sleepycoons
Member Since 2010
My cat, Tas, is refusing to eat. I have tried varying the height of the bowls, hand feeding, warm food, mixing with warm and cold water, tuna, turkey, different brands, but he only nibbles a little and then lays back down.
History
2007 Diabetes diagnosis, on insulin and Purina DM
2008 Honeymoon!
2009 Amputation front leg for bone cancer, walked the next day, no problems
2012 August Hyperthyroidism diagnosis, pill 2x day fixed it
2012 October Diabetes diagnosis again, Lantus 1 unit 2x day
2012 Thanksgiving weekend Lantus increased 2 units 2x day
Three days after Lantus increase, BG crashed to 30, rushed to vet, given dextrose, BG back up to 300s. Gave 1 unit the next day, BG back to 30 again. Back to the dextrose. ER vet also gave enema. He thought Tas might have been sick b/c of constipation found on X-Ray. Brought him home Sunday night after long weekend in emergency clinic and was told to take him to my regular vet first thing in the morning. His BG at 9am Monday morning was 326. The vet kept him for the day and gave him 1/2 unit. BG dropped to 136 at lowest. Was told to give him 1/2 unit 2x/day but only if he ate. But he has refused to eat much since coming home Monday night. Considered euthanizing Wednesday night but he ate 1/2 can Wednesday night and seemed to be improving but then stopped eating again. He has lost a LOT of weight. Is down to 5lb from 7lb two weeks ago. He has had diarrhea all week and no longer acts like himself. he doesn't greet me when I come home, respond to catnip, or fight me when I bathe him. A couple times, he has defecated on himself rather than go to the litter box, thus the baths. The vet is hoping this is a bump he can get over as he has overcome a lot of health problems in the past but I feel he is miserable. All his blood panels come back negative for everything except for the diabetes. No liver or kidney problems. Going to take him to the vet tomorrow and see if it is time to let go. But really hoping someone might have any ideas on what's wrong. I'm very frustrated that nothing on his blood tests or x-rays is showing anything wrong yet he keeps having diarrhea, refuses to eat and is very lethargic. Any help is greatly appreciated.
History
2007 Diabetes diagnosis, on insulin and Purina DM
2008 Honeymoon!
2009 Amputation front leg for bone cancer, walked the next day, no problems
2012 August Hyperthyroidism diagnosis, pill 2x day fixed it
2012 October Diabetes diagnosis again, Lantus 1 unit 2x day
2012 Thanksgiving weekend Lantus increased 2 units 2x day
Three days after Lantus increase, BG crashed to 30, rushed to vet, given dextrose, BG back up to 300s. Gave 1 unit the next day, BG back to 30 again. Back to the dextrose. ER vet also gave enema. He thought Tas might have been sick b/c of constipation found on X-Ray. Brought him home Sunday night after long weekend in emergency clinic and was told to take him to my regular vet first thing in the morning. His BG at 9am Monday morning was 326. The vet kept him for the day and gave him 1/2 unit. BG dropped to 136 at lowest. Was told to give him 1/2 unit 2x/day but only if he ate. But he has refused to eat much since coming home Monday night. Considered euthanizing Wednesday night but he ate 1/2 can Wednesday night and seemed to be improving but then stopped eating again. He has lost a LOT of weight. Is down to 5lb from 7lb two weeks ago. He has had diarrhea all week and no longer acts like himself. he doesn't greet me when I come home, respond to catnip, or fight me when I bathe him. A couple times, he has defecated on himself rather than go to the litter box, thus the baths. The vet is hoping this is a bump he can get over as he has overcome a lot of health problems in the past but I feel he is miserable. All his blood panels come back negative for everything except for the diabetes. No liver or kidney problems. Going to take him to the vet tomorrow and see if it is time to let go. But really hoping someone might have any ideas on what's wrong. I'm very frustrated that nothing on his blood tests or x-rays is showing anything wrong yet he keeps having diarrhea, refuses to eat and is very lethargic. Any help is greatly appreciated.