? 2/01 Hugo, AMBG 176, 380+1 , 499+9,PMPS HI, 430+1, 281+2, 101+3

MangoPie

Member Since 2024
Hi! Still figuring out the correct way to post here and format my posts. This is my first post on the Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars board so please let me know if I'm doing anything incorrectly. Spreadsheet linked in signature.

Big jump this morning! Please note that I'm currently only doing one shot a day on the PMs (vet's recommendation). Still in the early stages of working out Hugo's dosing so numbers are a bit wild at the moment. No idea why they jumped so high this morning! My brother is doing testing for me while I'm at work-- hopefully the next shot brings his BG down into an acceptable range.

My Libre 2 is also getting a bit old (been on for almost a week now) so I'm not sure if these newer numbers are accurate. got my Abbott Freestyle Optium Neo delivered today so I will cross check numbers.

Vet appointment on Saturday-- thinking if trends stay the same that I should suggest 0.25u in the AM and then 0.25u in the afternoon. Originally it was 0.5u once a day but this caused him to crash far too quickly.
 
Hi there...

Welcome to the FDMB. You have found a great forum for guidance with Hugo. Lately, I haven't posted that often and have been popping on occasionally. I'm not an expert, but am here for support. Our Tango was diagnosed the same age as Hugo. He went into remission after 6 months, then came out 6 months later. It's been about 7 months since.

Your post looks fine. Just a couple suggestions... if you have a question put a ? in yor title so others will know that you have one - add diagnosis date and dosting type (TR or SLGS) to your signature. Also, add diet (wet, dry, combo).

I do believe if you're using Lantus, you should dose twice a day, every 12 hours.

You can also tag experts on this forum if you would like a quicker response. I'm going to tag Bhooma. She is in India and is usually around this time with the time difference.

@Bandit's Mom
 
Hi there...

Welcome to the FDMB. You have found a great forum for guidance with Hugo. Lately, I haven't posted that often and have been popping on occasionally. I'm not an expert, but am here for support. Our Tango was diagnosed the same age as Hugo. He went into remission after 6 months, then came out 6 months later. It's been about 7 months since.

Your post looks fine. Just a couple suggestions... if you have a question put a ? in yor title so others will know that you have one - add diagnosis date and dosting type (TR or SLGS) to your signature. Also, add diet (wet, dry, combo).

I do believe if you're using Lantus, you should dose twice a day, every 12 hours.

You can also tag experts on this forum if you would like a quicker response. I'm going to tag Bhooma. She is in India and is usually around this time with the time difference.

@Bandit's Mom

Thank you for the advice!!

Glad you got to have those 6 months of remission before things got rocky again. Hope it's in the cards for Hugo considering his circumstances.

I've now added the question mark to my title and updated my signature!

I'm still not sure about who the experts are and when it's appropriate to tag so I've been holding off for now. Thank you for tagging for me!
 
Hello and welcome to the LBL forum. If you haven't already, I suggest reading the yellow starred Sticky Notes. There's a lot in there, take your time. Feel free to ask questions - people here are very generous with their time.
No idea why they jumped so high this morning!
Lantus doesn't last 24 hours in cats like it does in humans. So the insulin effect ran out and his numbers went up. If you could shoot twice a day, you'll get more even numbers for the day and night.
 
Hello and welcome to the LBL forum. If you haven't already, I suggest reading the yellow starred Sticky Notes. There's a lot in there, take your time. Feel free to ask questions - people here are very generous with their time.

Lantus doesn't last 24 hours in cats like it does in humans. So the insulin effect ran out and his numbers went up. If you could shoot twice a day, you'll get more even numbers for the day and night.

Makes sense! Not sure why my vet only recommended once daily. It definitely seems like he'd benefit from 0.25u in the morning
I'm going to skip the am dose tomorrow (I'll be at work so I won't be able to monitor it's effects) but I'm going to discuss it with my vet and use the weekend to test and see how it goes.

I'll have a bit more data then to confirm the AM upticks in BG
 
At it again with the dramatic drops but at least it's not as dramatic as Tuesday. Since yesterday was less dramatic and held stable for so long, I'm wondering if shooting at a lower BG is having a less dramatic effect on him.
Hopefully it's the case since I won't be shooting at high numbers if I end up doing an AM shot.
 
Hi! Still figuring out the correct way to post here and format my posts. This is my first post on the Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars board so please let me know if I'm doing anything incorrectly. Spreadsheet linked in signature.

Big jump this morning! Please note that I'm currently only doing one shot a day on the PMs (vet's recommendation). Still in the early stages of working out Hugo's dosing so numbers are a bit wild at the moment. No idea why they jumped so high this morning! My brother is doing testing for me while I'm at work-- hopefully the next shot brings his BG down into an acceptable range.

My Libre 2 is also getting a bit old (been on for almost a week now) so I'm not sure if these newer numbers are accurate. got my Abbott Freestyle Optium Neo delivered today so I will cross check numbers.

Vet appointment on Saturday-- thinking if trends stay the same that I should suggest 0.25u in the AM and then 0.25u in the afternoon. Originally it was 0.5u once a day but this caused him to crash far too quickly.
Hello and welcome! We are here to help. You will find lots of support when you post here. Be sure to ask lots of questions and read as much of the informational stickies. It’s a lot of information to process.
Be sure to use the question mark and put a question in your title if you need an answer!

Please add you are using a Libre 2 in your Signature so people will be aware.
I use a Libre 3 so I am familiar with how they work. Theoretically, they should work more than a week. But sometimes they can be wonky. As you use them you will get more familiar with if something looks odd.
I also am able to do an ear prick with Ivy when needed to double check a number of concern. Especially a very low number on the Libre, which tends to read lower than the number usually is on a handheld meter.
Wishing you and Hugo all the best. :cat::bighug::cat:
 
Going from a BG of “HI” to the 50’s in 4 hours on 0.25u of Lantus is a LOT of movement. Are these BG values still from the Libre? If so, could you verify on the handheld meter, especially the low numbers?

On SLGS, you reduce the dose any time the BG goes under 90. It’s possible to give doses less than 0.25u, but it would be good to verify the BG values on the hand-held meter before getting too far into that discussion. @Wendy&Neko Thoughts?

Also, can you confirm that your Lantus (Optisulin) is U-100 concentration and that your insulin syringes are labeled as U-100? I’m know we’ve gone over this before but still worth double checking. :)
 
Last edited:
Going from a BG of “HI” to the 50’s in 4 hours on 0.25u of Lantus is a LOT of movement. Are these BG values still from the Libre? If so, could you verify on the handheld meter, especially the low numbers?

On SLGS, you reduce the dose any time the BG goes under 90. It’s possible to give doses less than 0.25u, but it would be good to verify the BG values on the hand-held meter before getting too far into that discussion. @Wendy&Neko Thoughts?

Also, can you confirm that your Lantus (Optisulin) is U-100 concentration and that your insulin syringes are labeled as U-100? I’m know we’ve gone over this before but still worth double checking. :)

It's an insane amount of movement! I've been trying to find similar trends on other spreadsheets and I've seen nothing like it.

These values are indeed from the Libre. At the moment it looks like it's starting to peel off around the edges so I'm hoping this just chalks up to be Libre wonkyness. Hugo has had it on for about 6 days now. My FreeStyle Optium Neo arrived today but the box came with everything but the testing strips, so I was unable to use it today. I'll be curious to see how the values shape up compared to the Libre. I will do my final Libre tests in the morning before returning from work with some strips.

I can confirm that I am using the Optisulin SoloStar pen, it says 100UI/ml on the pen. I have BD Ultra-fine u-100 needles (u-100 is also printed on the side of the needles). I have been using the 0.2 ruler from this file (so not quite 0.25 but with how finicky the small numbers are, I imagine it's just around that range). I have been drawing out an insanely tiny amount of insulin-- the stopper basically halo's the edge of 0. I barely feel any movement when pushing the plunger during injection time, so I feel like I can't be overdoing it lots if anything.

Edit: I'm not sure how much it matters but I will mention these details just in case: he is also on 1 1/2 Amoxyclav tablets twice a day for treatment of a UTI (he recently came out of DKA) and his gingivostomatitis is currently being untreated since the steroid is what made him diabetic to begin with. I imagine inflammation could be the cause of some spikes. He is also underweight but eating well. He always eats at least half of his food before his PM shot so about 40-60grams of Ziwi Peak Wet food
 
Last edited:
How long has he been off steroids?

Stopping steroids and resolving any infections that are present can lower BG. Of course inflammation can raise BG, so not treating the gingivostomatitis could have the opposite affect, maybe.

My Charlie could be super sensitive to Lantus — high 400s to double digits in 2-3 hours or so, if I recall, and also on as little as a 0.25u dose. It was a lot to grasp at first.

In Hugo’s case, with DKA in the recent past, I’d hesitate to stop insulin shots (not that you’re even thinking of that) unless you can absolutely trust the BG values you’re seeing. I’d also be testing urine regularly for ketones—definitely want to stay on top of that.
 
g'day mate good to see you posting over here on the LLB. Good job with the formatting!

what kind of cat is Mango, almost looks Siamese or a similar breed. Abyssinian maybe?
 
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-insulin-shot-worried-about-low-numbers.286141/
Did you receive the U-100 syringes with half unit marking yet ?
@MangoPie
For reference syringes with half unit markings
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
Last edited:
How long has he been off steroids?

Stopping steroids and resolving any infections that are present can lower BG. Of course inflammation can raise BG, so not treating the gingivostomatitis could have the opposite affect, maybe.

My Charlie could be super sensitive to Lantus — high 400s to double digits in 2-3 hours or so, if I recall, and also on as little as a 0.25u dose. It was a lot to grasp at first.

In Hugo’s case, with DKA in the recent past, I’d hesitate to stop insulin shots (not that you’re even thinking of that) unless you can absolutely trust the BG values you’re seeing. I’d also be testing urine regularly for ketones—definitely want to stay on top of that.

Stopped the steroids about a week before the DKA and Diabetes diagnosis since he wasn't eating well enough to give it to him, so around the 15th of January.

With how much his BG spikes I'd be hesitant to stop insulin too-- just might need to be monitored closely to familiarize myself with his patterns. My new reader can also test for ketones with a special strip. Getting urine samples at the moment is a bit difficult, so I hope this can work as a replacement for ketostix?

Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-insulin-shot-worried-about-low-numbers.286141/
Did you receive the U-100 syringes with half unit marking yet ?
@MangoPie
For reference syringes with half unit markings
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


They haven't arrived yet no! I'm making do with a printed ruler and the single unit syringes as it's the best I have access to.

The drop should be much slower if he's starting from a lower number with 2 shots a day.

I'm really hoping this is the case! With twice a day I'll be shooting blue in the mornings and I'm terrified he'll just drop in numbers. Considering the fact that he tapered off nicely on Wednesday with a lower PMPS I'm hoping that'll happen in the morning and we'll have some nicer numbers through the day.
 
If you work you may want to purchase an automatic feeder to open at certain hours so Hugo will have food available
Do you have med and high carb foods for your hypo kit
Here is the link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...an-cat-food-list-suitable-for-fd-cats.216897/
For higher carb Fancy Feast cans for your Hypo Toolbox

I've been looking into auto feeders. Atm I'm holding off since his eating is still inconsistent. I've been just leaving out portions of wet food with some extra water/ice cubes in the morning before i leave to keep it fresh for a little longer.

I have everything I need to treat Hypos as well! Honey, some creamy treats and gravy fancy feast.
 
Back
Top