19 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 74; stalled 1 hr, shot @ 90; +2=115; +3 95: +6=135; PMPS 666 Bounce to black

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, now that you are stalling, can you monitor today? Do you have high carb food and plenty of test strips?
 
Ok, now that you are stalling, can you monitor today? Do you have high carb food and plenty of test strips?
I've got at least 60 test strips (even Girlie can't need that many tests!), have high carb food, and can stick to her like glue today. I'm not going anywhere. I might get out of my pj's at some point, but that's it. :-)
 
Theoretically it's safe to shoot over 68 on the AT. You know she is on her way up and will get a bump from food. The question is, what would you feel comfortable shooting? When they start low, the cycles are flatter. But you haven't even shot blue yet. Your call.
 
Basically flat with meter variance. At some point they start dropping cause they haven't had food, so there is usually a limit how long you can stall. Plus it delays your PMPS by that much. Which may or may not be an issue.
 
Theoretically it's safe to shoot over 68 on the AT. You know she is on her way up and will get a bump from food. The question is, what would you feel comfortable shooting? When they start low, the cycles are flatter. But you haven't even shot blue yet. Your call.
Thanks for that advice, Wendy. My concern comes with her typical dives at +2: she went down to 95 yesterday at +3 even with MC food. I assume I'll shoot the 0.75 when I shoot, right? I'm just not sure which food to feed: HC? MC? LC? A mix?
 
Basically flat with meter variance. At some point they start dropping cause they haven't had food, so there is usually a limit how long you can stall. Plus it delays your PMPS by that much. Which may or may not be an issue.
Not an issue for me as it's the weekend and I have time to work back before it's a schedule issue for me with other commitments.

I usually shoot at 7 am and it's now quarter to 8. What do you think? Feed (MC or HC?), shoot the full 0.75 (?) and then test every X minutes?
 
So, do you want to go for it, or not? If you do, get a +1 and a +2. I will be on and off today but will try to keep an eye on you if you do shoot.
 
So, do you want to go for it, or not? If you do, get a +1 and a +2. I will be on and off today but will try to keep an eye on you if you do shoot.
I'd rather shoot, I think, as not shooting will make her bounce again - won't it? I hate to undo the good work of the last three days, but I don't want to put her in danger. I have glucose syrup and HC food. Just not sure which food to give her before I shoot. What do you think?
 
If you want to play it safe and give a little higher carb LC or MC, that would be OK, as long as she eats it. Typically you would feed as normal.
 
She may still bounce from the green, Neko's first couple green preshots were anti climatic, but I was glad I had shot or it would have been worse. It's not so much bouncing as the insulin wearing off if you don't shoot.

I am headed out but will have my iPad and check in. See you at +1. Maybe some one will stop by and give you your BOS award before I am back. :D

Don't forget to keep the subject line updated so people know if you need help.
 
She may still bounce from the green, Neko's first couple green preshots were anti climatic, but I was glad I had shot or it would have been worse. It's not so much bouncing as the insulin wearing off if you don't shoot.

I am headed out but will have my iPad and check in. See you at +1. Maybe some one will stop by and give you your BOS award before I am back. :D

Don't forget to keep the subject line updated so people know if you need help.
She's now 90 and I just gave her some LC food (Wellness 8). I'll shoot, then check and post. At least I can sleep in a little later on Sunday! What's a BOS award? I'll take whatever I can get at this point.... :-)

Thanks so much, Wendy. :bighug:
 
She's now 90 and I just gave her some LC food (Wellness 8). I'll shoot, then check and post. At least I can sleep in a little later on Sunday! What's a BOS award? I'll take whatever I can get at this point.... :)

Thanks so much, Wendy. :bighug:
Balls of steel award. For shooting your first green number. I don't have one, but I'm sure someone who does will be along soon. Stay safe Girlie.
 
Hi Darrah, and here on behalf of the whole L and L board is the coveted BOS Good job, stay vigilant and yell if you need help.

upload_2017-8-18_18-32-1.png
 
PS, I remember how elated I was when I got my first pair of BOS! It feels like you are making some progress in this Sugar Dance.
 
Balls of steel award. For shooting your first green number. I don't have one, but I'm sure someone who does will be along soon. Stay safe Girlie.
Thank you so much! I just looked at your SS: you're using AlphaTRAK as well. I've been looking through your past posts. Does your kitty have CKD? Girlie is verging on that; she's over 18 yo and the vet said there's no way she doesn't have some renal failure. Her last creatinine was 190, but she was constipated and pretty sick still after her initial diagnosis and all the problems we had at the beginning. My big drama here in Australia is finding food that's lc, low phosphorous, and that she'll actually eat. We don't have the canned variety that's available overseas, unfortunately, and Girlie is a HUGELY picky eater, even with Mirtazapine to stimulate her appetite.

How's your kitty doing?
 
Hi Darrah, and here on behalf of the whole L and L board is the coveted BOS Good job, stay vigilant and yell if you need help.

View attachment 30412
LOVE IT!!! I think I've reached the exhaustion "oh hell, let's give it a go and see what happens" stage. I have been so scared since she was diagnosed (and since her first hypo), but now I just want her to make some progress. The greens still scare me silly, but I want this TR to work, and I've got a limited time while I can still work from home to monitor her closely. Your chance is now, Girlie! Grab it while you can...and stop diving and please stop being so picky about food and also please don't go into CRF just yet... (my little morning mantra). :-)
 
PS, I remember how elated I was when I got my first pair of BOS! It feels like you are making some progress in this Sugar Dance.
Well it took me long enough to understand how TR works, I have to say. I want to be courageous but keep her safe. I just want her little body to heal a bit and stabilise. And if she could go into remission, that would be an absolute bonus. Don't know whether that would happen at her advanced age (18 years), but fingers crossed...
 
Thank you so much! I just looked at your SS: you're using AlphaTRAK as well. I've been looking through your past posts. Does your kitty have CKD? Girlie is verging on that; she's over 18 yo and the vet said there's no way she doesn't have some renal failure. Her last creatinine was 190, but she was constipated and pretty sick still after her initial diagnosis and all the problems we had at the beginning. My big drama here in Australia is finding food that's lc, low phosphorous, and that she'll actually eat. We don't have the canned variety that's available overseas, unfortunately, and Girlie is a HUGELY picky eater, even with Mirtazapine to stimulate her appetite.

How's your kitty doing?
Using alphatrak for now. Thinking about switching to a human meter. Strips are just so expensive and now I have to switch to more expensive food. He has not been diagnosed with CKD, but his phosphorus levels were very high. So I wanted to find food with lower phosphorus. Gizmo has the 5ps and seems to be getting better numbers. So doing pretty well!
 
Using alphatrak for now. Thinking about switching to a human meter. Strips are just so expensive and now I have to switch to more expensive food. He has not been diagnosed with CKD, but his phosphorus levels were very high. So I wanted to find food with lower phosphorus. Gizmo has the 5ps and seems to be getting better numbers. So doing pretty well!
I'm so happy to hear that Gizmo's doing well. I'm with you re: the AlphaTRAK. Here in Australia it's $85 for a vial of 50 strips (ca $68 USD), and Girlie goes through a lot. The strips plus the food plus some monumental vet bills at the beginning are proving interesting. Still, she's worth it and that's what VISA is for.
I see Gizmo is 12 yo. I hope Gizmo decides to put off CKD! Girlie is in a similar situation, which is why I wanted to find lc and low phosphorous food, but at the moment, I'm having to sacrifice the low phosphorous because she's so picky and getting her to eat enough is the big thing right now. Oh, these kitties make us do an interesting dance! :-)
 
Nice +1. :)

Worst case if kitty won't eat low phosphorus is adding binders. A cat has to eat above all.
 
Nice +1. :)

Worst case if kitty won't eat low phosphorus is adding binders. A cat has to eat above all.
Nice +2=115. Go Girlie! I'm cherishing my BOS right now...
I'm going to ask the vet to do the works for tests when we see her in a few days so we can try to get an answer re: where she is with CRF/CKD. I'll ask for the SDMA, the urine gravity, the BUN, the creatinine. In June when she was diagnosed with diabetes, her urea was 15.7 (high) and her creatinine was 160 (normal in Oz is up to 190, but this puts Girlie at Stage 2 from Tanya's website). I guess I'll just ask for a full blood chemistry profile. I wonder if there's anything else I should ask for?
 
Congratulations shooting your first green :D:D:D
Thank you, Bron! I'm doing my happy snoopy dance...It was scary, but you've given me a lot of courage since I started this journey, especially that night when you stuck by me and taught me how to use honey (not a Girlie fave) and glucose syrup.

Not sure if you saw my PM: with the pumpkin, do I use butternut or kent, or doesn't it matter? She seems to quite like it, actually. :)

Hope you and yours are all well...
 
Nice +1. :)

Worst case if kitty won't eat low phosphorus is adding binders. A cat has to eat above all.
95 at +3: doing her typical low there again. Discovered her appetite about 20 minutes ago and went diving for food. Also had a poo, so that probably helps.
 
Glad she ate a bit. I was going to suggest a couple taps of LC. Just make sure she doesn't fill herself up now, in case you need her to eat later.

Good tip, Wendy. Looks like she brought herself up. 124 @ +4. I'll keep testing her, and I have glucose syrup in my arsenal if she won't eat a bit. I'm hoping that she stays like this for the rest of the day. It'll be a beautiful day if she does! She's certainly doing better on the dose increase - that's clear. If she goes low again tonight, I'll just apply the same tips as this morning and test through the night. I really want to stick to consistent doses unless I absolutely can't.
Thanks for sticking by me, Wendy! :-)
 
You are welcome. A delayed shot can act like a bit of a decrease, so there is a possibility she'll go up from here. But this is great data for the next time Girlie gives you a green preshot.
 
Girlie what a good job today, kept mama busy but I am sure it's well worth it. Heal thy pancreas little Girlie :) Great job shooting your first green. Glad to see better numbers for Girlie :bighug:
Thank you so, so much! Girlie had a beautiful day, but now at PMPS she's back in black at 666: poor little pancreas! I guess it's a bounce from the delayed shot/low pre-shot and low +3 number. We'll get there yet, Girlie! Sigh... :)
 
Last edited:
I should have guessed didn't think about the time difference.... yes she is set on black, that is a true bounce.... will have to use it as example of what a bounce is for newbies ;) lol.... hope she breaks it soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top