Girlie's mom
Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ie-amps-92-bupe-question.194160/#post-2173061
Second completely green day in a row. Go Girlie!
Second completely green day in a row. Go Girlie!
They prescribed her.1 mL at first and it was too much. She wasn’t really sleepy or anything, but she had huge saucer eyes so I knew it was too much. I cut it back to .075 twice a day, she’s 10 pounds and change. When she had kidney infection we went back to .1 and 3 times a day and it wasn’t too much anymore. Now she’s back down to .05 or .075 twice a day, since I added the canna, depending on the day and if it’s am or pm (it seems to take less at night for her). She is not dopey on either, at all, once I figured out what was sufficient for her. I’m also starting Adequan.
I am certain it makes it less painful for her to get around than without it, but it doesn’t address the problem and it’s not like she’s doing a lot of things she didn’t do before the bupe, she’s just doing what she did less painfully. She started FD with a bit of hind leg instability which I mistook for arthritis. I think it was the start of diabetic neuropathy which has since righted itself.

Hi Darrah,
The dose you mention 0.02mg/kg/day looks like it is just a bit less than half the recommended dose. Is that what you have been giving Girlie when you say she is bouncy afterward? You could try that dose and see how effective it is.
It might take longer to work at the lower dose. I would ask your vet what he thinks.
I gradually reduced Sheba to about that dose from being on the recommended dose. There are markings on the syringe they provide to dispense the metacam and I went down those markings rather than by an amount per kg.
My new kitty Harry is full of affection and cuddles and fills our house with love and laughter.

Thanks for this info, Stacy. I've been giving Girlie Zobaline, but no noticeable difference so far. Yesterday I gave her some Meloxicam in the morning, though, and by afternoon she was running around the house like a mad thing - but hind legs slipping everywhere on the hardwood floors; it's like she just doesn't have the muscle to keep them working properly. Anyway!
I hope you're well... it seems like you're going through a lot keeping Asia on track. Not easy!![]()


This has been the case with Gizmo. He went through two pancreatitis episodes and right after was DX with FD. He was really, really sick. I think it was a combination of weakness from being sick and neuropathy but the boy could barely walk. The B12 helped as did just time - with Gizmo it was two steps forward one back for a long while but he is stronger now. I give the B12 AM/PM and that, along with getting healthy(er) recently, his movement is the best it has been in about two years. He jumps on the back of the couch, onto the bed and dresser with confidence. I contemplated, for quite while, moving the LB downstairs but I had also read that movement is good for them so I left it upstairs unless he was really, really sick/weak. He raced me UP the stairs the other night. He hasn't done that in over a year. Usually going up is slow but coming down he can run down but apparently he was feeling good enough to run UP them. His jumping is much more confident recently as is his balance and walking. Give it some time. The B12 won't hurt regardless.I’m sure it can build back up if given the chance and if they feel well enough to get around.