? 19/10 BG# staying high

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
I really need some help with Ruddy's BG#. I feel so defeated, he is not coming down and I am worried. He is eating only low carb beyond pate or FF cod sole and shrimp. He had a recent blood test and he has high cholesterol and his BG was 22 (396). I am finding it hard to get him to come up to eat other than breakfast and dinner. What can I do? Do I keep increasing his lantus until his bg# stabilize? I have TR on profile but I have been keeping him on longer time frame to see if it was helping?
 
Here's the link to your last post here, for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/25-9-amps-270-not-falling.235876/

A question, then a couple of comments. Could you please put TR in your signature? It's the first thing we see so best to have it there.

The goal of TR is to get them to regulation as quickly and safely as possible. With that goal in mind, there are a couple of things to consider. First is to increase as per the TR guidelines, given that you know how low the dose is taking the cat. If you linger at a dose, the cat can develop glucose toxicity, meaning their body gets used to higher numbers and it's harder to get them down. The lowest you've seen is high blues. Second, is know how low the dose is taking the cat. TR has a requirement to get the two preshots tests, plus at least one every other cycle. It's been two weeks since you last got a test after PMPS. Many cats will go lower at night. To know how low the dose is taking the cat, we need an idea of what is happening at night. Even a +2 or +3 will provide valuable information. My girl once went three months in a row diving at night and earning reductions, then bouncing during the day. It was tiring for me, but if I hadn't done the night time test, I would have though she needed an increased, where in fact it was decreases she needed.
 
Thankyou. I put TR in my signature. I think he might be getting use to the dose. I will revisit the TR method again and get those pm reads. It has been hard as he lives downstairs in a granny flat type situation with my Son, so he doesn’t always come up to eat at his +3hr time. I will try and get him. I did get my a husband to wake me at 3.30am to get a read. Do you think I need to do a curve. Or just continue as I am. sorry about the last post, I got a bit lost in the answers and who they were referring to.
 
Can your son learn to test? A curve is not a requirement under TR, but can help you pinpoint the onset and typical nadir times if you don't know them already.

I see that 3.3 (59) at PMPS. Looks like he might be hiding some lower numbers at night. Definitely not a time to increase and you could be seeing mostly bouncing during the day.
 
My Son has been testing since 1st Sept, He tests amps and pmps and I do the mid cycle and before bed. He will be moving out in about 6wks so then they will be on their own. After high numbers we got a quite low pmps last night. Rechecked and also checked my in remission cat just to make sure, waited 20min before feeding, retested 3.1 = 56. No shot last night and back to 16.1 = 290, which I expected. I won't increase dose as yet, will give it a few days to settle and fingers crossed the 2u is starting to work
 
Back
Top