? 1st curve complete

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamasBoBoMan

Member Since 2017
We completed his 1st curve today, but I'm not exactly sure what the information means and where to go from here. Any information or advice would be helpful... His results are posted in my Google Drive.
 
That's a very nice curve. It's quite typical of Novolin's action for BG to drop from relatively high pre shot values to a good nadir. You don't want the nadir to be much lower than this. Novolin can drop BG quickly and down to low numbers easily so having a nadir with "room" above the take action number of 50 (for a human meter) is your goal. An early-ish nadir is also fairly common with Novolin. The 1.5 u dose is looking very good at this point so stay with it. It's wise to get a test between +4 and +7 as often as you can. A before bed test is also useful because many cats run lower at night.

Congrats on a successful first curve! :)
 
The average amps the 1st week was 462. The average amps the second week is 329. I’d say that’s a good improvement. The nadir (lowest point) is good. Hopefully as his body gets used to these lower numbers the preshots will continue to get lower. Keep this dose for a while.
 
The +8 tests on Christmas Day and today's curve showing numbers in Bo's better range (the blues) point to his not getting that bad a duration for Novolin N (it peters out earlier in the cycle for some cats). That said, the pink at +10 on today's curve hints at all of the dose having been well and truly used up by then (to be expected because of the way Novolin N works (its action profile).

Re the nadir of 98, if Bo were mine I would not be looking to raise the dose. It's safest to aim for a nadir in the low 100s on the likes of Novolin N and Caninsulin/Vetsulin to leave a bit of safety 'wriggle room' so that if a kitty were to go a bit lower than usual (e.g. got a lot more exercise than normal during a cycle) there's a wide enough 'buffer zone' where an unexpected/uncharacteristic drop in BG levels is less likely to cause the kitty to go too low.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top