Re: 2/05 Morris AMPS 47 - now 65!! dose advice??
Hi Gwen. In my opinion, you did fine. Yes, I always feed the 40's. I believe in safety first especially if the bean has to go to work. Even if it is just before shot time, I would not let a kitty hang around the 40's without a little food. If you could have stayed home... maybe MC would have been ok.
Now after Morris had half a can of HC his BG was only 65. That isn't a big spike so IMO he handled it just fine and I hope he went even higher later. Then you gave a reduced dose, again that is what I would have done. If you were on a smaller dose, I would have said skip it altogether.
For the safety of the kitty who is not able to be monitored, you did the right thing. I would much rather lose momentum than put a kitty in danger, so I would always vote for the conservative route. You can regain the pace when you are able to monitor.
If you had given LC, I'm not sure Morris would have risen very much. I know the common thought is to NOT feed just before shooting, but sometimes you have to do it. This was one of those times. It is best to stall to see if BG is rising before giving food, but nothing is perfect and hanging out in the 40's (without food) makes me very uncomfortable unless you were sitting right next to Morris all day.
The Rand protocol does suggest feeding when the BG is too low to shoot. (We use a modified version of the the Tilly/Rand protocol.)
They say:
a) Feed the cat and reduce dose by .25 or .50
b) Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours to see if BG rises above 100, give normal dose
c) Split the dose, feed the cat, give remainder of dose 1-2 hours later when BG is above 100. (I don't think we have ever suggested this one.)
We usually say:
1) Stall and retest in 15-30 to see if BG is rising or stable so you can shoot full dose
2) Shoot reduced dose (BCS dose)
3) Skip shot
You did option a).
I think in this case, it was fine. I occasionally had to feed/stall/shoot when my kitty was going OTJ. This method is used less frequently these days, but it worked well for me.
Edit: I went back and re-read the thread and you had lots of good advice. Sienne was trying to get you to find out which way Morris was heading before the food intervened. That is the safest thing to do if you had time - then make a decision about if/what to shoot and feed.
And Monique had a good point too, hahaha, (big pile of doodoo) and there were many variables that would influence the BG.
The main problem was lack of time to stall and regroup. But that's ok, move on! Tonight we'll see how it all affected Morris's numbers.