2/1/15 Lucy AMPS=273 +4=169 +7=142 +10=127 PMPS 155/164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
We may have another lower PMPS reading tonight because of the quick lowering of blood glucose earlier in the cycle so see what happens though sometimes readings have increased again before the next dose. I am preparing to dose at a lower level if I have to. :)
If anyone looks at our spreadsheet please also look at the world version as the U.S. version is not displaying all the readings properly. I don't know why that is.
My previous post is at: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pre-dose-glucose-levels.130689/#post-1344836
We have changed from relaxed lantus to tight regulation so I can spend my summer holidays being anxious. :cool::D
 
We have changed from relaxed lantus to tight regulation so I can spend my summer holidays being anxious. :cool::D
hahahaha oh my. well, look at it this way: by summer you'll have this process down and feel like you can literally do it in your sleep. Knowledge is power.

and then, life will be completely stress-free. :D

i keep meaning to ask - is there any dry food in the picture for Lucy?
 
Hi Julie. Thank you for the confidence building pep talk that life will be stress free soon. :) I don't feed Lucy any dry food. I stopped feeding her dry food when she was diagnosed with diabetes. Sometimes it would be handy to be able to leave some dry food out when I am out for the day but I leave out frozen canned food instead. I do have a bag of Hills m/d which I was feeding Lucy before she was diagnosed with diabetes because I was changing her to a lower carb diet because she needed to lose weight but I stopped feeding the dry Hills m/d when we got the diabetes diagnosis. It is fine because Lucy prefers canned food to dry food. In fact she has mostly eaten canned food though in recent years the canned food has been higher carb foods. Now I feed a few of the low carb fancy feast canned foods and I have recently begun feeding Lucy some of the new Whiskas low carb loaf variety in pouches foods which seem to have little effect on Lucy's blood glucose levels which is good.
 
ok, thanks for clarifying that. it's easier to manage tight regulation if there isn't dry food in the picture.

i think you're going to be surprised at how easy it is. :D
 
Hi Sandy. Lucy is cruising along nicely in the blue today which I am happy about. The latest reading is 7.1/128 at +10. I think the reading will be still low at +12 so then will come the anxiety about dosing and about giving the full dose or not. I will post the results of that test when I do it.
 
Our PMPS is 8.6/155. What do I do? Do I give full dose of 2.75 units? I have only given Lucy insulin once when her reading was just under 200 so I feel anxious.
 
If you have plenty of strips some hc food etc I would give her the full dose I can stay with you for the cycle
 
Hi Voula,

Can you stall?
That way get a better feel for where she is going
Hi Sandy. Yes I decided to wait a little bit and test again. Thank you. I will test again in the next fifteen minutes. Lucy had a teaspoon of low carb food as a treat when I did the PMPS test so it shouldn't have affected her glucose levels too much. Her glucose level is over 150 but not by much and I feel anxious again. :)
 
If you have plenty of strips some hc food etc I would give her the full dose I can stay with you for the cycle
Hi Serryn. Here we are again. :) Me anxious and you encouraging me again. I decided to wait a little bit longer and I will test again soon and let you know. I will test in the next fifteen minutes again. I don't want the readings to get too high again like last time. Though it was in the middle of the night and me and Lucy fell asleep and when we woke up and I tested her again her glucose level was very high again. Would a slightly reduced dose be wise? I know at about 16 hours both times we had good lower readings that the glucose levels rose high again so I am thinking a reduced dose by the time it starts working might not be effective enough. Does that all sound right or not? Thank you for your understanding, support and patience.
 
If you have plenty of strips some hc food etc I would give her the full dose I can stay with you for the cycle
Thank you Serryn. I just went to the chemist and got more test strips and I have plenty of high carb food and honey too.
 
Honestly 15 mins isn't going to make any real difference as far as test results go. She has risen from her nadir which we know thanks to your excellent testing so she'll only be surfing or going up. Reducing the dose is an option to make you feel more comfortable but it's not likely to have any real effect in this cycle. I think it's time to bite the bullet Voula - I would shoot the full dose now
 
With Sherryn here you are in good hands. Go for it!

FYI - when you shoot a reduced dose the depot will compensate for this cycle and you will likely not see the effects of the reduction until the next cycle.
 
Good work Voula :) Because of the shed effect reducing a dose often has an effect in later cycles rather than the cycle you actually do the reduction in.

So were you up to +12.25 with that last test or was it a bit longer?

ETA - I've been having a study of her spreadsheet and I think lucy's fine to wait until +2 for another test - how about you?
 
Last edited:
The last test was at +12.45. I gave Lucy her normal 2.75 units though it could have been a little less than usual but more than 2.5 units in any case. Sometimes I sit there and fill several syringes trying to get precise but I thought the amount was okay and a drop less gives me confidence at the moment. :) Thank you so much Serryn and Sandy too. I know this was an important moment for us to build my confidence.
 
Bravo! Well Done!
Thank you Sandy. I can see by the last two times before this that when the glucose levels went high again it took a few days for them to come down again. So it is important to give insulin to keep the numbers lower and after studying others' spreadsheets I see that dosing at lower glucose levels doesn't seem to make the glucose levels plummet right down. Thank you again to both you and Serryn too. I presume now I check blood glucose at +1 and +2?
 
Yes Lucy can wait so I will wait too. :) She starts to stress a bit after too many tests so I have to be mindful of that too. We need to test but I don't want to test to satisfy my curiosity. I need to have some dinner too. Lucy has a full tummy now.
 
Good :) I'll still keep my eyes on you between now and then so let me know if you're having a heart attack.
 
Thank you for the laugh Serryn. It helps to laugh a bit. I am going to cook some dinner now as chocolate has eased my nerves a bit but not provided nourishment. :) I will post with our +2 test result in an hour and fifteen minutes from now. :)
 
don't leave it any longer, we want to see where she's going

teeheehee I didn't think I'd be saying that to you tonight - thought it would be more of the opposite!
 
I just did a +2 test and it was 12.8/230 on the usual glucometer which gave me an error when I put the test strip in without using it so I used a second strip and also used a second glucometer I have and the reading on the second glucometer was 11.9/214. You made me smile telling me to test soon. :) When should I do another test?
 
If we don't keep our sense of humour we'll all go crazy! Was that actually +2? I think you're about 1/2 an hour later than I expected
 
Yes that is true you have to laugh a bit. This latest test was two hours after insulin tonight. I think I initially said in two hours but I had calculated two hours from PMPS test. I gave insulin about twenty minutes after the PMPS test. So the test I did now was 2 hours and 20 minutes after the last test and two hours after the insulin dose.
 
Okay maybe you can help me with the times of the tests. Say you give insulin at 9.00 am and do a test at 10.45 am. How would you record it as +2?
 
+1.75 - each quarter hour is .25. I would try to be as accurate as possible, it helps people trying to work out her patterns from her spreadsheet. I can help you fix up the US page of her spreadsheet too if you like. Everyone uses the US numbers so it makes it a little difficult for them when part of the pattern is missing
 
Thank you. I was typing 45 minutes as .45 so I will type .75 from now on if I need to. If you could help fix the U.S. page that would be great thank you so much Serryn. Do you think though that changing the U.S. page might affect the world page? Maybe leave it and I will do that myself as I will make a copy first just in case. :) If I can't fix it I will let you know.
 
ok then - first we can go to the US page and delete the extra lines that have #REF! in the date column, you can see that you're not missing data from those as the dates run properly without them. To do that you go to the very left edge of that row on the spreadsheet and click on that so the whole row gets highlighted, then right click and delete should come up as on option. Click on that and repeat for each of those extra rows
 
Thank you Serryn. I started by amending the readings for yesterday and today and now will work on the rest of it. That is so great as I worried if I amended the U.S. version it would affect the world version but it didn't.
 
Well done :) only the US reads from the World, the World page is independent.

See for tonight's PMPS in the US page you can't see what the times were, if you put a gap between the number and the @ the row will go longer and we'll be able to see it all. better to do it that way than widening the column so the whole page can still be seen in one screen
 
I am thinking of doing another blood glucose test at 5 or 6 hours after the insulin dose. I am not sure if I should do one sooner than that or not. I am mindful of not stressing Lucy too much as she seems a bit stressed by these extra tests the past few days and I can see she is stressed when I pick her up to take her to the couch which is our testing spot. Though she relaxes very quickly and I do want to keep her as safe as can be by doing the necessary tests.
 
Interesting usually they care less as they get used to it because it doesn't really hurt and they get treats. Are her ears looking bruised or anything? Do you use a lancet or freehand? what gauge needle? how much blood do you usually get, e.g. just enough - too much something in between? Are you able to alternate ears?
 
It is more when I pick her up to take her to the couch that she seems stressed. Once she starts eating the food she is okay though she does feel the lancet and I do feel it hurts her a bit. I use the lancet freehand which is 28 gauge. I usually get just enough blood but sometimes more if the lancet hits the vein which I try not to do. I alternate ears but probably should do that more and I think one of her ears might be a bit sore so I will try to alternate ears more and vary the spots on the ears more too.
 
Lucy is a very sensitive cat so I worry about causing her stress but she also seems to recover from the stress quickly too.
 
Not sure what your situation is are you able to test her wherever she happens to be to avoid that trip to the couch? I am quite limber so I just plonk down on the floor or wherever Vyktor happens to be when I test him, whereas my mum can't do that so she needs to put Purrdy on the bench to do him.
Do you pin her down to take the test? Most cats hate their movement being restricted more than a test. Also do you hold the pricked spot firmly but not squeezing for a little bit after the test - that helps it not to bruise
 
Also the big one - if you're stressing she will feed off that and get stressed herself. Try not to treat it like it's a big deal beforehand, cuddles afterwards of course - but the you're a good girl kind, not the there there my poor little kitty kind
 
I can do the test where she is sitting and the other night I did that. I think overall it is better to use the couch as that has become the testing spot. When we first started I tested her wherever she was and I think it made her feel stressed overall as there was no safe spot. But like the other night it might be better occasionally to just test her where she is sitting. I do squeeze the spot on the ears gently after the test and that minimises bruising. No I don't restrain Lucy when I do the test. She is busy eating and I do the test when she is eating.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top