19/06 Bailie amps 59

Nancyco*

Very Active Member
@Bandit's Mom (And anyone with a similar situation )Hi Bhooma Bailie is 59 amps and I had bailie to the vet yesterday because he was sleeping all the time and with the high numbers he was having I suspected he was in pain because he does have arthritis. The doctor weighed him and he gained a half pound. And she thinks it’s because he’s going too low in his blood sugar and she tells me that I shouldn’t shoot him The full dose when he goes down so low because I keep having to overfeed him and it’s causing his arthritis to get worse cause he’s heavier. What am I gonna do?He can’t keep,over feeding him because his body can’t handle the weight he becomes too painful . Now what do I do . She told me it’s more important for him to lose weight than it is for him to be in single digit BG.s.
 
Last edited:
OK. So he was 3.3 an hour before his shot was due and then 3.8 at AMPS after food?
It is good you you gave the full shot.

My personal experience has been that very few vets know very much about feline diabetes. There is more actual experience of treating feline diabetes here on the forum. If you do not bring his numbers under control, the neuropathy will not resolve. It's also possible that the difficulty he has walking is not just neuropathy but also arthritis.

The solution might just be to limit the amount you feed him in a day and spread it out across multiple snacks/meals through the day/night. You don't need to feed a lot of food as snacks to bring his numbers up. So basically, just feed smaller portions of food - both with the shot and after tests.

You could also try going down to 3.75U from tonight and see how he does on it. We can take a call after 4-5 days on 3.75U.
 
OK. So he was 3.3 an hour before his shot was due and then 3.8 at AMPS after food?
It is good you you gave the full shot.

My personal experience has been that very few vets know very much about feline diabetes. There is more actual experience of treating feline diabetes here on the forum. If you do not bring his numbers under control, the neuropathy will not resolve. It's also possible that the difficulty he has walking is not just neuropathy but also arthritis.

The solution might just be to limit the amount you feed him in a day and spread it out across multiple snacks/meals through the day/night. You don't need to feed a lot of food as snacks to bring his numbers up. So basically, just feed smaller portions of food - both with the shot and after tests.

You could also try going down to 3.75U from tonight and see how he does on it. We can take a call after 4-5 days on 3.75U.
The problem is his daily quota on that young again food is only 1/3 cup . It’s so little it’s near impossible for him to eat that small amount through out the whole day and night it’s just not enough food . I want to switch him back to Dr.Esleys because at least he would get a bigger volume of good but it’s not available in Canada again yet . It’s crazy . On a side note the vet did notice an improvement in his neuropathy. So will
You be around I tested again 30 mins ago and he is 66 I’m gonna test again in 15 mins . Oh and one more thing . Bailie lost a couple of pounds while he was on Dr.Esleys so I know I could get him back down if I could get that food ! I have a bag here that some woman sent me on the Facebook group, but it’s out of date since March 9/24 I’m wondering if that’s still OK to feed?
 
Is it possible that Bailie lost weight because of diabetes and the Dr. Elsey's? One of the symptoms of unregulated diabetes is weight loss.

You could try introducing small amounts of the Dr. Elsey's and see if he tolerates it. If the bag is unopened, it might just be okay.
 
Well he had been diabetic for a while before he lost weight . He lost weight because he was on a diet set amount of food and that went out the window when I started feed more because of the low BG numbers . I’m certain it was related to the diabetes. So +2 he dropped to 57
 
Back
Top