19/3 +6 at 11.3 DJOKO

It looks like you were planning to try shooting 1.0 units to see if you can shoot that consistently. I'd stick with the 1.0 units and see how he does. This morning's number is most likely a bounce from yesterday. Remember you don't want to adjust the dose based on the PS numbers, but on the nadir.
 
It looks like you were planning to try shooting 1.0 units to see if you can shoot that consistently. I'd stick with the 1.0 units and see how he does. This morning's number is most likely a bounce from yesterday. Remember you don't want to adjust the dose based on the PS numbers, but on the nadir.
I don't know if you saw the numbers from last night but there was a high nador or no nadir - difficult to say. Was it a bounce? I gave gim a skinny 1.25U because I shooted and saw your message :S. I will monitor him closely around nadir.
 
That's fine. He'll probably be okay today. However, you do need to try and find a dose you can shoot consistently. Just use today as a day to gather data.
 
That's fine. He'll probably be okay today. However, you do need to try and find a dose you can shoot consistently. Just use today as a day to gather data.
+18 at +6 and he keeps drinking water. 1U does not seem enough. It seems that he drops at the end of the cycle. If I always decrease the dose based on PS, he will spend 75% of his days in hyper. We will be lucky if he hits the 10s. What do you think?
 
Don't change the dose based on the PS - changed based on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking him. Pick either 1 or 1.25 units, then stick with it. You need to give the same dose for a while, so the depot can stabilize and you can see what the dose can really do.

Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve, you just have to be patient and wait it out. His higher numbers today are the from the bounce.
 
Don't change the dose based on the PS - changed based on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking him. Pick either 1 or 1.25 units, then stick with it. You need to give the same dose for a while, so the depot can stabilize and you can see what the dose can really do.

Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve, you just have to be patient and wait it out. His higher numbers today are the from the bounce.
I understand that but it seems that in the case of Djoko, his nadir coincides or is very close to PS (most of the times).
You are sure that his number of today are not because he has received less insuline?
 
I also agree that he needs stability (me as well) in terms of shot time and dosage. Do you think 1.25U is safe assuming that his nadir is around +10,+11? I understand this is a difficult question.
 
It doesn’t matter when his nadir is, but rather what value it is. I see times when his nadir was later and other times when it was earlier. See pm cycle of the 12th. When following SLGS for dosing, you reduce if you see a number below 90, regardless of time of day.

With our dosing methods, we can’t tell if 1.25 units is too much or too little, or just the right amount of insulin, unless you keep the same dose long enough to stabilize the depot. With the changing in dose and skips, it is hard to guess what size the depot thinks it is, so difficult to guess what will happen on 1.25 units.
 
It doesn’t matter when his nadir is, but rather what value it is. I see times when his nadir was later and other times when it was earlier. See pm cycle of the 12th. When following SLGS for dosing, you reduce if you see a number below 90, regardless of time of day.

With our dosing methods, we can’t tell if 1.25 units is too much or too little, or just the right amount of insulin, unless you keep the same dose long enough to stabilize the depot. With the changing in dose and skips, it is hard to guess what size the depot thinks it is, so difficult to guess what will happen on 1.25 units.
Thank you for your response. Intent was of course to be consistent but due to lower values, we were not able to keep administering him 1.25. I read that nadir should be around 5.5 (4-7 if cat is well-regulated which isn't Djoko's case). Also, I would not take cycle PM on March 12 as a model because I think I gave him a muscle shot on that day (see comments) and I fed him a lot throughout the curve to ensure he would not go too low. Anyhow, I still don't know what to give hm tonight.
 
Last edited:
There is a typical nadir time, but many cats don't like following the rules. It has nothing to do with how regulated they are. When my girl was on Lantus, her nadir was anywhere from +3.5 to +13, but generally from +7 to +9, except when it wasn't.:cat:

The first time you skipped the 1.25 unit dose, the 1.5 unit depot was still influencing the cycle and bringing down the numbers. If you nervous about the 1.25 unit dose, give him 1.0 units, and stay on that dose regardless of the numbers you see (he is still bouncing), so the depot can stabilize.
 
There is a typical nadir time, but many cats don't like following the rules. It has nothing to do with how regulated they are. When my girl was on Lantus, her nadir was anywhere from +3.5 to +13, but generally from +7 to +9, except when it wasn't.:cat:

The first time you skipped the 1.25 unit dose, the 1.5 unit depot was still influencing the cycle and bringing down the numbers. If you nervous about the 1.25 unit dose, give him 1.0 units, and stay on that dose regardless of the numbers you see (he is still bouncing), so the depot can stabilize.
I think 1.25U can do it. It is tue that the 1.25U was combined to the 1.5U. It would be great to give him 1.25U for 6 cycles to see if, currently, this is the suitable dose.
I will feed him during the night to make sure he does not go too low. He is at 10.3 at +11. I gave him some snacks after +6 which I always do because this is when he finds his appetite back (in lower numbers).
 
Looks like he might be coming down from his bounce tonight. I would start with at least a +2 test. Bounce breaking cycles can be a little more active. Late nadirs can also indicate a bounce is breaking.
 
Djoko has earned a reduction in dose to 1 unit with the 70 at +4 this evening as he is following SLGS..
Your next insulin dose will be 1 unit and stay with that dose for at least 6 cycles unless Djoko drops below 90 again.
Did you tested again after the 70 at +4?
If you get a lower number like that always test again to see that the BG is not dropping further.
 
Last edited:
Djoko has earned a reduction in dose to 1 unit with the 70 at +4 this evening as he is following SLGS..
Your next insulin dose will be 1 unit and stay with that dose for at least 6 cycles unless Djoko drops below 90 again.
Phase you tested again after the 70 at +4?
If you get a lower number like that always test again to see that the BG is not dropping further.
I gave him temptations so that he does not drop too low. He is now at 5.6 but with lots of efforts. Wendy&Neko was right, he was bouncing...again :S
I am preoccupied because his nadir is normally after +6. This 3.9 came as a complete shock. I will test him at +6 to see how he is doing.
Any advice?
 
Nadirs don't always stay in the same place. They can move around. And our kitties like to keep us on our toes!;)
Just keep doing what you are doing..test before every shot and test during the cycle.
If the BG drops lower, always test again to check the BG is not dropping lower.
Djoko is acting like a normal diabetic cat.:cat:
 
Nadirs don't always stay in the same place. They can move around. And our kitties like to keep us on our toes!;)
Just keep doing what you are doing..test before every shot and test during the cycle.
If the BG drops lower, always test again to check the BG is not dropping lower.
Djoko is acting like a normal diabetic cat.:cat:
And at which would I need to rub maple syrup on his gums? under which value? What should I do first, give him water with sugar (if so, which quantity&) or syrup?
It is the second night like this within a week. He does keep me on my toes but I may collapse at this pace.

Is it positive at least?No sleep but less insulin?
 
You are fine with just regular food, unless he goes under 68 on the AT. If he goes that low, you give him some high carb wet food, or you can add a drop of maple syrup, corn syrup or honey to his food. Some will eat that without you having to rub it on their gums.
 
You are fine with just regular food, unless he goes under 68 on the AT. If he goes that low, you give him some high carb wet food, or you can add a drop of maple syrup, corn syrup or honey to his food. Some will eat that without you having to rub it on their gums.
For some reasons, he is not interested in any food except temptations. I have tried various cans and no interest. This is how He normally snacks at +2 and +4 and had no appetite. Merci.
 
He's gone really high. You can probably stop testing and go to bed for the night. Next time, don't feed as many temptations. One or two is usually enough to bring them up.
 
He's gone really high. You can probably stop testing and go to bed for the night. Next time, don't feed as many temptations. One or two is usually enough to bring them up.
He's gone really high. You can probably stop testing and go to bed for the night. Next time, don't feed as many temptations. One or two is usually enough to bring them up.
Noted! As per tomorrow's shot, do I give him 1U ordo I reduce the dose to 0.75U because he went low this night?
 
He earned a reduction of 0.25 units down from his current dose, which was 1.25 units. So down to 1.0 units tomorrow morning. Sleep well.
 
Wow! Djoko is really keeping you on your toes, isn't he?

Glad you're reducing down to 1.0U. I do think he's telling you that maybe he's starting to need a bit less insulin these days. The black numbers this morning are hard to see, but just take a look at the spreadsheet overall for the last month-- Djoko is looking so much better!
 
Wow! Djoko is really keeping you on your toes, isn't he?

Glad you're reducing down to 1.0U. I do think he's telling you that maybe he's starting to need a bit less insulin these days. The black numbers this morning are hard to see, but just take a look at the spreadsheet overall for the last month-- Djoko is looking so much better!
Hello, it was hard to see especially when I over fed him with temptations to counteract the effect of insulin. I was not aware of how it could increase his BG level. Ironically, my mother who used to take care of him for years, used to give him 7 pieces a day! I am glad I am better informed and his diet is healthy now. I was concerned he would go close to 40 which is dangerous. I am glad that he managed to drop to 19.9 within a day on 1U. It is true that his values are better. This is encouraging after only one month of treatment on Glargine. It is painful to stay up late ane be worried all the time but at least, he is improving! :)
 
Hello, it was hard to see especially when I over fed him with temptations to counteract the effect of insulin. I was not aware of how it could increase his BG level. Ironically, my mother who used to take care of him for years, used to give him 7 pieces a day! I am glad I am better informed and his diet is healthy now. I was concerned he would go close to 40 which is dangerous. I am glad that he managed to drop to 19.9 within a day on 1U. It is true that his values are better. This is encouraging after only one month of treatment on Glargine. It is painful to stay up late ane be worried all the time but at least, he is improving! :)
It may sound silly but could you please have a look at the picture and tell me if this is 1U (or less or more). Thank you.
 
djoko seringe.jpg
 

Attachments

  • djoko seringe.jpg
    djoko seringe.jpg
    10.5 KB · Views: 94
do you see better now? I looked the information you referred to but my serynges are different. It is helpful nonetheless.
 
Back
Top