1st time to Lantus, Juniors AMPS 149, then 215

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

This is my first visit here, have been using main board since he was first dx.

Junior's numbers in the beginning are missing due to needle issues and such, learning curve for both of us, I measured water intake and urine output along with test strips, to get a glucose number, now that we are getting the hang of it, the ss looks better, somewhat...

This morning I got 149, it didn't seem right for some reason, so I did it again about 3 minutes later and got 215, he is on all wet food, lo-carb 3 x daily.

I still gave him his shot this am, but am wondering why the number difference?
Urine & water are fine, walking much better after almost 2 months on methyl b-12, he went and took his little 15 minute nap as usual.

any ideas? coincidence?
 
hi kay! welcome to you and junior!

that's not unreasonable for it to be the correct numbers. lantus wears off around +12 and it does rise, sometimes fairly quickly. that's why if you get a number that you think is too low to shoot, the first line of "attack" is to stall 15 or so minutes without giving any food and recheck the number. often it does go up to a number that is fine to shoot. as you get more experience and more data you'll feel comfortable shooting lower numbers.

glad his legs are working better! that b-12 seems to be almost miraculous!

have a great day!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Sometimes numbers are "off" because there's not enough blood (and it doesn't trigger an error message) or there's too much blood. I would, however, get some early tests in case the 149 was correct.

I'd encourage you to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board. In particular, you may want to look over the sticky on the Tight Regulation Protocol, which is the dosing protocol that most of us use here. To that end, it's great that you're getting pre-shot tests. However, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (lowest point in the cycle). This means that getting spot checks during the morning and evening cycles are very important. It's particularly important since you've already seen some lower numbers both at pre-shot and mid-cycle.
 
Welcome Junior and Bean! You've hit the jackpot in Lantus Land! The people here are great- knowledgeable, generous and kind. You'll get a handle on Junior's sugar dance! Hope you have a great day and weekend.
 
Hi guys .. I just wanted to stop in and say welcome! These are certainly some nice looking numbers for just starting lantus .. You'll find lots of helpful advice and people here so make yourself at home! Have a great weekend!
 
Welcome Kay and Junior! You are now part of an awesome community of caring, sharing folks. There is always someone here to answer questions or hold your hand, or cheer for you, whatever the moment requires. I'm relatively new, so I won't be giving any advice or answers anytime soon, but I'm always happy to cheer!
 
Thanks for the BIG welcome to Lantus Land!

I will try to get in some +1, +2. and +10, +11 numbers, anything to help my baby!

and I will get to the stickies on tight regulation control, I will print them out and bring home to read this weekend, I only have access to computer at work, I live in the mountains...beautiful colors right now!

maybe the 92 from a few weeks back should have been re-checked, I will remember that for next time.

thanks again, have a great friday and weekend.
 
I already printed out the first 3 links, and have my tool box all set up. Karo syrup readily available!

will print out the last link on shooting and handling low numbers, that makes me nervous, but if it has to be, then I will do it!

thanks for all your help, and so quickly too!

hugs from Junior to all of you!!
 
Hi Kay and Junior and welcome to Lantus Land!

It sounds as if you've already learned a lot on the FDMB and it's great that you're home testing. We live in the mountains, too (Adirondacks), and I know that many communities here still don't have broadband internet or wireless access for cell phones. If access is your problem, you may have to find a work-around so that you can stay in touch on nights and weekends if you need timely help. Does your local library have internet access? Some tourism centers have free wi-fi and would probably let you use one of their computers. Anyway, it's worth checking out.
The meters and/or strips sometimes malfunction. When you get a number that doesn't seem right, always re-test. You can also do 2 consecutive tests on yourself, just to see what the fluctuation might be. All meters have an "acceptable" variable of 20% in either direction.

Welcome again, and we hope you will post regularly.

Ella & Rusty
 
Smart phone is a great idea, and would be very helpful, but I live in the mountains, and we have no cell reception, my little town of 35 won't even allow cell towers! if I drive 5 miles down the road to the hill, sometimes i can get reception, I am also looking into satelite computer...

The library in the next town does have a computer for public use, but only saturdays, 11 to 3 pm.

and I do have the number for the emergency vet in Concord, NH, they are available from 5pm on Friday til 8am on monday...my next problem is DH called, his mom is in the hospital, and my mom is on hospice, I am going to visit my mom this weekend, and DH has a very hard time doing the needle thing.

he will have to check urine dipsticks, lucky guy! he does it for Junior and for me!
 
stopping by to say Welcome, Kay & Junior!!

this is a magical place...it surely saved the life of my boy...
though most folks will tell you it was too late to save my sanity :-D
(we're the crazy duo round here) :lol:
you'll like it here!

celi & binks
 
Thanks for the welcome!

I am so lucky I found this site, it has helped so much, everyone is awesome!

and I learn so much, and learning more every day!

I won't be posting on weekends right now, but will start on Tuesday upon my return, and hope someday my little guy will be OTJ!!!!
and if not, that is ok too!
as long as he is around, him & his brother keep me young!

thanks again for all the welcomes, everyone have a nice weekend, enjoy whatever comes your way!
It is what it is.
( my mother in law's favorite saying )
 
Another possibility is a relay system. If you have a friend or family member who understands the bond between you and Junior, and if they have internet access, in a tense situation, they could post for you and relay information back. We've done this on a couple of occasions. It's a possible work around.
 
why hadn't I thought of that...I have a wonderful friend who has a computer, only 10 miles away by road, but seconds by phone, I am going to ask her to set up my account on her computer for just such a reason, she always took care of my boys til junior got diabetes, she doesn't do needles, but is very good at the computer...thanks for the idea!
 
awesome! sometimes the collective wisdom is just the thing.

thinking about you with your mom and mother-in-law also. you have a lot on your plate.

for your husband - i had mine help hold punkin while i tested and when i gave the shot, and after helping a hundred times he agreed to try it. the anticipation of doing all that stuff is worse than actually doing it. so keep having him help you and maybe it'll get to the point where he'll actually click the lancet - then you're on your way.
 
Hi Kay and Junior! You've gotten lots of great starting advice, so I'm just stopping in to say Welcome! This is the best place to be for you and Junior. FYI, the last "Junior" that was here went OTJ...hopefully there's something in the name!

Have a great weekend!

Amy & Trixie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top