180 4 hours after 2nd 1.50

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
+9 from his first shot of 1.50 and +4 from the second shot and he's ate some (not a ton and would happily eat more) and he's 180 . Its 1:30 am for me and while I"m concerned a tad now about him running in the opp direction I'm going to check him in 2 hours. He JUST ate a can of FF (as soon as he goes blue he's even more starving) that he'd more or less been asking for for a while.
 
Hey, Ellen -

Shooting so much so close together could really be dangerous for Robbie. Obviously, you can't take out the insulin you've already given, but you need to watch him closely because he could go really low. I believe I read on your earlier thread that Carl and a couple others were advising you about going up in your dose. That doesn't mean overlapping the insulin by shooting so close together.

I don't understand much about a schedule other than shooting every 12 hours; I know there are some who shoot every 8 hours, but then they adjust their doses accordingly. If you're thinking of switching to a 6-hour schedule, then, please let one of them talk you through how to do it.

Libby
 
I got up to give Kitty some meds and saw this post.

It is VERY DANGEROUS to shoot Prozinc at intervals less than 8 hours apart. There are very few that post in the forum that shoot at 8 hour intervals, and that is only an option after gathering a lot of data. I have shot at 8 hour intervals for months now and am still very cautious with it.

Prozinc is a 12 hour insulin and you should NEVER dose twice during a cycle. I looked at your spreadsheet and it appears you shot a second dose of Prozinc at +5 of your last dose. Even when people do shoot at 8 hours, or less than 12 hour schedules, they test to be sure the number they are shooting into is rising. I doubt you shot into a rising number tonight. In reality, you have shot 3 units into Robbie, because at some point during this cycle you most likely will have the potency of all 3 units active. You need to test him tonight and be sure he is safe. The potential is there for him to go into low numbers quickly.

Tomorrow---Your next dose should not be given again until 12 hours after your last dose. So, in the morning--disregard your "normal" shooting times...you need to shoot at 12 hours after the last dose you gave tonight.

I hope this makes sense, as there probably will not be many people on tonight to respond.
 
Thanks Libby - I was not trying to overlap too much - I am up checking him hourly now - and he's had about a can and a 1/4 of food in the last hour (he had a very big poop tonight and is typically very hungry after that plus he's hungry when he's in the blue) I did wait to see if his 1.5 was kicking in much and he went from 475 to 332 with some food in there - if I'd been home when he was at 475 I would have shot 2.00 and tested but I was at work and didn't want to have my husband alone with him. At 475 he was really not himself and I was very worried which is why I made the call to give him his dose approx. 2 hours early. The second 1.50 was probably the big mistake - I truly feel like I'm just screwing up left and right here. Now I'll see how he goes for a few hours
 
Thank you KSE so I really screwed up - I'm testing hourly and have all stuff needed on stand by - guess I'll be going it solo pretty much but thank you for your input - another lesson learned and I'm am kicking myself. He's been OK on 3.00 before so we'll see and thank you.
 
Ellen -

Try not to feed him too much, you want him to have room to eat should his numbers drop and you need to feed him something with a few more carbs in it. Just keep a check on him. You can see from Hershey's SS (spread sheet) that he drops quickly sometimes and with NO notice.

Please post numbers each time you test, so we know everything is okay with y'all. I'll check in on you after I get Hershey dosed, before I go to bed.

Take care -

Libby
 
He has been on some high doses before, so he probably can handle it....but, the timing of the first dose and the second dose is the key. My concern is that his nadir on his first dose will be happening when the second dose has onset. So, there could be a period of time that you have a lot of potency. Just keeping checking him.
 
thank you - he'll eat more if I give it to him and I have the gravy FF he loves. He's sleeping very soundly now right by my feet. He was as follows
475 @ AMPS +10 - shot 1.50
4 hours AFTER that shot he was 332 (he ate 1 can FF at the time of the 1.50 shot) and I shot another 1.50
2 hours after the second shot he was 254 and he had 1/4 can FF
4 hours after the second shot he was 180 and 5 hours after he is 173 - during the time of 180 and 173 he's eaten over a full can of his regular FF and a tablespoon of the gravy FF right out of the spoon. testing again soon
 
Feeding also causes food spikes in cats, artificially inflating their BG. Under normal situations (not hypo times), it's best not to feed within about 2 - 3 hours before a BG that you will use to shoot by. So, on a 12/12 schedule, I make sure Hershey's food is put up by +9 - that's 3 hours before I would test him to give him a shot.

Thanks for posting your numbers so we won't worry why we haven't heard :smile:

Libby
 
Changing Robbies feeding schedule is proving to be one of the hardest parts of this - I've covered this in other posts - but he was eating several smaller meals a day when he was regulated and OTJ and it was working really well - now he doesn't understand why he can't just have a 1/4 of a can when he used to - so I'm trying to make sure I shoot RIGHT before I give him any insulin but he's basically eating at
4-5am 1/2 can (I test and record # to use his "fasting" number to determine shot)
7-8am full can (test before feeding and compare to the earlier number when determining amt. to shoot)
noon 1/2 can
5-6pm full can (test before feeding and use number to help determine shot an hour after eating and also test right before shot)
8-9pm 1/2 can
11pm 1/2 can

So 4 - 5 cans a day is what he's been used to.

Just did a 1/2 hour check and he's 184 so basically he's been 180, 173, at an hour interval and at 1/2 hour after 173 he's 184 - all very close so as to be about the same but not in a fast downward direction at this point.
 
His Nadir is usually about +7 and onset about +3-4 so that would be about where he was at the 180/173 I think.
 
@ +6 from the second shot he is at 193 - thinking I can go to bed - I can be late for work tomorrow but not that late - if I CAN sleep
 
I've had some family stuff going on and havn't been around for a few days.

In yesterday's thread some thought you could go up in dose and I would agree, but you had to try the lower dose just to make sure that you hadn't started at too high of a dose. But I would definately stay on a 12/12 schedule and gather the data, if you at some point need to try TID others can help you with that.

Hang in there, I remember how freaked out I was at seeing those 400's but try not to react to them.
 
I would increase to 2.0, but not until at least 12 hours after that last shot.
Carl
 
Thanks gang - seems everyone has family issues and that's life - appreciate the input here when it's so hard to juggle so many things. Currently Robbie has not had a shot for 11 hours - I have to shoot a tad shorter than 12 hours because I have to go to work - I've pushed it pretty far with that situation. So he is 331 - up from 316 (if that's really an up) without food (last food was 5.5 hours ago but he had lots of food than). He just finished a full can of FF with his metimucil in it and I'm going to shoot 2. My husband will be home most of the day and can check him periodically - so we'll see how it goes.
 
So at +4 he is at 289 after the shot of 2.00. He had a big breakfast (full can) that he chowed down on and licked clean. He's pestering his dad for a "snack" but since we aren't typically home during the day and he wouldn't get anything I am telling him to ignore food requests and replace them with a big love session and some cat toy action. So far so good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top