The only thing that I noticed is that you had only 1 number below 50 two days ago, and you reduced. If you're following the TRP (Tight Regulation Protocol), to earn a dose reduction the kitty would need to do any of the following: a) stay in the 50-120 as much as possible for 7 days; b) drop below 50 3x.. or c) drop below 40 1x. Perhaps there's an underlying issue for the reasoning behind the dose reductions lately. Hopefully someone will come by to help you with any questions that you need answered, and will also advise as to what to do.

Either way, you're doing an awesome job with her. Keep up the excellent work! :D
 
Sharon

I think it's fine if you skip and grab some sleep. Let the depot drain and then we can reassess. Don't panic if the numbers go up.
 
Hmmm...thought I replied but don't see it.

I'd skip and get some sleep. I'd let the depot drain and then we can reassess later today.

Wendy's post from last night:
Before I forget - I've asked a few people to comment about Tabitha's new dose, but I don't think you'll get answers until tomorrow, make that later today. ;) It could be that Tabitha is still seeing some of the effects of the depot from the .5U dose. You can see those effects for 4-6 cycles, so she's definitely seeing the effects of the .25u dose. One way to help deplete the depot is to skip tomorrow morning. Unless she's really high, like over 250 in which case you could shoot .1U again tomorrow morning. If you aren't sure what to do, test her and post for help deciding what to shoot (if anything) in the morning.

Edited to add: I'm one of the people Wendy asked to comment. I also think we might be seeing depot from higher doses and by letting the depot drain, we can get an idea of whether it's best to shoot 0.1u or less.
 
Yes, you are new, and that's ok. :) As you continue along this journey, you'll grow more confident, and shoot lower and lower #s. Believe me, I was apprehensive about shooting a lower #, too, when I first saw it. I did it, though, and I was constantly monitoring her to be sure that she was safe. I had HC food in case she went too low, and as time went on, I learned that just by feeding her regular food to her brought her back up, or kept her from dropping further. Now, I won't shoot any 50's #s, or just recently definitely won't shoot a 40's #. That I skipped, and she did fine without the insulin for 24 hours. With regards to Tabitha, you'll learn what works for her, and what doesn't as time goes on. You'll be facing a lot of trial and error, and you'll have countless days of discouragement if something doesn't work. It's just the way it is. And then, you'll have epiphanies, and go "Ah HA!!! NOW I know what to do for her..." Or.. "Hmm... Let's try this instead and see what happens." You're in a very good group of people here who care about Tabitha just as much as you do, and they'll never steer you wrong. :) I'm glad you joined the Feline Diabetic Message Board. We all are. :)
 
If you're following the TRP (Tight Regulation Protocol), to earn a dose reduction the kitty would need to do any of the following: a) stay in the 50-120 as much as possible for 7 days; b) drop below 50 3x.. or c) drop below 40 1x.

This is not correct info. For a newly diagnosed cat, such as Tabitha, a reduction is earned when kitty goes below 50 once or is in normal numbers for seven days.
 
Sharon

I'm sorry....I wasn't sure if you were thinking of shooting and were asking whether to test again soon for that. Still just getting my :coffee::coffee: after our pj party. :joyful:

I'd test in a couple hours to see if she's coming up and if she is, I'd test at +22 (which would normally be her +10 if you had shot this morning) to see where she is going into PMPS.
 
Ok...great. And in the subject line, you can just put AMBG 115 and we will know you skipped.

Tabitha is on a mission and sometimes the CG and the cat need a mental health break....and it gives us an opportunity to see what she will do with some depot draining. Happy dreams!
 
@phlika29
Thanks for checking in: I would like to get her back on a 5:30 PS time and with her not eating earlier in the week we are at about 8:00. Marje wanted me to test @ +22 (or +10 on cycle) so I was going to test now.
 
I hope you got a good rest in today Sharon. You've had a couple of crazy nights! Good job last night handling the numbers. I'm just a wee bit curious to see how she did with no insulin this morning.:) For the spreadsheet, could you put NS, for no shot, in the units column. That way we no you skipped instead of just forgot to enter the data.
 
Her test just now is 153. Is it ok to move back the shot time from 8:00 to 5:3p or is it at too critical of time to do it now?

I'm not sure when I'll make it back to work but when I do ...
I don't feel too guilty about work; I have the time which I need to use plus when my daughter died two years ago next Sunday I took only a few days off. (I knew I shouldn't stay home alone.....) Nursing Tabitha has kept my mind off of the fast advancing date. Alishia would have wanted me to do this.

Tabitha just had a little bit of food. Tabitha ignoring me for testing time; "It's not a test for the movies?"
20150201_154334.jpg
 
Well darn on that 153, looks like she's not quite ready for the next stage yet. Was that 153 before food or after? I think it's back to .1U for tonight. You can shoot at whatever time as it's past 12 hours since the last shot.

Sorry to hear about your daughter. No parent should have to go through that.:bighug:
 
Lovely photo. I am very sorry to hear about your daughter. My friend lost her daughter just before Christmas and it has been the hardest of times. I am glad you have found some comfort in your lovely cats, even if it is rather stressful at the moment.
 
@phlika29
It's been a hard two years. Two months after Alishia died my senior cat (20 years old) died. It took me a year when Marcus came into my life. Alishia was my only child. Now I guess I'm becoming the crazy cat lady. :cat:
 
Well you're in good company then! We're all members of the Crazy Cat Lady club! (apologies to those few sugardads we have out there!)

I can't imagine the pain of losing a child. I'm sure Alishia is watching over you and Tabitha and sending her love

crazy cat lady feeding time play set.jpg
 
I hope she doesnt keep you up all night again. I was up with mine last night til 4am, and just worked 10 hours:(. Hopefully she has a nice gentle slide down for you and surfs! Im so sorry about your daughter Sharon..I cant imagine what its been like for you, and the loss of your kitty as well, must have been difficult.:bighug:
 
I think I'd hold off on the food and see what she does without it. If she's starting up at the next test, that's the first of two test without influence of food (meaning you can sleep after the second).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top